We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant and beautiful ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Kniza to your Saves list
Riad Kniza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Inclusions
Ranked #12 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant and beautiful ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

4 nights stayed - very accommodating and lovely staff, great service, do take up their offer of a free guide for a tour of the media (superb), great location - just inside a gate so great to taxi and 10mins to souks and 15min stroll into square . Great pool - amazing breakfast.

Stay there!!





Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    987
    54
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
149
629
15
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
belfast
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We had a wonderful 4 day break at Riad Knizna over Easter. We stayed in the Bahia suite which was stunning and perfect for a family of four. The hotel is beautiful with ornate carvings, stunning tile work and leafy courtyards and a delightful roof top terrace. Staff are friendly but not obtrusive. We opted for the package which included a driver for the day for a trip to the atlas mountains, a city walking tour and a four course dinner and massages for all- really excellent quality and value. Our driver, Abdul, was excellent and went out of his way for us. The food at Riad Kniza was superb - one night we decided to have 'room service'- even then our table was set up festooned with rose petals and lovely crockery. We had private dining on the roof terrace one night and again the service and food was superb. By far the best food we ate was at the road.
We looked at about ten 5 star roads before selecting Kniza and we are pleased with our choice and would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Down a little back street of the old town we had to be guided by a local from our taxi to the front door. From the moment we walked in the service was impeccable and we were made to feel at home. It is run by a family whose attention to detail could not be replicated the riad was mesmerising. The 5 course meal was the best we had in Marrakech and a truly special experience.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

In common with most other reviewers I cannot speak too highly of Riad Kniza. I and my wife accompanied by our 2 late teen children spent 2 nights in the Bahia suite and a junior suite respectively in early April. Both were lovely rooms - the Bahia particularly, very spacious, well appointed and quiet.
The email communication prior to our visit was exemplary - every query\admin point answered quickly and efficiently.
Our arrival from airport to riad was handled very smoothly with a welcoming round of pastries and mint tea. Unexpectedly, the Riad owner offered to escort us on a (free) walking tour of the Medina and Ville Nouvelle (we also took a caleche) and it was excellent - we spent 2 and a half hours seeing many of the key sights with expert commentary and observations - really illuminating. Having a local to quietly dispose of the more insistent offers to sell us stuff was great although I have to say more generally we never felt hassled in the souks even when unaccompanied - a few words of Arabic go a long way to assist in this.
We had had a long day and it was very hot in the medina so we decided to eat in at the kniza which proved to be a good choice as dinner was taken on the roof terrace and the food excellent. Service was attentive throughout.
The pool and sauna were earlier used by my daughter and wife and was another nice extra to have available.
After a big lunch in Marrakech the following day we again ate dinner in and we simply selected which course what we wanted without any problem.
I've been fortunate to stay in some of the world's best hotels in my time and i have to say the Kniza knocks many of them into a cocked hat. Without exception everyone was helpful, courteous and efficient and having only 11 rooms one felt it was still someone's well loved home. The riad itself is an oasis of calm in amid the bustle of the Medina - very smart and well maintained. I shall be returning and I won't bother to look elsewhere.
If you want a very comfortable base for exploring Marrakech this is the place (it is also worth noting that it is on hand for all the main sights being well located between the old and new Marrakech).
We were fortunate to be moving on to Richard Branson's Kasbah Tamadot for a friend's birthday bash and I can also recommend that highly too. The mix of Marrakech and the cooler, tranquil Atlas mountains made for a really well balanced visit to Morocco. Hope the above is of help to those planning a visit.

Room Tip: Splash out and go for the Bahia if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

we just came back from Marrakech, and i had to write this review. We had the most wonderful stay at riad kniza. The people, the surroundings, the beauty of the place are not to be believed. The rooms are gorgeous, we had a pleasure of staying in two different rooms, and they were both very nice, and beautifully decorated. The location is most convenient, you are a walking distance to the medina, and the new city. Of course the best part of the riad are the people who work there. Every one of them is there to help and to make your stay as comfortable and pleasurable as possible. The best place to stay in Marrakech hands down.
Thank you, riad kniza for such a memorable stay

Room Tip: all rooms are very nice and comfortable, we stayed in room # 10, and room #8, both are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, Hampshire
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

I can only fully endorse the positive reviews that have already been written. The service,attention to detail,comfort,ambiance,and facilities are all excellent.
However room 7 is affected by outside noise,so avoid if you are light sleepers.
ALSO,THINK CAREFULLY ABOUT WHY YOU ARE VISITING MARRAKECH - IT ISN'T PLEASANT

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Well, how do you write a review after reading all the other previous ones. I can only confirm how lovely a Riad this is. The ambience and beauty of the hotel was superb. The staff were most helpful and friendly, and nothing was too much trouble. The meals were served at our own convenience, no set times, and the food was very good also.
It was amazing to leave the noise and hustle and bustle of the Medina to enter this world of peace and tranquillity. Even on the roof terrace it was peaceful.
The décor of the Riad is beautiful, with lovely paintings and furnishings, many of which are antiques I`m sure.
Thank you all at Riad Kniza for giving us such a lovely stay. We would not hesitate to return and we strongly recommend you.

Room Tip: They are all lovely.........some obviously bigger and more expensive than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#8 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.