We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service, service, service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza

Save Saved
You added Riad Kniza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Kniza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1 FREE Night
Ranked #13 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Lisbon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Service, service, service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Before I begin the praise, let me start with a warning. The taxi drivers the Riad sends to pick you up do not work for the hotel. Ours was not warm and fuzzy, and didn't speak any English. Also, his car didn't have working air conditioner. When we arrived at the gate to the Medina, our envoy from the hotel was a bit late and we waited for a while in the hot car with no explanation. Then, once he arrived, he was attacked by a guy on the street who wanted to carry our bags. Yelling, screaming, and almost a physical fight. This was our welcome to Marrakech and it was discomfiting.

Then we got to the Riad. Welcomed by warm smiling faces who made us feel right at home. The place is absolutely amazing. Beautiful rooms, wonderful pool, relaxing rooftop patio, and unmatched personalized service.

I can't compare it to anything else in Marrakech, but it was really quite wonderful.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    927
    50
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
140
581
14
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I just returned from a two night stay June 25 and 26 and found this Riad to be exceptional in ever way. This was the end of our 11 day tour and by far the nicest Riad or Hotel that we stayed in. Exceptional room (Sultan Room) on the first floor. Beautifully decorated interior and wonderful terrace upstairs where we took breakfast in the morning overlooking the Marrakesh Medina. Although we didn't use it the spa looked wonderful and the indoor pool was lavish and clean.
Staff could not do enough to make you feel welcome.
Food was excellent.
Nice location inside the Medina but easy to find and within walking distance to the city market square.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is perhaps the best small hotel in the world. Why? So many beautiful hotels...so many good ones....why is this one better? BECAUSE THIS ONE DOESN'T NICKLE AND DIME YOU! This one makes you feel like you're at the mansion of a close friend.

Every hotel claims that they do this, but only Riad Kniza has accomplished it for me. They do it by charging one price, high end but reasonable for what you get, and then taking care of you. If you're thirsty, they give you a soft drink. There's no $3 charge for your soda. You pay for liquor of course.
My husband got stuck between meals one day; They sent up some lovely bread and olives. No ridiculous charge appeared on our bill. It was done out of TRUE HOSPITALITY. This is, after all, "the hospitality industry". The place is gorgeous, the restaurant is one of the best in Morocco, but it's all about hospitality.
Do you know what we did with all the soda money they saved us....we gave it to the hotel in the form of tips to their wonderful staff, at the end of our stay. And we loved the quiet little ladies who took our clothes and brought them back washed. It was a pleasure to tip them too. Usually I resent all the tipping, so this really means something coming from me.
I've been meaning to write this review for a while now, so I hope it's still relevant. If it is, then choose Riad Kniza and never look back. You have chosen well.

Room Tip: Large suite is worth every penny, but there are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a gorgeous place! And with excellent service to go with it, it doesn't get any better. Lovely large rooms, large bathrooms and extra conveniences like plush bathrobes. A beautiful terrace where we were served breakfast. They want you to think of the place as your home so you can have breakfast any time you want - 6am or 1pm. All they need is 10 minutes notice! And you get complimentary tea - Moroccan mint or any type you choose - and coffee at any time of the day. The overall service was amazing! It's a 5 minute walk from Bab Doukala (Gate Doukala) in the Medina, which is a 5 minute taxi ride from Guilez, the New town. The main square Djema el Fnaa is a 15-20 minute walk from the Riad. Overall - highly recommended!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Riad Kniza was little slice of heaven. Stylish, tranquil, luxurious. A warm welcome with a glass of mint tea and a rose petal strewn room. The staff could not have been more freindly or more helpful. The rooms were pretty and well decorated in traditional Moroccan style.
Dinner on the terrace was a wonderful experience. The food was excellent, the ambiance special and the service discrete and hospitable.
I highly recommend that you take advantage of the massage. The massuse has magic hands.
I would come back here again, and again and again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I've just returned from a 4 night stay at Riad Kniza and would wholehearted recommend it to anyone as an oasis of considerate, friendly and expert service. The place itself is beautiful but made more so by the kind of attention and care they have to offer their guests. I can't imagine anyone would regret a stay there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have just returned from 4 nights at the Riad Kniza. The building has been carefully restored and modernised to suit western travellers. Staff were really great and looked after our every need. Breakfast, dinner of just a drink on the roof top terrace, took you into a quiet world, far away from the hustle and bustle and filth of the Medina streets. Our suite was beautiful with a sitting area and table, the staff kept the whole place spotlessly clean which is amazing given the amount of dust and sand flying about.The location is great as you can walk everywhere in the Medina, provided you don't get lost.... The Riad may seem expensive by Marrakech standards, but airport transfers, breakfast and a massage were included, drinks and food were reasonable, overall it was good value !

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#5 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.