We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis of Charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza

Save Saved
You added Riad Kniza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Kniza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1 FREE Night
Ranked #11 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Walnut, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Oasis of Charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This riad has been owned by the same family for over 200 years and their pride of ownership is apparent everywhere you look. It's impossible to find a single nook or cranny that isn't decorated with impeccable taste and beauty. If you are looking for riad style accommodations in Marrakech look no further.

The appearance and cleanliness of this property are not the only things to rave about. The graciousness and professionalism of the staff here are second to none. Any request will be answered with an "of course". For our party of 6 people this included special birthday plans.

One further tip - take the cooking class, which includes a trip to the local market to buy spices and vegetables. Besides being instructive it's a lot of fun.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    926
    49
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
140
578
14
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

I have never reviewed anything but Kniza deserves a glowing review.
I was blown away by the understated opulence, the hospitality and the tranquility of this place. It was a terrific way to finish my 2 week sojourn in Morocco.
I did a one on one cooking class with chef Amina - she was delightful and I am brought back to Morocco when ever I cook some of her wonderful dishes or those inspired by her.
This was one of the most memorable travel experiences.
Thank you so much, I really hope to return.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We truly enjoyed our stay in this excellent location. Perfect service and hospitality made our 3 nights here an amazing experience. The building has been renovated to the highest standards while preserving the historic characteristics. We also enjoyed an excellent dinner on the wonderful rooftop.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Marrakech is exciting and in your face and then you return to this oasis of tranquility. Interior is stunning and the staff couldn't do enough to make your stay relaxed and special. I just want to go back ASAP. We also did a half day cooking course at the hotel which was really good fun.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Heaven in Marrakech... Best part of our trip. Thanks a lot for all the details and great service. Beautiful property with lot of details. Do not hesitate to stay at Riad Kniza if you really want to experience Marrakech lifestyle.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This Riad is an Oasis of peace, tranquility and top class service amidst the hustle and bustle of Marrakech . The Service is superb , every member of the staff is charming, attentive and can't do enough to make your stay as delightful as possible . Everything is provided with a smile . The food was excellent and the rooms extremely comfortable . We cannot praise or recommend this Riad highly enough . Location is perfect, situated within the Medina and walking distance to the main square and the souks. Transfers to and from the airport included and the staff will book any additional restaurants, trips , guides for you .. And always with a smile . Absolutely superb

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at raid Kniza for three nights in the autumn of 2013. Our room was clean and the service was very good but, after staying in other riads in Marrakesh and Essouria and the Atlas Mountains, there was nothing about Kniza that touched me.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.