We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“romantic & delicious - an elegant way to see old Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Kniza to your Saves list
Riad Kniza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Inclusions
Ranked #11 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Marina del Rey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“romantic & delicious - an elegant way to see old Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

Riad Kniza is already rated #1 for its restaurant but the Raid itself is totally first class. Why stay in a hotel when you can experience the old Medina in such an elegant way? The suites are spacious and beautifully furnished by the owner, a Moroccan antique dealer. Breakfast is full of the freshest fruits, breads and cremes, and the Moroccan dinners (already rated #1) are not to be believed! The owner has purchased the building next door and created a spa that looks seamless to the original structure but includes all the modern amenities & treatments. We were introduced to wonderful guides who took us through the Medina and the Berber villages in the mountains, and yes they will negotiate for you! BTW The rooftop is an oasis that should not be missed, nor should the owner's gallery! We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    977
    53
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
148
619
15
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

From the warm welcome we received when we arrived after a flight delay at 11pm at night (the owner's son had stayed up to greet us!) to the moment we left after having been allowed to stay in our room until late afternoon at no extra cost, the service we experienced was truly exceptional. All staff members were friendly and professional in the extreme. All requests were promptly and efficiently seen to - whether it be drinks or lunch in our room, the arrangement of a massage or the setting up of a table on the roof terrace so that we could have dinner there. Samira was fantastic and even hand wrote me my requested recipe for Lamb Tagine.
Our suite (Yakout) was beautiful with a large loung area (wifi access), lovely bedroom and stunning marble bathroom. The twice daily room clean and towel change was thorough and usually included rose petals on tne bed.
The food was wonderful - fresh and light and beautifully presented. We never saw a menu during our stay, instead whatever we requested was prepared to order.
The riad was a truly peaceful oasis of calm and tranquility away from teh hussle and bustle of marrakech street life.
Both my husband and I travel extensively for business and pleasure all over the world. It is very rare to find somewhere which really lives up to it's repuation but we found that the service along with such beautiful surroundings meant that this riad is a rare find - somewhere which really does match your expectations and exceed them. We will definitely be back (as soon as the grandparents can be persuaded to have the two little ones for a few days again!)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umbria Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

My husband and I pre-booked online to eat here (after reading previous reviews)
We thoroughly enjoyed the evening - the stunning riad is an oasis of calm after the busy streets of Marrakech - and this is experienced by going through just one wooden door from the small dusty street of Derb l'Hotel into a place of tranquility.
It is not the easiest place to find - but is anywhere within the medina? We decided to find the riad the evening before our meal, so as not to be stressed out when yet another alleyway would lead to the wrong destination! The staff are very attentitive and the meal was the best we had during our stay. We also opted to have a Hannam and massage there on the Sunday before we left - We suspect this is not the cheapest location for such, however just to experience the building, it's ambience - was well worth it - especially with the kind thoughts of providing us tea and almond biscuits after.
We would certainly visit Riad Kniza again, and hope that this is not too far in the future.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire,UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

I took my husband, daughters and their partners to the Riad Kniza to celebrate my husband's 60th birthday and I have to give myself a pat on the back for finding such a super place to stay! We had 4 nights of superb service, where nothing was too much trouble, excellent value for money and in a very good location. I would strongly recommend this Riad to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Dorset
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

My wife and I recently spent 3 most enjoyable nights at Riad Kniza which is well situated to explore the many places of historical interest in Marrakech, as well as experiencing the bustle and diversity of the Jemma El Fna and learning to haggle in the souks. At the end of a fulfilling but tiring day, it is wonderful to be able to relax in this beautiful riad, let the tension drain away over a soothing bottle of wine and sample some of the delicious Moroccan cuisine. The staff are warm, friendly, helpful and efficient, without being obtrusive or over-attentive. We have no hesitation in strongly recommending Riad Kniza to other potential visitors to this fascinating ancient city.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east sussex
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

My wife and I have just spent 5 nights in this exceptional riad. We have never felt the urge before to write a review but this time we had to pass on our wonderful memories to everyone. This riad is undoubtedly one of the nicest places in which we have stayed. It is an oasis of beauty and tranquillity in a city of continual hustle and bustle. It is beautifully furnished with antiques and full of delicate wood and stucco carvings and stunning pictures. Our junior suite was sumptious with the most comfortable bed imaginable. The food was truly exceptional. Finally what made our experience so special was Kamal and his staff who could not have been more friendly and helpful and dedicated to our wellbeing. For example - when Kamal heard that it was my wife's birthday during our stay he, unprompted, immediately arranged for a lovely surprise birthday cake to appear at the end of that night's dinner. We fully recommend this family-run riad to anyone. It was perfect in every way!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longhope
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

We arrived at Riad Kniza via the bustling market, rang the doorbell, entered and were instantly transported into a peaceful, stylish and truly wonderful space. Even though it was late in the evening we were met by Kamal, the owner's son, whose love of his establishment is apparent - and rightly so.

His family has created a gorgeous home and great care has been taken with their choice of lush fabrics, ceramic tiling, beautifully handcrafted plasterwork and stunning paintings. Our suite was sumptuous and very quiet and we slept very well in the most comfortable beds imaginable. The staff are very well-trained; each member of the team was delightful, polite and friendly and on hand at all times - nothing was too much trouble. And the food was delicious, too.

If you are looking for an authentic Moroccan experience that ticks all the boxes, Riad Kniza is definitely the place to stay.

ACN / 07 March 2010

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#4 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#8 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#33 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.