We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sanctuary in the middle of Bedlum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza

Save Saved
You added Riad Kniza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Kniza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1 FREE Night
Ranked #13 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Sanctuary in the middle of Bedlum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have just returned from 4 nights at the Riad Kniza. The building has been carefully restored and modernised to suit western travellers. Staff were really great and looked after our every need. Breakfast, dinner of just a drink on the roof top terrace, took you into a quiet world, far away from the hustle and bustle and filth of the Medina streets. Our suite was beautiful with a sitting area and table, the staff kept the whole place spotlessly clean which is amazing given the amount of dust and sand flying about.The location is great as you can walk everywhere in the Medina, provided you don't get lost.... The Riad may seem expensive by Marrakech standards, but airport transfers, breakfast and a massage were included, drinks and food were reasonable, overall it was good value !

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    927
    50
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
140
581
14
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Staff couldn't be more helpful (Thank you Amear & Monear). Excellent food (freshly cooked upon request) - loads better than more expensive restaurants we tried nearby. Lovely surroundings. So pleased with stayed here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I chose to stay at Riad Kniza for the first night of our trip, after reading many positive comments and recommendations of this Riad. And this Riad, is one of the most friendly hotel i have ever been. The staffs are extremely helpful and nice, compared to the people in Medina, who normally give tourists some weird looks.

Three reasons to stay here:

1. Beautiful suites 2. food is surprisingly good and cheap 3. friendly staff

The only reason that people might not stay in Riad Kniza would be the price and the environment outside the hotel. Since hotels in Marrakesh are quite cheap, 200 euros per night would be seen as quite expensive compare to a wide range of choices. But i can assure you that, the stay worths every penny. Also, it is quite dodgy out the hotel, where both fresh meat and other stuff are sold and is quite unhygienic. This environment outside the hotel makes this raid even better, because you feel like entering into a paradise after hopping around inside medina.

more about Riad kniza at http://www.thelaughingshooter.com/stay-marrakesh-morocco-riad-kniza/

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Our experience at the Riad Kniza (30 May - 4 June, 2014) inside the medina was AMAZING! If you are looking for a more authentic and intimate Moroccan experience (adventure) we highly recommend it over a more westernized hotel in the "new city". You get more cultural experience and save the need to taxi it everywhere.

The building itself is a beautiful historic structure with equally breathtaking, traditional architecture. The hotel décor is very warm and inviting, and full of Moroccan antiques. We especially loved the daily fresh rose petals arranged in the center fountain of the hotel, and across our room at check in. From the moment we set foot on the property until the moment we left, the staff was extremely friendly and attentive to our every need always addressing us by name. I sensed a genuine sincerity to ensure we had a wonderful, overall experience. Even the owner who has obviously rubbed elbows with celebrities from around the world is commonly seen on the property and regularly chatted with guests.

Riad Kniza has its own restaurant with culinary quality sure to wow even the person with the most discriminatory palate. The meals are typical Moroccan staples and very delicious, so bring a hearty appetite. We recommend you try the tagine, Moroccan bread, fresh squeezed orange juice, mint tea, and Couscous, but all dishes we had were of excellent quality. You can either dine in the restaurant, in your room, or on the roof terrace which has breathtaking views of the city, including an occasional passing stork, and great views of the Atlas mountains in the distance. The hotel also has a beautiful pool and spa area. We highly recommend the Hammam bath with massage! Very affordable and very pampering!

The locale of the Riad is perfect! It sits in the medina "holy city" so you get real cultural immersion. Here you can hear the sounds of typical Moroccan day-to-day life, children playing, and even the daily prayers conveyed over loud speaker from the nearby mosques. Just steps outside the Riad door are the markets where you can by the freshest, spices, fruits, veggies and meats! You can also buy fresh teas, olive and argan oils, pottery, beautiful fabrics & leathers, and pretty much everything else under the sun at the nearby souks. The freshness of it all, the bartering for price, the interesting mix of English/Arab/French languages spoken, the masses of the people, and volume of passing motorbikes and horse/donkey drawn carriages can all be a bit intimidating at first but it’s all part of the experience. If you prefer to dine outside the hotel, you’ll find a good selection of restaurants nearby, and the famous Jemaa El Fna square is only a 10-15 minute walk away, where you can shop, dine, watch the shows including snake charmers. If you decide to leave the Medina, it’s also very easy to walk a few steps in the opposite direction and hit the new city.

So, if you are looking for an intimate and authentic Moroccan experience where you can feel safe, well catered to with wonderful amenities and staff at your service, and a host of sight-seeing options just steps away from your doorstep, we'd highly recommend the Riad Kniza!

Room Tip: We cant speak to all the rooms, but our room (#7) was excellent & very comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Had our honeymoon there. As you walk in the door, it's as if your walking in a piece of heaven with the hotel manager greeting you and offering tea and local pastries. The kitchen has no menu, so ask for various Moroccan specialties and make your pick, even if something that you heard about in the market (souk). The breakfasts are a king and queen's feast and will be served to you wherever you wish in the hotel. Get some time by the pool during the day as the events and life of Marrakech rises as night falls. When we were there, even if the hotel was full, you had the feeling as if you were the only guests. Impeccable service, staff, food and unlimited non-alcoholic beverages!!! Devour as much orange juice as you can because it is the best in the world and feel free to ask for water bottles (no cost)... You'll very much need many. The hotel was a little hard to find as it was inside the Medina if you travel by car, but the staff readily came and helped from the street to the door. And now that you have my review, you know what to expect. Definitely recommended a thousand and one times over!!!!

Room Tip: They are all amazing: just like travelling into the Arabian Nights storybook!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

Like so many other reviewers, we had a wonderful stay at Riad Kniza. We arrived with high expectations and were never disappointed. We were warmly greeted by the owner and well looked after by attentive staff. Our suite was split over 2 floors, with sitting room + cloakroom downstairs and bedroom (with very comfortable bed) + good sized shower room upstairs, all beautifully furnished. We loved having breakfast on the roof terrace and relaxing in the small but delightful pool after tiring days sightseeing. We only had dinner there one evening, but the food was excellent and very good value.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

From the pre arrival emails with Walid, to the timely and warm airport welcome, the greeting at the city gate and then the mint tea and rosebuds everywhere welcome in a stunning building with incredible silver work, carved ceilings, amazing lighting, cools inner courtyards with fountains full of rosebuds, breakfast on the rooftop overlooking the city and the attending to our every need- even before we knew we had it- this was the most wonderful place we have ever stayed- and we have traveled the world. Riad Kniza was soft spoken, gracious, and everything they arranged was first class, including the trips through the country the stay in the desert. We enjoyed free massages, free guides, unlimited beverages, lute music in the courtyard,fresh fruit and dates, and being in the thick of life in the souk yet feeling like in an oasis. Magnificent- we are coming back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#5 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.