We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A luxury home in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Kniza to your Saves list
Riad Kniza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Inclusions
Ranked #12 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
Lake Elmo, Minnesota
Top Contributor
315 reviews 315 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“A luxury home in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had a wonderful stay here. It is a traditional Moroccan riad. Beautiful mosaics, plaster work, and wooden ceilings. The roof top terrace was a little too cool for us but it is wonderful in warmer weather. Our room was large and comfortable. Meals are by appointment and are delicious. Breakfast s an individual buffet. Every member of the staff was welcoming and polite. Our three day staywas too short.

Room Tip: Many rooms require climbing stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,000
    55
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
151
640
15
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

"Only my mum has treated me better than you". This is what I told Kamal, the smiling manager of Riad Kniza, at the end of our stay. As a southern Italian, this is arguably the best compliment I could have made him. Riad Kniza is simply fabulous. Strategically located, inside the Medina but close to one of the entry gates (Bab Doukkala) - which makes it a whole lot easier to find your way back in case you get lost. Recently renovated, clean, quiet. Our room was large and comfortable, with air conditioning, satellite TV, a fireplace and a basket with fresh fruit on our table. The staff were incredibly helpful, but never intrusive. 'No, it's not possible' was not even contemplated as an answer. Any request was received with a smile, and promptly satisfied. Food was top notch. Breakfast was so generous that it was almost a challenge to eat all of it. Freshly-baked bread and pancakes, freshly-squeezed orange juice, homemade jam. Absolutely delicious, as was dinner. What else to say? Ha, yes. I owe my better half a debt of gratitude for booking our stay at Riad Kniza!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Dont trust your first impression when you land in Marrakesh and are dropped off in your taxi. The riad is located in a very run down area however once you step though the door you are blown away with sheer opulance and fantastic service. Our room (9) was amazing with a lounge area and fire place offered up with fresh fruit and rose petals.....stunning. The staff are so friendly and helpful without being in your face. The food was good, very Moroccan and incredibly tasty. Although there are no menus which can be a little restrictive we were served up lovely gin n tonics, wine, dinner and breakfasts. We loved this place, it was like a tardis in a very strange place. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: The riads are courtyard buildings so any noise travels easily, top floor maybe better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Riad Kniza is a wonderful riad right insider the Marrrakech medina. Lovely public rooms downstairs -- including a beautiful pool and steam room -- and very welcoming staff. Our dinner was wonderful and overwhelming in its choices and variety (the salads were particularly good and different from many we had had throughout Morocco). Breakfast was also great (and plentiful) and they even brought us breakfast in our room at 6 am on the morning we had to leave early. We had a wonderful suite with a sitting room downstairs and bedroom upstairs. The rose petals strewn throughout to welcome us was a real treat. Good water pressure in the shower and very nice bathrooms. I would recommend this riad for location, service, food, ambiance and calm in the clamor of the medina.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I can say this was the best place I've ever stayed. The riad is located in an alleyway but don't let this fool you- once inside you are met with a spectacular site. We were first given some morrocan whiskey (mint tea) whilst our suite was prepared (we arrived at 10am before the check in time but this was no problem). The owner then gave us a tour of the mansion. The riad has been in the family for 200 years and is filled with wonderful antiques.

The owner then offered us breakfast which was bought to our suite. We stayed in the kenza suite which was beautiful, it even had a working fireplace. Could not find a single fault.

All the staff are wonderful and very accommodating. Although it was not hot enough for us to use the pool it looked very luxurious. Transfers to and from the airport were no problem.

The riad is in a great location. A 15min walk to the main square and 15 min walk to the new side of Marrakech. Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just returned from 4 days in Marrakesh. The owners and staff of Riad Kniza helped to make it a very memorable stay. We had meals in the other very expensive hotels of Marrakesh but the food inRiad Kniza was the best of all. The hotel and staff deserve every one of the five stars we have given them.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Riad is absolutely beautiful. Such a warm and romanic welcome awaited us with absolutely charming red rose petals carefully placed to adorn all the rooms. Staff were very welcoming and friendly, we even met the owner! Nothing is too much trouble. the Riad is very spacious with a lot of areas to eat. Well located in the Medina, everything within walking distance. The main square is about 15 minutes walk. Congratulations to the Riad Kniza staff for your first class service. We recommend this to anyone. We went on to stay in a suite at the fabulous Mazagan Resort, and we liked the Kniza better!! Thank you for a truly delightful experience.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#4 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#8 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#43 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.