We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Kniza to your Saves list
Riad Kniza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Inclusions
Ranked #10 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

In common with most other reviewers I cannot speak too highly of Riad Kniza. I and my wife accompanied by our 2 late teen children spent 2 nights in the Bahia suite and a junior suite respectively in early April. Both were lovely rooms - the Bahia particularly, very spacious, well appointed and quiet.
The email communication prior to our visit was exemplary - every query\admin point answered quickly and efficiently.
Our arrival from airport to riad was handled very smoothly with a welcoming round of pastries and mint tea. Unexpectedly, the Riad owner offered to escort us on a (free) walking tour of the Medina and Ville Nouvelle (we also took a caleche) and it was excellent - we spent 2 and a half hours seeing many of the key sights with expert commentary and observations - really illuminating. Having a local to quietly dispose of the more insistent offers to sell us stuff was great although I have to say more generally we never felt hassled in the souks even when unaccompanied - a few words of Arabic go a long way to assist in this.
We had had a long day and it was very hot in the medina so we decided to eat in at the kniza which proved to be a good choice as dinner was taken on the roof terrace and the food excellent. Service was attentive throughout.
The pool and sauna were earlier used by my daughter and wife and was another nice extra to have available.
After a big lunch in Marrakech the following day we again ate dinner in and we simply selected which course what we wanted without any problem.
I've been fortunate to stay in some of the world's best hotels in my time and i have to say the Kniza knocks many of them into a cocked hat. Without exception everyone was helpful, courteous and efficient and having only 11 rooms one felt it was still someone's well loved home. The riad itself is an oasis of calm in amid the bustle of the Medina - very smart and well maintained. I shall be returning and I won't bother to look elsewhere.
If you want a very comfortable base for exploring Marrakech this is the place (it is also worth noting that it is on hand for all the main sights being well located between the old and new Marrakech).
We were fortunate to be moving on to Richard Branson's Kasbah Tamadot for a friend's birthday bash and I can also recommend that highly too. The mix of Marrakech and the cooler, tranquil Atlas mountains made for a really well balanced visit to Morocco. Hope the above is of help to those planning a visit.

Room Tip: Splash out and go for the Bahia if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    987
    54
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
149
629
15
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

we just came back from Marrakech, and i had to write this review. We had the most wonderful stay at riad kniza. The people, the surroundings, the beauty of the place are not to be believed. The rooms are gorgeous, we had a pleasure of staying in two different rooms, and they were both very nice, and beautifully decorated. The location is most convenient, you are a walking distance to the medina, and the new city. Of course the best part of the riad are the people who work there. Every one of them is there to help and to make your stay as comfortable and pleasurable as possible. The best place to stay in Marrakech hands down.
Thank you, riad kniza for such a memorable stay

Room Tip: all rooms are very nice and comfortable, we stayed in room # 10, and room #8, both are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, Hampshire
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

I can only fully endorse the positive reviews that have already been written. The service,attention to detail,comfort,ambiance,and facilities are all excellent.
However room 7 is affected by outside noise,so avoid if you are light sleepers.
ALSO,THINK CAREFULLY ABOUT WHY YOU ARE VISITING MARRAKECH - IT ISN'T PLEASANT

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Well, how do you write a review after reading all the other previous ones. I can only confirm how lovely a Riad this is. The ambience and beauty of the hotel was superb. The staff were most helpful and friendly, and nothing was too much trouble. The meals were served at our own convenience, no set times, and the food was very good also.
It was amazing to leave the noise and hustle and bustle of the Medina to enter this world of peace and tranquillity. Even on the roof terrace it was peaceful.
The décor of the Riad is beautiful, with lovely paintings and furnishings, many of which are antiques I`m sure.
Thank you all at Riad Kniza for giving us such a lovely stay. We would not hesitate to return and we strongly recommend you.

Room Tip: They are all lovely.........some obviously bigger and more expensive than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I have been there for 3 nights in March. Riad Kniza was the highlight of our stay. The service is unique very personalised and luxurious. My wife and I felt like being the unique guests in the Riad. The food was also amazing, tasting the best Moroccan dishes. I highly recommend Riad Kniza for couples looking for a good rest in the heart of the medina with easy access.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

You feel like you are staying in a private palace from the moment you arrive. They welcome you in one of their gorgeous sitting rooms, with an ample serving of local pastries, and, of course, mint tea. You meander through the courtyards to your room. We stayed in the King Bahai suite and were blown away. It is not to be believed. We were a family of four (parents, a teen and a tween). The suite was enormous and spectacularly beautiful.

The owner and staff are very gracious. Breakfast is phenomenal: delicious food, beautifully presented.

The most incredible is the contrast between the chaos outside and the tranquility inside. This is a perfect place to stay while visiting Marrakech.

Room Tip: The King Bahai suite is mind-blowing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

What not to love about Riad Kniza! The building is just beautiful with a stunning courtyard, lovely pool and a particularly nice roof terrace and the staff are all wonderfully helpful and friendly from the cleaners to Walid on reception. Our room (no 5) was beautiful - with romantic drapes over the bed and sofa/cushions to lounge on. We had dinner there on the first night and it was delicious - though you are strongly advised to go hungry and take it easy on the early courses! The location is perfect and I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone visiting Marrakech.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#2 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.