We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have, should have, will definately stay here next time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza

Save Saved
You added Riad Kniza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Kniza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1 FREE Night
Ranked #8 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Could have, should have, will definately stay here next time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

Upon our 4-day exploration of Marrakech, my partner and I found the site for Riad Kniza when looking for a spa and for cooking places - - all while trying to fill our time in the oppressive Moroccan heat (suggestion - don't visit in August!). Sadly, we hadn't found it when looking for Riads to stay in, but were happy to spend a day in this lovely oasis and with some of the most friendly people imaginable.

We arrived at noon for a class and lunch, which was great. We watched and participated with the Riad's head chef in the making of a 3-course lunch (seafood, sides, etc.) which we sat in one of the riads dining rooms to eat, along with wine.

From there, at 230, the hamman (a traditional bath and body scrub), which we did together followed by leisure time at the riad's pool. We each took our turn at a short massage, followed by more time at the pool, dessert, more wine, a tour of the hotel and then Kamal, the manager and owner, offered us a ride back to our riad and a 20 min tour of his city.

Talk about gracious; Kamal's team not only made us feel like VIP-guests during our 5 hour stay, but encouraged us to stay as long as we wanted to and then drive us back to our hotel!!! Unheard of but true.

Given the opportunity to do it over, we would not think twice about checking in here. I'm not sure I would even leave the riad grounds!

Kamal and company - many thanks. We'll see you again soon.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    939
    50
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
142
590
14
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

Words cannot describe this Riad. The inside is like any ancient palace you will see in Marrakech, opulent yet tasteful. The rooms are gorgeous and clean and well-maintained. The staff is so helpful, it is ridiculous. Mohamed, Kamal, and Samira are all wonderful hosts. In short, this is the best place to stay. It deserves all the accolades it receives.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

The TA rating of this Riad is spot on. The rooms and facilities are first class and the location of the Riad is excellent. But above all, our experience was made all the more special because of the Riad Manager Kamal. He was so attentive to our needs. Riad Kniza is a very slick and well run hotel. Bravo Kamal!

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

We stayed at Riad Kniza on the back of TripAdvisor reviews and pretty much agree with all the good things that are said. The end of June is low season (we also stayed at Amanjena which was definitely at low-season occupancy) but despite that Riad Kniza was full before we arrived and then full again a couple of days after we left having stayed for 3 nights so it's clearly popular. easy to boook by email and they arranged a transfer from Casablanca airport for us. It's just inside the medina but once you've been met by one of the staff members from your transfer on the first occasion it's very easy to find again and we also never felt at all worried about late nights, the area around it is generally very busy with both commerce and families. Very friendly and helpful staff, nice spacious junior suite with living area and bedroom, certainly clean and air conditioned (although slightly noisy a/c but zero noise from outside in the street in the evenings), breakfast on the roof (or anywhere else you want) and a new extension with a swimming pool and hammam. They offer a free half-day guided tour of the medina, which is a good idea as it's a one-to-one tour and some of the groups we saw walking around looked very large, although our guide seemed a little unenthusiastic and we forgot to mention that we didn't need a carpet so we saw one shop towards the end before he realised we weren't going to make his day in commission. We did buy some interesting bits and pieces in the Moroccan chemist he took us to though. As we were leaving the riad to go to Amanjena, we asked for the best place to stock up on soft drinks for the journey and were immediately loaded up with free drinks from Riad Kniza. While they're complementary while you're there, we weren't expecting to get a carrier bag full as we stepped out the door. In summary, friendly, clean, simple and elegant, reasonably located and a popular place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

We stayed at Riad Kniza for 4 nights for a short October break. I probably don't have the vocabulary to describe our wonderful experience but I'll try. The airport pick up, and short drive to the Medina was perfect. We were greeted by the owner who ushered us into a quiet side room in the Riad while our bags were placed in our rooms. The obligatory mint tea and cakes arrived and we were left to enjoy the riches on display (the family have a fantastic antique shop in the new town). We ordered dinner to be prepared in the Riad and it was absolutely fantastic. Tagines, nuts and fruits, sweet and sour. Quite fabulous. The breakfasts were similarly terrific, authentic and tasty.

The Riad staff were excellent at organising trips and guides. Firstly we has a very patient guide who took us round the souks for 6 hours and then we had another guide to take us to the Atlas mountains. Both trips were fabulous, informative and visually stunning.

Don't miss out on taking a trip to the family's antique shop. The shop isn't cheap but is an amazing Alladin's cave of beautiful art and craftsmanship. We hot tailed it back home with a silver and camel bone table, expertly shipped over to us by Mohammed.

You really have to experience Riad Kniza to believe it. The best of everything in the most magical of cities!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

We have traveled extensively and been lucky enough to stay in some of the worlds most exclusive hotels and the Royal Suite at this Riad compares with the best. The whole Riad conveys a feeling of authenticity and the extensive renovations have been carried out sympathetically and tastefully. Nothing was too much trouble for the the staff and the owner and the service was impeccable. We took dinner twice on the roof terrace and it compared more than favorably with some of the recommended and expensive restaurants in Marrakech, with the benefit of ordering the morning before to ensure that fresh produce was bought from the market and used in the chosen dish. Breakfast could be taken in any of the relaxing rooms around the courtyard, in your room or on the roof terrace and was varied and more than sufficient. The staff were happy to advise and/or organize tours both inside and outside Marrakech as well as other more mundane advice regarding changing money or shopping. Our four night stay was a wonderful introduction to Morocco and Marrakech and we would have no hesitation in recommending Riad Kniza to those more discerning travellers

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2009

Just back from 3 nights. It is a great spot to retreat to from your adventures in Morocco. Heat was high in Marrakech so I mixed it up with day trip to Essaouria (visit the woman's coop selling direct goods) and to Atlast mountains. The staff at Riad Kniza were outstanding. I had to stay 4th night in a different hotel as they originally did not have room at Kniza and I had to leave my luggage as I would be out during the day not returning until late afternoon. When I returned to "switch hotels", the staff insisted I sit and offerred me mint tea, food, water etc while I just relaxed to get organized. Then they told me if my NEW hotel would not take me to the airport, they would - no problem. Then, their staff carried my luggage to the new hotel which was only accessible by foot!. Its like staying with family.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#8 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.