We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riad Kniza - Quintessential Model of Hospitality!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Kniza to your Saves list
Riad Kniza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Inclusions
Ranked #11 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Riad Kniza - Quintessential Model of Hospitality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Riad Kniza is an extraordinary hotel found in the Medina of Marrakech. We arrived in the evening at the edge of the Souk. A five minute walk brought us to a narrow alley and Riad Kniza. When we entered we found ourselves in an other world.

Over 200 years old the Riad has been impeccably restored in a decor of understated elegance. Rooms are furnished with sofas lined with velvet pillows, beautiful draperies, carved wooden ceilings and doors, tile accented fireplaces, fountains filled with roses, Venetian plastered walls and everywhere wonderful Moroccan objets d'art. The Keniza Suite was our home while there, beautiful with a separate living area and fireplace. Fresh fruit everyday, thick Turkish towels and our bed and bath strewn with rose pedals.

What gives this property it's excellence is a combination of it's offerings; ambience, gourmand dining, but most importantly it's people. From the moment we arrived we were indulged as if we were the most important guests at the Riad by each member of the staff; our first cup of tea poured from arm's length by Mounir, our orientation with Walid whose help and humor brought a fast friendship, the friendly Hanane at the front recommended special shops and restaurants. The massage and Hamman by beautiful Saida is something not to be missed. Amina, a wisp of a girl-chef, who presides skillfully over the kitchen shared her culinary experience in a cooking class preparing lamb tagine with prunes and almonds, chicken tagine with preserved lemons, tomatoes with sugar and cinnamon...and delicious hand-made bread. And many more who's names I do not know. We were cared for by all as a much-loved member of the family.

In the Arabic world the first responsibility is family, the second is an overwhelming duty to hospitality. The hospitality of Haj Mohamed is well felt at Riad Kniza. His presence is everywhere as he has left no stone unturned in creating this haven of refinement and hospitality. He is a Prince of Hoteliers!

Last but not least, if you are interested in beautiful furnishings and carpets, consider visiting Galerie Al Badii owned by Mohamed's wife. We came home with a unique inlaid game table and chairs with camel bone and some wonderful carpets. Shipping was not all that expensive and we received in less than three weeks!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    999
    55
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
151
639
15
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

There aren't words to describe our stay at the Riad Kniza unless it would be PERFECT. The entire staff were amazingly attentive and caring. The owners were welcoming and created an atmosphere that made you feel like you were family in their beautiful home. I see another review stating it was an "absolute luxury experience"...that it was but with a warm caring feel! The wonderful impression began before we even arrived, the speedy communication answering our many email questions allowed us to feel as though we knew them before we even arrived. The food is outstanding as well. No need to go anywhere else...all of your wishes, dreams, wants and desires will be met here! Thank you Mohammed for creating this masterpiece of hospitality!

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Riad Kniza for 2 nights - loved absolutely everything about it! We booked it very last minute for one night but the minute we got in the riad, we extended our trip there. The riad is absolutely gorgeous and so peaceful - away from the craziness of the medina. The service was one of the best we've ever had at a hotel stay. The staff was very courteous, always going out their way to make sure we were comfortable. The breakfast was delicious! Dinner even better! We loved the riad so much we ended up spending so much time just lazing around having tea or relaxing. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The Riad Kniza was an absolute luxury experience. It makes a phenomenal impression from the start: the lobby is stunning and resembles the traditional Moroccan palaces. Upon arrival, we were greeted with the traditional Moroccan mint tea. As an avid tea drinker, I was thrilled to find out that the tea and Moroccan cookies were offered anytime during our stay. It was little things like this that made our Riad Kniza experience special. The staff was extremely attentive and kind, and because the Riad is relatively small, the staff pays close attention to the needs of each guest. Our room was perhaps the most beautiful room I have ever stayed in--it had an intricately carved dome and was decorated like a traditional Moroccan bedroom. We ate breakfast and dinner at the Riad every night, and found the food to be both authentic and delicious. The location of Riad Kniza is very convenient, as it is a short walk to the main square while also being near a main road, which provided easy car access.

Overall, a wonderful experience that I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This riad is lovely...we enjoyed our stay very much. Every single person, from the owner to the maid, was friendly and charming....it's a real pleasure to be there. And the massage in the spa was excellent!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My husband and i have recently returned from travelling around Morocco for a couple of weeks. We started our holiday at Riad Kniza in Marrakech. We were delighted with our choice and felt very well looked after and relaxed for the entire duration of our stay. The Riad is stunning - it is spacious and opulent whilst feeling welcoming. It has a lovely pool and we also enjoyed a very relaxing massage while we were there. We dined there one evening, and although some of the authentic Moroccoan food was a little sweet for our liking, we did appreciate that it was indeed authentic and very high quality at that. We had an open fire in our room which was lit for us in the evenings at our request - bliss! Breakfast on the roof terrace was very pretty and chilled. The staff at the Riad were only too happy to help when we asked for a dinner our lunch recommendation - and such recommendations were perfect for what we were looking for - they clearly understand what their clientele are looking for. Overall, i would highly recommend and would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

A Wonderful Oasis of Calm & Tranquility

The Riad Kniza is tucked away in the Medina, all that is visible from the outside is a door, when it opens you are immediately transported into a different world .

The interior is both luxurious & sumptuous in a Moroccan sort of way, which is beautiful.

The Service and helpfulness of the people working at the Riad Kniza could not be better.

The unhurried Breakfast on the roof terrace is the perfect start to the day, with its freshly baked bread and cakes, fruit salads, cheese, eggs, more food would not be possible to eat, all brought to your table in the most enchanting way and of course is delicious.

A cookery lesson with the Riad’s Chef is a great introduction to Moroccan Cuisine and is an inspiration.

The Hamam, which is a hot air bathing ritual, that was one of the most important pillars of the social life of the Ottoman Empire.

The Hamam was treated a sanctuary where men and women gathered to be renewed.

It is the tradition of physical and spiritual purification.

As the body and skin are cleaned and purified from toxins, blood circulation increases and the immune system is stimulated supporting one, both physically and mentally.

It feels a bit like being scrubbed with a pan scourer, but it does leave your skin feeling just wonderful.

The Guides are really helpful and knowledgeable.

The Rhiad Kniza is a “ Must stay there “ sort of place.

Room Tip: Look on the Riad Kniza's website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#8 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#43 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.