We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star Morrocan Hospitality - fit for a Sultan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza

Save Saved
You added Riad Kniza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Kniza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Inclusions
Ranked #8 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Huddersfield West Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“5 star Morrocan Hospitality - fit for a Sultan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2006

Our seven day stay at Riad Kniza was a most enjoyable experience. From the moment we arrived at Menara Airport until the day we left the Bouskri family and staff were the perfect hosts,
arranging guided tours, trips,including superb lunch locations to the mountainsand Essouria and even restaurants in Marrakech.

Riad Kniza is a beautiful Riad in a superb location. The restoration work and attention to detail is superb and the furnishings are unique. The rooms and suites are all individual
in a style to match the period of the building - if you visit the Baddii Palace you will see some of the same craftmanship.

The whole Riad is yours to enjoy at your leisure and pace , we spent many a relaxing afternoon , in the shade, on the rooftop, after a hectic , hot morning ,in Marrakech . In the evening we would either eat at Riad Kniza or go back into Marrakech, the food at the Riad is not to be missed and the service is wonderful, and of a high standard.

Kamal is exceptional, The Geni of the Lamp, your wish is his command. He was always so helpful and happy to arrange anything we wanted to do, within minutes it was booked.

He and his father, Mohammed Bouskri, are perfect gentlemen, and their priorities are that their guests deserve the best. They are very proud of Riad Kniza and their guests are treated like family.

We shall return without a doubt, we loved Marrakech and the people.

  • Liked — Hospitality and attention to detail
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — take cash or travellers cheques - not many places take credit cards
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    951
    50
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
146
597
15
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, UK
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Riad Kniza at the start of September. Upon our arrival we were met at the gate into the medina by the owners son who told us during our short stroll back to the Riad that we had been upgraded to a Duplex suite which was truly beautiful. The attention to detail throughout the whole property is second to none and you are made to feel as though nothing is too much trouble. We had dinner reservations made for us every evening and a half day tour of the city with a guide was included in the price which was really useful to get our bearings! Breakfast every day was a time to suit us and we had the option of having it in our room, on the roof terrace or in one of the beautiful salons. The Riad also arranged a half day trip into the Atlas mountains with lunch at Richard Branson's Moroccan Retreat, which is a wonderful experience and a welcome break from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. All in all, we would thoroughly recommend Riad Kniza to anyone visiting Marrakech. We both felt very sad to leave and we would definately like to return one day. Don't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2006

After reading the many highly complimentary reviews on this site, I had high expectations for our stay at Riad Kniza. These were met and surpassed from the minute we were collected from the airport, to the time we sadly left. Situated in an ideal part of The Medina, the service, decor and hospitality were superb and you were instantly made to feel at home, with the minimum amount of fuss. Excellent food was prepared at your convenience and could be eaten on the roof terrace or in any of the beautiful rooms.

Although the Riad was not available for the full 4 nights we required, they arranged for us to spend 1 night at Domaine De La Roseraie, in the High Atlas mountains. This included transport at our convenience and meals. It was a truly fantastic experience. The hotel and pool, surrounded by the mountains, are one of the most relaxing places imaginable. I would highly recommend staying here too if you have time.

If you are staying in Marrakech, make Riad Kniza your first choice of places to stay. We will certainly be going back, some time soon.

Stayed May 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2006

We stayed two nights at the Riad Kniza in July - not the best time of the year for Marrakech as temperatures soared to 45 degrees C but the Riad provided a wonderful oasis of calm to hide away from the madness of the city.
From the first email to Riad Kniza, Kamal and his team were quick and helpful with their responses and we felt very welcome. Our room rate included our airport transfers (a real treat to be met at the airport), breakfast and all non-alcholic beverages (a great inclusion with the red hot weather).
The Riad has been lovingly restored with fantastic craftsmanship wherever you look and all the bedrooms have airconditioning and comfortable amenities. We had breakfast daily on the roof terrace and the lunch/dinner menu was also very good and reasonably priced.
The staff at Riad Kniza is what we will always remember as everybody we met went out of their way to ensure we had a great stay. We highly recommend the Riad Kniza for a real, but luxurious, stay within the city's Medina, rather than in one of the larger international hotels on the outskirts of the city.

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, RI
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2006

Before my wife and I even left the United States for Morocco, we already knew that there was something special about Riad Kniza. My e-mails were answered promptly, reservations for restaurants (and the subsequent changes when we changed our minds) were made easily, and the attitude of the staff was always helpful.
When we arrived in Marrakesh, they had arranged for a car to pick us up at the airport and drive us to Essaouira, where we first stayed for 4 nights. After that was over, a car arrived again to take us from Essaouira to Marrakesh and Riad Kniza.
We do a lot of research before we go on trips, and we knew many of the sights we wanted to see...many of them on the edge of the city. Kamal was more than happy to drive us around the city our first day and show us all of it. That half-day trip gave us the time to really explore Marrakesh by foot in a way we could not have done had we hired a taxi to take us to all those places.
Our room at Riad Kniza was beautiful with incredible Moroccan craftsmanship throughout...and the riad is spotlessly clean. We were in Marrakesh at the peak of the hot season (mid-July, temps 110F and even higher) and the air conditioners at Riad Kniza were as welcome as the cold bottle of Flag beer they offered me when we returned from a long day in the Souk.
We ate at many restaurants in Marrakesh and found that our best meals were at Riad Kniza. One night we enjoyed authentic Moroccan food...another night, we craved a simple plate of pasta with butter. The pasta was al dente and better than the pasta at the Italian restaurant we dined at the night before.
Riad Kniza is in a great location in the Medina...walking distance to several restaurants as well as the Ensemble Artisinal and Place Jemaa El Fna. And if you don't want to walk, a taxi stand and horse-drawn carriages are just at the end of the street at Bab Doukkala.
From a day trip to the High Atlas Mountains to making arrangements for a special Hammam for two, anything we wanted was possible. Kamal, his father Mohammed, our driver Rashid, and the staff made our trip memorable. We hope to visit Riad Kniza again soon!

  • Liked — The great attitude of the people working there.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2006

Riad Kniza is literally just what the doctor ordered. I had seen the pictures on the internet and read the reviews and so was a little curious. Could this Riad be as good as people had raved about? In fact it was more.
Kamal the manager was very helpful, knowledgeable and curtious and we found all of his staff very polite and attentive as you would hope from what is classed as 5 star accomodation. Nothing was too much for them. When my 8 year old son said he was bored, off went Kamal to return with a DVD player and his nephew's film collection. You don't get that in a hotel chain!!
The decor is superbly and tastefully done and the transformation into a modern hotel is perfect.
The cleaning staff kept the rooms spotless and immaculately turned out with extra touches like a rose in the dressing gown. Fresh fruit and water every day were an additional bonus. A tour guide was included in the cost of the holiday and was an invaluable source of information. Building work is in progess for an extention which will include a swimming pool and Hammam (Spa) facilty which will make it an even more inviting place to stay.
We would highly recommend anyone to spend a least one night there on their way through Morocco. We would certainly consider returning.
Again thanks to all at the Riad Kniza for making our trip to Morocco memorable.
MR & Mrs Crouch, Swansea, UK

  • Liked — Decor and staff friendliness
  • Disliked — No refridgerator
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2006

We thoroughly loved our three nights at the Riad Kniza. The owner, Mohammed ,and his son Kamal were very hospitable and gracious. The rooms were beautifully decorated as well as the rest of the Riad. Air conditioning was working properly even in spite of high summer temperatures. Simple touches such as the rose petals in the fountains and on the tables added to the ambience. The location in the Medina was excellent as it was very close to the entrance to the Medina which made walking and catching a cab very convenient. Overall, it was a great experience not to miss!

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#8 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.