We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful start to our holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza

Save Saved
You added Riad Kniza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Kniza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1 FREE Night
Ranked #13 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A wonderful start to our holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My husband and i have recently returned from travelling around Morocco for a couple of weeks. We started our holiday at Riad Kniza in Marrakech. We were delighted with our choice and felt very well looked after and relaxed for the entire duration of our stay. The Riad is stunning - it is spacious and opulent whilst feeling welcoming. It has a lovely pool and we also enjoyed a very relaxing massage while we were there. We dined there one evening, and although some of the authentic Moroccoan food was a little sweet for our liking, we did appreciate that it was indeed authentic and very high quality at that. We had an open fire in our room which was lit for us in the evenings at our request - bliss! Breakfast on the roof terrace was very pretty and chilled. The staff at the Riad were only too happy to help when we asked for a dinner our lunch recommendation - and such recommendations were perfect for what we were looking for - they clearly understand what their clientele are looking for. Overall, i would highly recommend and would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    927
    50
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
140
580
14
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

A Wonderful Oasis of Calm & Tranquility

The Riad Kniza is tucked away in the Medina, all that is visible from the outside is a door, when it opens you are immediately transported into a different world .

The interior is both luxurious & sumptuous in a Moroccan sort of way, which is beautiful.

The Service and helpfulness of the people working at the Riad Kniza could not be better.

The unhurried Breakfast on the roof terrace is the perfect start to the day, with its freshly baked bread and cakes, fruit salads, cheese, eggs, more food would not be possible to eat, all brought to your table in the most enchanting way and of course is delicious.

A cookery lesson with the Riad’s Chef is a great introduction to Moroccan Cuisine and is an inspiration.

The Hamam, which is a hot air bathing ritual, that was one of the most important pillars of the social life of the Ottoman Empire.

The Hamam was treated a sanctuary where men and women gathered to be renewed.

It is the tradition of physical and spiritual purification.

As the body and skin are cleaned and purified from toxins, blood circulation increases and the immune system is stimulated supporting one, both physically and mentally.

It feels a bit like being scrubbed with a pan scourer, but it does leave your skin feeling just wonderful.

The Guides are really helpful and knowledgeable.

The Rhiad Kniza is a “ Must stay there “ sort of place.

Room Tip: Look on the Riad Kniza's website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Stayed at the Riad Kniza during the Christmas period, and the research spent on choosing this riad over other 'hotels de charme' (including La Maison Arabe) and well known luxury hotels was time extremely well spent.

The riad is in the heart of the medina, and it is important for potential guest to realise that this is a 'living, breathing' part of the city where locals live, trade, and earn a living, and is not like the La Mamounia Hotel that lies behind 15 foot high gates; in other words it is completely authentic.

Despite being in this bustling part of the medina, once behind the closed doors of the riad you enter into a world of calm. It is simply one of the most beautiful hotels I have have stayed in, and the attention to details is just pitch perfect, whether it be the mosaics, the beautiful Moroccan tables, or the fabulous lamps. You can tell that the Bouskri family have invested considerable time and love into their riad, which has been in the family for generations.

Whilst the decor of the place is fantastic, it is rivalled by the approachability, cheerfulness and helpfulness of the staff. All of the staff were excellent, providing service that easily matched that I have experienced across the Four Seasons chain of hotels. No request was too much hassle, whether ensuring that the open fire was lit in the evening, to sourcing Moroccan furniture for shipping back to London.

Finally, the quality of the food needs to be mentioned. Whilst the La Maison Arabe frequently gets the No.1 restaurant vote vote, having eaten at both restaurants I would rate the food and presentation of it better at the Riad Kniza. As for the ambience of the 2 riads, if you want something more authentic, and with less of a nod to European/ American ideas of what a hotel should be like, then please book into the Riad Kniza. You will NOT be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

I booked a stay with the riad -- and had to change my travel plans. I tried to cancel 3 days before arrival -- but they refused. This is understandable -- in some ways. But, in others, it seems like common sense and customer service should prevail, especially in the hospitality industry.

As a result, I was in a terrible mood when I was in the hotel, and felt very sad a lot of the time. I felt like the money that I was paying (almost 300 dollars!) was being utterly wasted, and -- this colored my perception of everything.

Also -- the area around the Bab Doukkala felt a bit frightening in the early hours of the AM. Lots of loitering young men... it didn't make me happy to walk through that gauntlet back to the hotel.

I could see how you might be happy in this place -- the staff are incredibly polite and sweet, on the ground -- but they need to rethink that cancellation policy. Just be sure -- if you think you're going to go, you'll have to go!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Our stay at Riad Knisa was second to none.
Excellent service from fantastic and caring staff.
Lovely rooms with comfortable beds, always beautifully kept and strewn with rose petals.
We had an excellent wedding anniversary here.
Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Very well run and a great property. Don't let the walk through the market deter you because once they open the door and let you in you will realize you what a truly magical place it is. This was our final Riad on a Honeymoon tour of Morocco and it truly capped off a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

A huge thank you to Mohamed and his magnificent team for making our stay at Riad Kniza so wonderful. The Royal Suite is extremely spacious and luxurious. Riad Kniza is a sanctuary of peace and calm. Each and every member of staff went out of their way to make our stay so memorable.

Room Tip: The Royal Suite is divine
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#5 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.