We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sophisticated and neat...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Kniza to your Saves list
Riad Kniza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 472 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sophisticated and neat...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Very clean and amongst the A+ Riads... Nice pool. Very clean and spacious rooms. 10 minutes walk through nice shopping streets to Jemaa elFna and center. Good internet. Nice terrace.. Smiling and very helpful staff.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,003
    59
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
153
648
13
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed there at the beginning of the year. The entire experience was phenomenal. The staff seemed to know what I wanted before I even knew it myself. Breakfast on the roof was delightful. I thought the location was great - not too loud, but close enough to lots of different entertainment & food options. We ate in the hotel restaurant twice. It was amazing both times.

Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We recently stayed for 5 nights at this gorgeous riad within the walls of the Media. Riad Kniza was recommended to us by someone in the industry and my oh my .... it did not disappoint. Stepping through the front door, leaving the hustle of the old town behind you, feels like you are stepping into a peaceful and tranquil oasis.
This old traditional house is huge but only has 11 rooms so you feel like it's your own private villa at times. And if it's good enough for Brad Pitt, Will Smith and Goldie Hawne, it's good enough for us :-)
The common areas are opulent, luxurious and very Moroccan. There's lots of wide open courtyards and rooms where you can relax out of the heat whilst enjoying some beer or mint tea. The pool is gorgeous but very cold although this was just what we needed after walking around the medina in +40degrees.
The rooms are divine with elegant furnishings and modern bathrooms which are tastefully done to fit with the rest of the decor. We had room no.8 which was huge with a massive bed and a separate seating area. We could not have asked for a better room. It was perfect and just how I imagined a room in an upscale Moroccan riad to be.
One of the touches I loved about Riad Kniza was that you could choose where and when you wanted breakfast each morning. All we had to do was ring reception around 10 mins before we wanted to eat and let them know if we wanted breakfast on the roof terrace, in the courtyard rooms or in our own room. Also the complimentary soft drinks and mint tea was very welcome after long days sightseeing.
The main thing that would bring us back to Riad Kniza again was the hospitality from all the staff. They really cannot do enough for you and even bringing us countless cold beers and wine to the roof terrace was ALWAYS done with a sincere smile. The reception staff were wonderful at recommending restaurants, tour guides, day trips, etc, and every time they got it just right for us and what we were looking for. I really cannot say enough about the staff at Riad Kniza. Truly truly wonderful service that you just have to sample to believe.

Room Tip: Room 8 is very private and huge with windows that overlook the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The reviews below say it all! This is the best small hotel we've ever stayed in (and we've been to a lot of places over the past 50 years!). Beautiful decor, attentive, friendly and efficient staff, very convenient location. Everything worked properly. No need to say more!

Room Tip: Ground floor suite is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A beautiful traditional home steeped in history, the decor is stunning, the rooms very comfortable indeed. There are 11 rooms only, so you can imagine how peaceful and quiet this place is.

I think the staff here and the owner make the difference, incredibly friendly and attentive, service always excellent.

Breakfast was ok, not brilliant and very plentiful, you will worry about the wastage, but don't. The owner gives all food left over to the local homeless community, a very nice and generous gesture.

We had lunch on one day and it was very good indeed, traditional brochettes, appetisers and great flavoursome salads with authentic home cooked breads.

Cold beers on the terrace is a nice touch, the pool is freezing cold but lovely if you have baked on the terrace for a bit.

Now there is a bit of building going on but its modern times and to be fair it doesn't bother you very much. The Riad is next to the food souk which at times is a bit smelly, but don't let that spoil your enjoyment.

The concierge organised us a guided tour of the souks and the guide was at times informative but spent a bit of time on his phone, he was probably lining up the next souk on our trip as service in each of the shops visited was excellent. The concierge also organised a driver to take us into the Atlas Mountains which was excellent, a ride on Camels, rope bridge crossings and a local restaurant too which was great.

Highly recommended whether you stay or just want a visit

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our room here was perhaps the best of our entire two-week vacation, and the public rooms were elegantly appointed and beautiful, as well. This riad pays attention to detail -- they remember your name wherever you are in the building, they make every effort to address your needs, and they have a well-deserved reputation for excellence. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat. Location is a matter of one's preference -- it's near one of the city gates and therefore easy to access by taxi -- but it's a 15-20 minute walk from the Jmaa el Fna, so if you want to be close to the "action," you may find this riad a bit too far. Around the corner from the riad's door, however, and you're immediately into the median -- and the route through the medina is part of the fascination of arriving at the square anyway, in my view. I love this riad.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Vast room. Very quiet. Great location. Staff were efficient. The gust areas were very aesthetic and we had a hamam which was luxurious. But the best bit was the dinner. Outstanding service, nice setting and varied food and lots of it. It was like a European restaurant with an endless degustation menu. What more could one ask?

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#5 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#13 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#23 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.