We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience in a superb boutique type hotel,wonderful staff and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Kniza to your Saves list
Riad Kniza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Inclusions
Ranked #11 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Coventry
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent experience in a superb boutique type hotel,wonderful staff and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

I stayed here for 4 nights and can thoroughly recommend this Riad.It has been beautifully restored by the family generations of whom have owned the property for 200 years.Spotlessly clean, superlative service and friendly staff made my stay very memorable. All the excellent meals were served in delightful surroundings and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. My friend and I sampled two different suites as we started a tour of Morocco here and came back for our final night, they were both sumptuous and very different. we did notice that the Riad had won two awards from trip Adivisor and can understand why!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    980
    53
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
148
622
15
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
boston
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2009

The hotel offers luxury, charm, and authenticity inside its ancient walls in the heart of the old markets of Marrakech. The rooms are lovely and generous in proportion. The food is delicious, sophisticated, and local. The service is endless without ever being intrusive. You can eat on the romantic roof-terrace overlooking the city and Atlas mountains or in a lavish traditional style dining room. I would love to return and will send all my friends.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2009

My wife and I went on a trip to Marocco. I booked the Hotel Riad Kniza in Marrakech before hand with the Sons owner Kamal, checking on prices and deals, and it was the best experience we had. I'm from the hospitality business myself but this was somethings else. Included in the package we had a local Gourmet dinner with a bottle of wine, Guided tour thru the Souks, a trip into the Atlas mountains with driver and in an air conditioned car, all soft drinks throuout our stay, 1/2 hour massage each and use of the Hammam for free. Fruits in the room and local ammenities were included throu out our whol stay in our room also.
Arriving at the hotel was no problem, after getting a bit lost in the city (we drove ourself) Kamal came and picked us up to guide us to the Hotel and the Parking, what was paid for aswell. We already booked a suite for 4 nights and got an upgrade to a Royal Suite with Living room, 2 clothing rooms seperate Toilett and a huge sleeping room. The hotel is extremely clean and the food is fantastic. The breakfast was absolutely the highlight. Every day a different version on the lovely rooftop. The pool is very refreshing and super clean. Extremely friendly and helpfull stuff.
I can highly recommend this Hotel and I'm sure Kamal and his team will be our host again one day. Kamal thank you very much for your hospitality. It was a unique experience.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

As a travel writer, I frequently stay in hotels the world over as part of my traveling and writing about my travel experiences. Riad Kniza is, quite simply, one of the most beautiful and service-oriented hotels I have ever been. The place has been in the family for two centuries, and some years ago was added to and remodeled to create the gorgeous, sumptuous riad that it is today. In an excellent located in the Marrakech medina, Riad Kniza offers a respite from the hustle and bustle of the city. Once you walk through their doors, everything outside falls away and you are in the heart of luxury and calm.

The service is incredible and impeccable. They attend to your every need and make sure that you are well cared for. The rooms are simply gorgeous, as are the courtyards and the various lounges available for guests. A pool and hamman experience will complete your stay, and of course don't forget to have breakfast or an end-of-day glass of wine on the rooftop terraces overlooking the city.

The food here is simply amazing, and the riad offers special moroccan dinners with music, bar and belly dancing. The entire experience is a truly magical one, not to be missed. You will not regret choosing Riad Kniza.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

My wife and i went to Marrakech and stayed at Riad Kniza after spending a few days in Fez (at one of the top hotels) and this was really special. We booked the Royal Suite Bahia (the top of the line) since there were only 2 rooms available and we aren't coming back to Morocco any time soon given the long journey and desire to continue to see new places. THIS WAS UNREAL. The space is incredible and so tastefully decorated. It has a sitting room in the front, an oversized bathroom with dual sinks, and a sweeping bedroom with a separate sitting area. It was spotlessly clean and beutiful. We had breakfest delivered to our room each morning to start our busy days. We also ate dinner one night in their lovely dining area and the service and food were first rate. My only criticism is that the riad is located in a back alley but that seems to be typical in this area. The staff was friendly and welcoming too. I would come back in a heart-beat.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, England
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2009

We went to Riad Kniza for a special birthday celebration, looking for somewhere out of the ordinary. We were not disappointed in any way. The suite we had booked was superb, and even now our photos make us go 'wow' at the memory. The beautiful and tasteful decoration, combined with the 'whatever you want, whenever you want' service which was never obseqious [unlike many so-called 'luxury' hotels] but rather made you feel that some good friends were helping you have a nice time, made the whole experience perfect. Make sure you eat at the Riad at least one day - we had dinner on the rooftop and the food, service and overall experience was superb. I had mentioned when booking [7 months earlier] that it was my wifes birthday.........a cake arrived with a candle at the end of our meal....what a nice and unexpected touch! The proximity of the main Souks, and the experience of staying within the Medina, means that outside the front door Marrakech grabbed you, pulled you forward and provided an experience that was never less than a full on, total sensory experience. At the end of days spent wandering through the markets, experiencing the sights, sounds, smells and tastes as well as the engagement with genuine Marrakshi's, it was a genuine pleasure to come through that door into a tranquil oasis, order some mint tea [and wonderful pastries - I put on 3lbs in a week!] and just collapse either in our room or taking the sun on the beautiful roof garden. The spa was a delight and anyone visiting should make sure they use the hamman for a good steam and massage, followed by the pool.

Several points to note for the first timer visiting Marrakech. Firstly, unless you make it plain to the guide that you are NOT interested in buying things, you might well get taken to 'shops' that he knows and become quickly embroiled in a hard sell experience. If this happens, simply stand your ground, be polite, and leave.

Secondly, the food is generally very good everywhere - don't expect it will necessarily be any better in a higher class restaurant - it is likely to be the same/similar menu as a much cheaper establishment - what you are paying extra for is simply the environment.

We look forward to returning - as surely we will!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2009

I celebrated my 50th Birthday at Riad Kniza along with my closest friends, 17 of us in all taking over the whole of the Riad. The Riad itself has to be seen to be believed, it's stunning. Thanks to Kamal and his staff we all had the most memorable weekend possible. Nothing was too much trouble. Please visit Marrakech and stray at Riad Kniza, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#8 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#34 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.