We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Moroccan romance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Kniza to your Saves list
Riad Kniza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Inclusions
Ranked #11 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Moroccan romance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

After a long & very slow passport control experience, we were greeted by a smiling pleasant driver. Whom took our luggage & we entered a spacious air conditioned mpv. We were privy to a personal tour, as he advised of the various architecture & buildings we passed enroute to the Riad Kniza located within the media (holy city). We were greeted by a smiling Abdullah, at the roadside entrance at the mouth of the market, he too took our luggage & he navigated us through the local bustling full of vendors & numerous small motorbikes. Turning down an alley, the noise almost seeming as the volume had been turn the way down. He knocked on a beautifully carved wooden door & we entered a small tranquil reception, we were then shown through a small courtyard with a water fountain into an air conditioned saloon full of Moroccan ambience & charm. The hospitality began by being offered Moroccan mint tea, whilst we were booked in. We were then given a tour of the Riad (restaurant, pool, hammam, sauna, massage room & roof terrace), our suite was on the first floor. This too had a beautiful carved wooden door with a heavy golden bolt & lock, once entering the air conditioned suite we were greeted by rose petals, either scattered on the floor or in designs on almost every flat surface visible including the toilet seat & cistern. The ambience filled suite, was spacious with a seating area with fireplace & a coffee table with a large bottle of mineral water and bowl of fresh fruit, yes rose petals too. A super king size bed, a dressing/storage area (including digital safety deposit box) leading off this is the separate toilet & bathroom with full bath including an overhead shower & hairdryer. The towels were changed seemingly twice a day, we found the room was not only cleaned daily but also of an evening upon arriving back the bed would be turnt down for you & the air conditioning on (had you turn it off as we had on occasion, the bed is very comfortable & a good night's sleep is provided. We dined here the 1st night and were pleasantly surprised by the seduction of our senses, with the private intimate charming saloon, ambience provided by the traditional musicians serranding us as we dined on the beautiful 4/5 course meal (we were stuffed so couldn't complete the entire set meal), there isn't a menu, they advise you of what is available. Breakfast is literally served when your ready for it (8am, midday or even 2pm), either in a saloon or on the roof terrace. The pool is small so more lengths can be achieved but the massage is highly recommended. The staff are very friendly, professional & knowledgeable. We stayed for 3 nights at the beginning of July and plan to return later in the year.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    999
    55
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
151
639
15
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This riad has been owned by the same family for over 200 years and their pride of ownership is apparent everywhere you look. It's impossible to find a single nook or cranny that isn't decorated with impeccable taste and beauty. If you are looking for riad style accommodations in Marrakech look no further.

The appearance and cleanliness of this property are not the only things to rave about. The graciousness and professionalism of the staff here are second to none. Any request will be answered with an "of course". For our party of 6 people this included special birthday plans.

One further tip - take the cooking class, which includes a trip to the local market to buy spices and vegetables. Besides being instructive it's a lot of fun.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

I have never reviewed anything but Kniza deserves a glowing review.
I was blown away by the understated opulence, the hospitality and the tranquility of this place. It was a terrific way to finish my 2 week sojourn in Morocco.
I did a one on one cooking class with chef Amina - she was delightful and I am brought back to Morocco when ever I cook some of her wonderful dishes or those inspired by her.
This was one of the most memorable travel experiences.
Thank you so much, I really hope to return.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We truly enjoyed our stay in this excellent location. Perfect service and hospitality made our 3 nights here an amazing experience. The building has been renovated to the highest standards while preserving the historic characteristics. We also enjoyed an excellent dinner on the wonderful rooftop.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Marrakech is exciting and in your face and then you return to this oasis of tranquility. Interior is stunning and the staff couldn't do enough to make your stay relaxed and special. I just want to go back ASAP. We also did a half day cooking course at the hotel which was really good fun.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Heaven in Marrakech... Best part of our trip. Thanks a lot for all the details and great service. Beautiful property with lot of details. Do not hesitate to stay at Riad Kniza if you really want to experience Marrakech lifestyle.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This Riad is an Oasis of peace, tranquility and top class service amidst the hustle and bustle of Marrakech . The Service is superb , every member of the staff is charming, attentive and can't do enough to make your stay as delightful as possible . Everything is provided with a smile . The food was excellent and the rooms extremely comfortable . We cannot praise or recommend this Riad highly enough . Location is perfect, situated within the Medina and walking distance to the main square and the souks. Transfers to and from the airport included and the staff will book any additional restaurants, trips , guides for you .. And always with a smile . Absolutely superb

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#8 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#43 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.