We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lived up to expectations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza

Save Saved
You added Riad Kniza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Kniza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1 FREE Night
Ranked #11 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Hampshire,England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lived up to expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2006

My wife and I spent 4 nights here in October. Staff are very helpful and friendly, rooms are great,location is in Medina but a good 20 minute walk to main square, take a taxi which is cheap.
Breakfast is served on rooftop terrace with good views across old city. Tried dinner in hotel once and this was fairly good but restaurants to try are Dar Moha, Pavilion, Maison Arabe all within a 5 minute walk.
Overall an excelllent and convenient base to explore the cultural chaos that is Marrakech. We shall, I hope, return.

  • Liked — Size of room
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    926
    49
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
140
578
14
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2006

We were supposed to have 3 nights at the Kniza but after a wrong passport (apparantly I can't impersonate my 4 year old son and travel on his passport...... as I found at the check in desk at Gatwick...Doh!!!!) a 500 mile round trip back to yorkshire to get the correct passport, a pile up on the M1 that left us sitting there for an extra 4 hours, engine trouble in Fez at the stop off leading to another 5 hours delay...... Quite possibly the worst journey of our life.

From the friendly pick up to the first mind boggling 200-300 yard walk to the Riad we soon stopped feeling sorry for ourselves (Marrakech brings a whole new meaning to the concept of fresh chicken..) A superb suite with our own downstairs sitting room, after a large gin and tonic and a wonderful meal we gradually realxed.

As far as the service and overall experience I can only echo the comments of other correspondents. The recommendation of the Jad Mahal restaurant was perfect for an atmospheric and entertaining (if expensive) night out but go later on to get the full atmosphere. The guide provided was superb and the whole Souk experience was very rewarding if a little mentally and physically draining. We had no intention of buying a rug but hey, a few mint teas later and the deal was done....

We'd have loved to do the trip to the atlas mountians but due our travel nightmares we didn't have time. We will definately be back to explore some more

When I came to settle up I fully expected to be charged for all 3 nights as I was only able to give 6 hours notice of our delays. However, we were only charged for 2 nights when they were well within their rights to charge for the missed night. I felt this spoke volumes as to the integrity of the staff/management.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2006

We have stayed at many beautiful hotels around the world and have to say that Riad Kniza tops our list. The hotel decor and ambiance are fantastic but what makes the Riad Kniza special is Mohammad, Kamal and their staff. Their service is impeccable. We would definitely recommend staying and eating here! We thank everyone at Riad Kniza for a wonderful stay!

  • Liked — Great Service and beautiful surroundings
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Kamal will take care of everything for you - just ask!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selinsgrove, PA
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2006

When you step across the threshold of the Riad Kniza you enter a world of magical ambience. We've stayed at many fine hotels, are partial to small establishments and are hard pressed to think of a hotel we've enjoyed more. The main reason is the management and the staff. They are so tuned in to their guests needs without being obtrusive. Marrakesh could be a bit overwhelming for even a seasoned traveler. However, by staying at the Riad Kniza everything is made so easy and accessible....dining, sightseeing, excursions, suggestions, you name it! Don't want to forget to mention the food at the Riad. The food was excellent and the roof top dining experience was over the top romantic. Can't wait to return some day.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedford
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2006

This is a wonderful place to stay in the beautiful city of Marrakech. Owned by Kamal and his family, they see it as their job to make sure you have a comfortable and relaxing stay. They act as your unofficial advisor (if asked) on what to see, where to eat and what to do, and will organise a guide for you if you want. The roof is an oasis of calm amongst the bustle and bedlam in the street - you can sit and relax in the evening with a (stiff) G&T and watch the sun go down in absolute peace and quiet.

The hotel is small and very nicely furnished. The rooms (we stayed in two) are quiet and very comfortable. We ate on the roof for dinner twice and had delecious tagine.

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and would recommend it to anyone looking for the quiet and friendly family run hotel.

  • Liked — atmosphere
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2006

We stayed at this Riad in September and had a fantastic stay. Kamal picked us up from the airport and they arranged a complimentary tour of the souks for us to help us get our bearings. The service was fantastic, attentive yet not stifling. Unfortunately they did not have room for us on the last day yet they contacted the other Riad to arrange our transfer and to help make the transition as smooth as possible for us.

The rooms and bathrooms were extremely comfortable and yes they are probably more luxurious Riads but Kniza has bags of style, very personal service and had more than enough luxury for us!

In contrast we stayed at Riad Fes in Fes which whilst being very stylish just could not match Kniza for its service, warmth and hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks,Kent
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2006

We have just returned from a five day five star stay at Riad Kniza in Marrakesh. On arrival we were collected as part of the deal by a taxi and driver who delivered us to the Bab Doukkala – as you follow your luggage through the working and very chaotic souk with butchers, bakers, vegetable and mint sellers you wonder where you are being lead. Right into the alley and a door in the wall and suddenly all is calm, serenity and comfort. Nothing is too much trouble and luxury and courtesy are the by word. Shattered from a four am start we dumped our luggage and staggered onto the roof terrace where we were given a wonderful lunch – we then chilled on our loungers until our energy returned. At this point Mohamed Bouskri, the owner of the Riad, took us on a extremely informative and unmissable tour of the city – he has guided many VIPs and celebrities including former US Presidents and international movie stars including Brad Pit, Tom Cruise, Nicole Kidman, Jennifer Aniston… but his passion and love of his home city made our afternoon. On our return we were treated to a tasty Moroccan feast on the roof and an early night. A delicious breakfast and we were ready to hit the sights- a great day trip to Essaouria and lunch at the Le Chalet and Restaurant de port and then the following day we drove up to the Ourika Valley – how we managed to buy carpets we didn’t need is still a mystery. The last day an early start and the wonders of the Jardin Majorelle and then relaxing on the roof until we could face the hectic bartering in the souk. On our return it was so special to ring the bell and be ushered back into the tranquil sanity of Riad Kniza. At present they are building a swimming pool and spa – which will further enhance the charms of the Riad. Mohamed, Jamal, Samira and Hamman could not have done any more for us – our sincere thanks for a perfect holiday.

  • Liked — Quality
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Do not barter for anything in the souks unless you really want to buy it - it will lead to bad feeling from everyone involved.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.