We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Riad Kniza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Kniza to your Saves list
Riad Kniza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Inclusions
Ranked #10 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful Riad Kniza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2008

My wife and I have just returned from a 4 night stay at Riad Kniza and would recommend this Riad wholeheartedly.

Our transfer was waiting for us at the airport and we were warmly welcomed on arrival and shown around the property by Kamal, before taking our (first of many) mint tea on the roof terrace.

Having read the positive reviews on this site, and chosen our room (Suite Kenza) via their own website, everything was as good or better than we expected.

All the staff without exception were friendly, very helpful and charming throughout our stay.

Our comlimentary tour of the medina on our first morning was very useful and our guide very knowledgable and good company. A useful orientation of the Souks etc before you go exploring yourself.

We used the new Spa at the Riad and enjoyed an invigorating Hamman - highly recommended.

We dined at the Riad mid afternoon (on the roof terrace) and every dish we tried was freshly prepared and very tasty. Breakfast in our room was also very good.

We dined at Cafe Arabe on our first night - relaxed and fashionable. We also ate in the square at Jamaa al-fna at a barbeque stand to take in the experience at night.

Reservations were made for us at Amanjena (and a transfer arranged for 300 dirham return and was 20 minutes) We had a lovely evening at this hotel and would recommend it if you enjoy fine dining.

We also dined at Dar Moha, a short walk from Riad Kniza. Very friendly staff, enjoyable tasting menu and traditional music by the courtyard pool.

Riad Kniza deserves all the positive reviews because you feel so welcome, the property is immaculate, the location is ideal (a completely different world just outside the alleyway) and it is so tranquil.

Marrakech is a great city, with so much to to interest travellers, and we could not fault Riad Kniza as a perfect place to explore it from.

  • Liked — Service and Location
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    985
    54
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
149
627
15
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2008

an amazing place to stay, the staff were all extremly freindly and would do anything to make your stay comfortable in our case arranged food to accomodate special requirments, we too got upgraded to a larger room at no extra cost .The riad has been beautifully refurbished recently and was extremly roomy with plenty areas of privacy, the pool seemed to be always empty unless we were in it and the hammam is somthing t experiance, great location, overall a fantastic place i would recommend to everyone

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester Essex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2008

I was treating my daughter to four nights in Marrakesh as an early 21st birthday present before she returned to university. We had read the rave reviews about this Riad and did not want to stay anywhere else. It was exactly as previously described; we were upgraded to a more expensive suite at no extra charge, we had a plentiful supply of water and English tea at no extra charge and as soon as you asked for something you got it. All staff were extremely obliging and nothing was too much trouble. We could not have been treated any better if we were Royalty and on one occasion when we had booked a table at Da Moha, a member of staff escorted us there on foot and offered to escort us home. I would recommend a hammam and massage if you have time. The meals we had at the riad were excellent; there was always plenty to eat and we both put on a few pounds. If I return to Marrakesh, I will definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2008

Just wonderful, wonderful, wonderful!! Me and my husband just got back from spending a week at the Riad Kniza for our anniversary. I found it after searching on TripAdvisor for a hotel that was luxury, but not twee, with a decent size pool and not to far from the market square. This riad ticked all the boxes and more. We stayed in the Samar suite, which was very comfortable, a decent size and looking out over the central courtyard.

As it was so hot in Marrakesh, the hotel was hardly full therefore we rarely ever saw anyone else and it just felt like the place was all ours.

The staff were really friendly, attentive and not intrusive at all especially little mohammed who was so wonderful.

Its not worth stayng here unless you have at least one meal here as it may be the one of the best ones you'll have; chicken with lemon and olive tagines, an erray of salads, and desserts if you can fit them in..... YUM!

Because its in the old Medina, you can get a taxi that should cost you about 10 dihrams to the market square ( we got ripped off the first few times paying 30 dihrams) but its about 10 minutes walk if you dont mind looking out for the cars, bikes, carts, donkeys, horses and people going in their own direction, the more lost you get the more intriguing the little shops get! We also found the Lonely Planet guide really true to word on all the places they recommended.

Overall, Riad Kniza will definately our home from home in Marrakech.

  • Liked — It was so peaceful in the riad, you could be anywhere in the world
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOSSEND
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

Hi spent one week in this most relaxing hotel i have ever been in i cannot praise the staff enough from moment we arrived we where made more than welcome and nothing is too much trouble from when or where you want meal,s served to bringing you cold drink,s anywhere in riad on rooftop garden to poolside they are discreetly attentive this is definitely luxury they also arranged trips for us atlas mountains ,camel ride , guided tour of souk,s etc .A few tip,s good comfy shoes and take taxi to the square etc a small cost but worth it would love to return to riad kniza a little piece of heaven.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

We have just returned from a four day break in Marrakech, the Riad Kniza in which we stayed was absolutely gorgeous!! The beautiful moroccan style suite! the food! the hammam! the location! from the bustle of the medina to a little heaven on earth!! The owner Kamal, Samira and all the staff there provided a first class service, so polite and attentive, nothing was too much trouble. it was my partners special birthday and we had a very romantic dinner on the rooftop terrace with moroccan music playing in the background truly memorable!!

We visited the Atlas Mountains, where we did a bit of horse riding (you had to be an experieced horse rider, which we did not realise and were not!!) but none the less the guys there were tremendous for us first timers!! , we also visited ourika valley, which was extremely pretty, there is 7 waterfalls, we only managed the mile long climb up the mountains to the first one!!
(my legs says it was longer than a mile!!) we had a tremendous driver called "Sam" short for.........i cant remember!! Who was very helpful. these excursions were all arranged by Kamal and Samira at the Kniza.

We also visited a lovely little antique shop which is owned by Kamal, and is run by his brother Yousif who was extremely polite and helpful i bought a lovely item for my home.

So if you are going to Marrakech stay at the Riad Kniza, you will think you are in heaven and treated like an angel!!

  • Liked — The sfist class service provided by the staff, the rooms etc are decorated in typical moroccan style which was beautiful.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2008

My mother and I had the ultimate pleaure of staying at Riad Kniza and we couldn't have chosen a better place. As two women vacationing together, we were escorted and treated like princesses during our stay at the Riad Kniza. The service and accomodations were impeccable - from the wonderfully attentive staff, to the devine cuisine, to the traditional Moroccan decor that radiates a humble elegance. We were honored to be in the company of the owner Mohammed, who became out guardian angel, spiritual mentor and cultural educator. The beautiful rooms, antique decor, and extreamly pleasant staff created such a serene ambiance that leaving was difficult for the both of us.

Kamal's attentiveness to details surprized my daughter with a birthday cake when he realized we were travelling on her birthday! What a guy!! After leaving Marrakech, my mother and I continued our trip in Cassablanca and no hotel accomdation was able to match the experience we had at Riad Kniza. I look forward to visiting Riad Kniza again and I'll be bringing along my friends and family!

  • Liked — The owners and staff and service.
  • Disliked — Cant think of anything!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.