We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, lovely service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Kniza to your Saves list
Riad Kniza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #16 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Atlanta, Ga.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, lovely service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I stayed in Riad Kniza for 3 nights in a junior suite with large bedroom/sitting room including a fireplace and private bathroom. The riad has been decorated and restored with beautiful furnishings and antiques. The staff and manager are very friendly and eager to be helpful with excellent service, including lighting the fire and providing bottled water, snacks, and anything else we requested. The weather was unexpectedly cold but our room stayed warm with the fire and a good space heater, although the courtyards were a bit chilly. We ate at the hotel for breakfast and dinner, and the food was excellent - my compliments to the chef. The hotel has a small pool in one of the courtyards and lovely rooftop terrace that is a great place to relax and view the city. Overall, an excellent place to stay!

Room Tip: I stayed on the second floor and would be concerned on staying the main floor because of the possibl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,030
    59
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
157
665
13
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
119 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Riad Kniza is an extraordinary hotel found in the Medina of Marrakech. We arrived in the evening at the edge of the Souk. A five minute walk brought us to a narrow alley and Riad Kniza. When we entered we found ourselves in an other world.

Over 200 years old the Riad has been impeccably restored in a decor of understated elegance. Rooms are furnished with sofas lined with velvet pillows, beautiful draperies, carved wooden ceilings and doors, tile accented fireplaces, fountains filled with roses, Venetian plastered walls and everywhere wonderful Moroccan objets d'art. The Keniza Suite was our home while there, beautiful with a separate living area and fireplace. Fresh fruit everyday, thick Turkish towels and our bed and bath strewn with rose pedals.

What gives this property it's excellence is a combination of it's offerings; ambience, gourmand dining, but most importantly it's people. From the moment we arrived we were indulged as if we were the most important guests at the Riad by each member of the staff; our first cup of tea poured from arm's length by Mounir, our orientation with Walid whose help and humor brought a fast friendship, the friendly Hanane at the front recommended special shops and restaurants. The massage and Hamman by beautiful Saida is something not to be missed. Amina, a wisp of a girl-chef, who presides skillfully over the kitchen shared her culinary experience in a cooking class preparing lamb tagine with prunes and almonds, chicken tagine with preserved lemons, tomatoes with sugar and cinnamon...and delicious hand-made bread. And many more who's names I do not know. We were cared for by all as a much-loved member of the family.

In the Arabic world the first responsibility is family, the second is an overwhelming duty to hospitality. The hospitality of Haj Mohamed is well felt at Riad Kniza. His presence is everywhere as he has left no stone unturned in creating this haven of refinement and hospitality. He is a Prince of Hoteliers!

Last but not least, if you are interested in beautiful furnishings and carpets, consider visiting Galerie Al Badii owned by Mohamed's wife. We came home with a unique inlaid game table and chairs with camel bone and some wonderful carpets. Shipping was not all that expensive and we received in less than three weeks!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

There aren't words to describe our stay at the Riad Kniza unless it would be PERFECT. The entire staff were amazingly attentive and caring. The owners were welcoming and created an atmosphere that made you feel like you were family in their beautiful home. I see another review stating it was an "absolute luxury experience"...that it was but with a warm caring feel! The wonderful impression began before we even arrived, the speedy communication answering our many email questions allowed us to feel as though we knew them before we even arrived. The food is outstanding as well. No need to go anywhere else...all of your wishes, dreams, wants and desires will be met here! Thank you Mohammed for creating this masterpiece of hospitality!

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Riad Kniza for 2 nights - loved absolutely everything about it! We booked it very last minute for one night but the minute we got in the riad, we extended our trip there. The riad is absolutely gorgeous and so peaceful - away from the craziness of the medina. The service was one of the best we've ever had at a hotel stay. The staff was very courteous, always going out their way to make sure we were comfortable. The breakfast was delicious! Dinner even better! We loved the riad so much we ended up spending so much time just lazing around having tea or relaxing. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The Riad Kniza was an absolute luxury experience. It makes a phenomenal impression from the start: the lobby is stunning and resembles the traditional Moroccan palaces. Upon arrival, we were greeted with the traditional Moroccan mint tea. As an avid tea drinker, I was thrilled to find out that the tea and Moroccan cookies were offered anytime during our stay. It was little things like this that made our Riad Kniza experience special. The staff was extremely attentive and kind, and because the Riad is relatively small, the staff pays close attention to the needs of each guest. Our room was perhaps the most beautiful room I have ever stayed in--it had an intricately carved dome and was decorated like a traditional Moroccan bedroom. We ate breakfast and dinner at the Riad every night, and found the food to be both authentic and delicious. The location of Riad Kniza is very convenient, as it is a short walk to the main square while also being near a main road, which provided easy car access.

Overall, a wonderful experience that I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This riad is lovely...we enjoyed our stay very much. Every single person, from the owner to the maid, was friendly and charming....it's a real pleasure to be there. And the massage in the spa was excellent!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My husband and i have recently returned from travelling around Morocco for a couple of weeks. We started our holiday at Riad Kniza in Marrakech. We were delighted with our choice and felt very well looked after and relaxed for the entire duration of our stay. The Riad is stunning - it is spacious and opulent whilst feeling welcoming. It has a lovely pool and we also enjoyed a very relaxing massage while we were there. We dined there one evening, and although some of the authentic Moroccoan food was a little sweet for our liking, we did appreciate that it was indeed authentic and very high quality at that. We had an open fire in our room which was lit for us in the evenings at our request - bliss! Breakfast on the roof terrace was very pretty and chilled. The staff at the Riad were only too happy to help when we asked for a dinner our lunch recommendation - and such recommendations were perfect for what we were looking for - they clearly understand what their clientele are looking for. Overall, i would highly recommend and would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#8 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,312 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 659 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#1 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,048 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#29 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 756 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad El Mansour
Riad El Mansour
#112 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#30 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.