We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moroccan Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Kniza to your Saves list
Riad Kniza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
€30 meal credit
Ranked #14 of 481 Hotels in Marrakech
Park City, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Moroccan Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

With over 600 riads in Marrakech, only three are owned by Moroccans, and Riad Kniza is one of them. It is a family-owned and operated inn that is conveniently located. Mohammed and his wife Najat walk gently and you hardly know they are there. He is front of the house managing staff and service, and she is back of the house preparing the delicious cuisine. Hannan, the manager, is calm, most helpful and kind. Ask Amina to give you a cooking lesson in the traditional dishes, like tagine, couscous, and various vegetable salads. The inn is impeccably maintained and scrupulously clean. The attention to detail is impressive. Ask for Abdou Arrahal as a private day guide, you will delight in his knowledge and kind personality.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,048
    59
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
161
676
15
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

What makes this Riad stand out from, say, Le Maison d'Arabe, is that this Riad feels like you are staying in a home with your own staff and that you have the whole place to yourself, It is beautifully decorated throughout.

We stayed in the Yakout Suite which was lovely - there were rose petals scattered throughout on arrival, fresh fruit and water each day and the room was made up twice a day. The bed was very comfortable and there were plenty of thick towels, robes and toiletries.

The Riad transferred us to and from the hotel, which I would strongly recommend as all Riads in the Medina are difficult to find initially.

They were happy to make us a meal when we arrived in late at night - absolutely no trouble at all. On our day of departure, we wanted an early dinner and again it wasnt a problem - we were just asked what we would like to eat and it was made from fresh ingredients, arriving at exactly the time we asked for it. The meals are Morrocan and very tasty.

Breakfast is a lovely presentation of yoghurt, cereal, a little cheese, egg, a mix of crepes, bread and cake, fresh orange juice and tea/coffee. We had ours on the roof terrace each morning and, despite being fully booked, we always had the terrace to ourselves.

The spa is very small - one treatment room for massage. There is an Hammam and this is chargeable. The pool is a good size and seemed to be empty whenever we passed by.

Reception were particularly helpful - always on hand to make arrangements for us. Nothing was too much trouble. They organised a very well informed and articulate guide for the Souks which was free of charge. Obviously you will be taken to shops where the guide gets a fee for your visit but you don't have to buy, you do see some interesting things that you wouldn't see otherwise and it does cut down on the hassle factor. But do watch out at the Herbe shop (or pharmacy) - we were taken into a room and left by the guide where we stupidly bought a few pots of worthless creams out of politeness, that turned out to be ridiculously expensive when we came to pay. The alternative is tell the guide right at the outset that you don't want to do the Souks and to be taken places like the Tanneries and the metal workshops where tourists are less likely to wander.

There isn't a bar but wine is served with dinner and we were able to get G&T's for a night cap when we came in late one night.

All in all, this is a wonderful Riad to stay in and the service is second to none. I can see why it is consistenly top of the TripAdvisor list.

What I would say is that we booked through Hotels.com. However, the Riad had a much better deal on their website which included a massage, a dinner, the guide etc.included for the same period. So do contact the Riad directly as they may well be able to offer you some extras.

Room Tip: The cheaper and possibly better restaurants are outside the Medina - a short and cheap taxi ride awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

This hotel offers everything a guest can possibly hope for; wonderful building, courteous and efficient service and total peace and serenity. I cannot recommend it highly enough. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and the place is absolutely spotless.
It is difficult to believe that such a peaceful haven lies amidst the total chaos, and bustle of the alleyways of the souks.

Upon arrival, we were met by the hotel 's driver at the airport,as arranged, and transferred to the gateway near the hotel as cars are not allowed within the City walls. A porter took our luggage to the hotel where we were met by the hotel manager and a mint tea. Very welcoming!

Our room was delightful. Very traditional. Well appointed. Beautiful.

The hotel arranged a walking tour the following morning with a guide to provide us with some interesting info and help us get our bearings. The Souks can be an intimidating place initially and it was reassuring to have a local with us.

Unfortunately we were taken to 3 shops by the guide so be prepared to say ,"No" if you do not want to buy. We found this slightly annoying, although the tour in general was enjoyable.

We also went on a tour of the Atlas Mountains, again organised by the hotel. We had our own driver for the day and were advised that we could go on a gentle hike in the mountains if we wanted. The gentle hike was more strenuous than we thought, involving some scrambling up rocks and it was lucky that our footwear was appropriate.

We were met by a walking guide in the mountains which we assumed was included in the price of the tour, which cost us 90 euros, paid to the driver.

The walking guide advised us at the end of the hike that his personal cost was 200 dirhams. We felt that this should have been made clear to us at the outset, so be prepared to pay extra if you do the Atlas Mountain hike.

The advantage of staying in the Riad Kniza is that you are staying in the medina and experiencing traditional Marrakech. Some might say that the medina's people live in squalor but we found that the area and it's people had a certain charm. Expect your senses to be pummelled with the sights, sounds and smells of the medina. It was very interesting to see the different culture and how life is lived by the locals.

We did not feel under threat whilst in the medina even at night despite the apparent poverty.

Not all is pleasant however and if you are an animal lover you may be upset by the manner in which animals are treated. Animals seem to be treated with less respect than we are used to.

You need to be vigilant in the souks as there is a constant stream of scooters, mules and motor bikes bring driven through the narrow lanes of the souks with little regard for those on foot. We saw numerous near misses but remarkably, no accidents! More by luck than judgement!

Go to the Riad Kniza and enjoy the experience. I doubt you will find a better hotel as this is exactly how all hotels should be run, but very few will reach these standards.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Step from the mayhem of the Medina into the delightful tranquility of a superbly family run operation. Attention to detail is paramount with Mohamed and his son Kamil on hand at all times to ensure every guest receives the highest level of service. Their quick response and replies to our initial queries before booking, arranging our pick up from the airport, the warmth of welcome on arriving along with the welcome drink and nibbles to the clear guided tour of the hotel ( the roof garden is great for breakfast). The rooms are beautiful, the breakfast plentiful and appetising, the evening Moroccan 5 course dinner is a must and the orange juice ( or other drink) quickly provided on returning to the hotel after a hot day are all highly commenable.

Room Tip: Room Johara, well laid out and furnished with small seating area, large kingsize and very comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Can you say WOW! You walk down this little alley down from a main street of the Souk and behind this big wooden door is a little bit of heaven. Incredible building (actually a couple of buildings that are joined) beautiful courtyard with a fountain filled with rose petals open to the sky. Pool in its own courtyard open to the sky. A roof terrace to die for, beautiful tented lounging couches and tables filled with plants. The staff treats you like you are the owner of the place and your every request is looked after attentively. Even the owner Mr. Mohammed makes you feel like the place is yours while you are there. Marrakech is the gem of Morocco and this Riad is the gem of Marrakech.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We booked our break back in January, and stayed in the Bahia Suite for 4 nights at the beginning of May, We have to say that this Riad is truly excellent. The personalised service is superb, a great example of a family owned Riad. The location in the Food Souk is just fantastic, and the Riad is an oasis of calm in the frenetic (but friendly) day to day life in Marakech.
All the staff were very friendly, and in the time we were here we felt as if the Riad was our own personal hotel, we hardly met any of the other residents (despite the Riad being fully booked).
Our suite was exceptional (with maybe too many lights and light switches!!) and was a very relaxing place to celebrate a significant birthday.
As we took advantage of the special package for the suite, we had day trips, massages and a lovely meal cooked personally for us.
wIth it's location in the Medina, this is a perfect place to stay. We will be back!!!!!

Room Tip: Recommend the suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

This is a classic Riad , family owned and with an atmosphere of quiet calm and wonderful service.
Located in the heart of the old city walls you enter through a discreet doorway into a traditional Morrocan riad ,centred around a central courtyard.
Service is best described as immaculate, attentive and totally relaxed.
The rooms are beautifully decorated, spacious and well kept.
On the roof is the delightful terrace , with either shelter from the sun or quiet corners with sun beds to relax on if you need the rays.
We stayed full board , breakfast on the terrace- marvellous . With a light green salad for lunch.
Evening meals we limited ourselves to main course only , and as veggies I would say the choices were limited , and which ever meal you have you will need to like the local staple bread, which supports every meal.
The meals were served in a very light touch style with the usual odd mixtures the Moroccans tend to like- but the restaurant and service were never less than excellent.
Such a contrast to the hustle a bustle just outside the doors , it is a classic style and you get the attention of the family owner , checking on your welfare.
Small pool , try the massages.

Room Tip: Ring ahead when you arrive in Marrakech - you cannot get your car or taxi to the Kniza- its in the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#6 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,332 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#4 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 669 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#2 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,068 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#27 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 767 reviews
1.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
#64 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#31 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.