We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic in the Medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza

Save Saved
You added Riad Kniza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Kniza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Magic in the Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed at the Riad Kniza in Mid Feb and had the most wonderful experience.

The Riad is well located and only a few steps away from the hussle and busle of the Souks but once you walked through the front door you entered another world of calm and tranquility.

All the staff were friendly and helpful and a special mention to Walid and Abdellah you helped make our stay a enjoyable one

We ate at the Riad on our first night and the food was amazing and would highly recommend eating there during your stay.

We booked a packaged that included a meal, a 30min massage, an escorted trip around the Souks, a day trip to the Atlas mountains and airport transfers. We thought the package was excellent value

You can have breakfast anywhere in the Riad but eating breakfast on the lovely roof top terrace was a great start to the day

The Riad was exquiste in Design and very traditional which we liked.

The owner was a lovely, kind and curteous man, and always had time to ask you how you were and how your day had been

I would highly recommend staying at the Riad Kniza when visiting Marrakech

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be of a very good standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    950
    50
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
146
596
15
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

There are so many things to say about Riad Kniza that I am not sure where to begin - I am actually writing is review before our departure (which I never do). We stayed with my mom and our two kids ages 5 and 9 in the Royal Bahia suite which is absolutely BEAUTIFUL!! The architecture, furnishing and lighting is breath taking and so incredible. We had fresh fruit and moroccan cookies daily which was such a nice treat. Each night we could hear the music on the floor below which was fantastic!

We ate breakfast on the roof deck that we loved and they helped us to plan our entire itinerary which included a tour of the medina with Mustafa (HE IS ABSOLUTELY AMAZING) and two day trips to Casablanca and Essaouira of which Mohammad drove us both days. His patience with our kids and attentiveness was second to none!!

The service is absolutely superb. From the owner who was warm and so hospitable, to the management who was friendly and accommodating, to the wait staff of which each of them were wonderful to the musicians -they are all truly a group of very special people.

They treated us and our kids like family. It is an experience we won't soon forget!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We have just returned from 2 nights at the Riad Kniza, a short stop over in Marrakech before going onto Essaouira and we wished we were staying longer! This is our third visit to Riad Kniza, the last time being 6 years ago so since then we noticed a few changes!
Wow, we didn't think it could get any better but it has! We ate in the restaurant on the first night and had some wonderful food accompanied by live traditional music, just what we need to start our holiday and relax. We also managed to find time to experience the hammam, which was great! The pool was very cold though! Breakfast on the terrace each morning in the sunshine, what could be better! Kamal and his team looked after us very well as usual, a great example of personal service! We can't wait to revisit ...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

My wife and I spent the three wonderful nights at the Riad Kniza in early February. As we had been expecting having read previous reviews, the moment we were met by a member of staff from the included airport collection and led through the streets of the Old City, to the moment we arrived at the hidden door down a quiet, unassuming street, we found ourselves stepping into another world compared to the surroundings outside!

The Riad Kniza is beautifully designed and tastefully decorated, with staff that simply cannot do enough for their guests! We were provided with anything we desired, including breakfast in the sunshine each morning on the roof terrace, to wine and skewers whilst watching the the sunset after a hectic day exploring. We also ate at the restaurant one evening, where the food was brilliant albeit plentiful to say the least! My wife did use the spa, which she enjoyed, but it was a little too cold to use the pool as I believe it is not heated.

It was only a safe and pleasant 15 minute walk to the Jemaa el-fns (dodging the scooters and motorcycles, something which one must be aware of all over the place); a bonus as you really feel like you are living with the locals rather than surrounded by the vast array of tourists. Highly recommended and no complaints whatsoever!

Room Tip: Try to enjoy breakfast on the roof terrace. Beautiful views across the city and of the snow capped A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We selected Riad Kniza for our 3 nights in Marrakech after careful research, but unfortunately we were double booked by a 3rd party booking site. Riad Kniza could not have been more efficient in recommending an alternative Riad for 2 nights and kindly welcoming us to Riad Kniza for our last night.

From our welcome drink to the chaperone to our taxi as we left, the staff and management could not have been more charming. They manage to achieve something special in my opinion, which is 5* hotel service, but delivered as if you are a personal guest in their home.

Our duplex suite was exquisitely comfortable, traditional but with all mod cons. The Riad adapts very well to both good and bad weather, When we arrived we sunbathed on the spacious roof terrace but when it rained later, we ate dinner in a cosy lounge with a roaring log fire.

Dinner was a traditional moroccan 5 course set meal but personalised with individual choice of main course. We drank Moroccan red wine with dinner selected by the waiter which was very good. Breakfast can be taken in your room, in one of the lounges or on the terrace and it is nice to have table service rather than the ubiquitous buffet. An excellent choice of breads, cakes pancakes, yogurt, cereals, jams were offered.

Sadly there was no time to enjoy the pool, hammam or massages, but I would recommend you do if you can.

Thank you to all the team for your kind hospitality and we hope to see you again for longer!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolding, Denmark
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

My wife and I stayed a full week two years ago at Riad Kniza for our Honeymoon. We went back this time for a dinner. I was so fantastic, the best maroocan food you will ever have in the best suroundings you can imagine. Kamal and his fantastic team treated us as royals as from we came to we left, and even took time to show us around in the Riad and the rooms we stayed in at our honeymoon. It was emotinal and created a fantastic feeling inside our minds. We will for sure be back both to stay and to dine, and cannot recommend Kniza highly enough. Outstanding, see you soon Again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Ouro first stop in Morocco, this gorgeous Riad has the best of Moroccan hospitality. The room was spacious, clean and beautifully decorated. The staff is carinho, polite and helpful all the time. Couldn't enjoy the spa because it was fully booked.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#8 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.