We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality that knows no bounds!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Kniza to your Saves list
Riad Kniza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Inclusions
Ranked #10 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hospitality that knows no bounds!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful short break in Marrakech, staying at the beautiful Riad Kniza. It gave us a a true taste of Morocco and Moroccan hospitality at its best. My friends and I were lucky enough to be upgraded to the royal suite which was spacious, tastefully decorated, and with great attention to detail. There is a peaceful roof terrace where you can dine and sunbathe and so tranquil that you forget you are in the heart of the Medina. Right on your doorstep are the sights, sounds and smells that delight the senses!

The owner Mohamed, his son Kamal, Waleed in reception and all of the team of staff working here are delightful: friendly, welcoming, always smiling and providing a service that exceeds expectations.

We had the most delicious Moroccan food. A 'light lunch' becomes a feast!

There is also a lovely indoor pool, a sauna and hammam and you can have a massage and other treatments.

I can't recommend Riad Kniza more highly!

Room Tip: The Royal Suite was amazing. Fabulous for a romantic break or honeymoon. You could also book this as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    977
    53
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
148
619
15
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

What a bijou oasis in the middle of the wonderful culture of Marrakech.
We arrived for a short holiday break and the hospitality and welcome of the people have been wonderful.
The Kniza Riad is a peaceful oasis in the centre of the hub-bub of activity.
The rooms are luxury without being ostentatious. Beautiful rooftop garden where breakfast, lunch and dinner can be savoured. Overlooking the rooftops of Marrakech is spectacular.
Lovely indoor swimming pool. One can savour the spa treatments too - if so desired.
The service is impeccable. Such friendly staff. And Mohamed, the owner, is a wonderful host.
Visit this jewel in the crown !! You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

After many months of research of where to go on our honeymoon and then where to stay, we chose Riad Kniza for the first few nights of our honeymoon in Morocco. We had booked a package with 4 nights, which included a dinner, wine, a trip to the Atlas Mountains and a 30 min massage and hammam special. If this is still available - please book it! It is definitely worth every penny we paid.

On Arrival we were greeted to refreshing mint tea and Kamal gave us a lot of useful information about the surrounding area and how to get about. We were then taken to our room. We had booked a senior suite but were upgraded for the first 3 nights to the Royal Suite. I cannot begin to describe how amazingly beautiful it was, from the large marble floored bathroom to the gorgeous moroccan lighting around the suite. It was just absolutely perfect for us and exceeded my expectations in every way. Walking through the suite, i was bursting with joy, knowing that i had chosen the most beautiful Riad in Morocco to spend our first few nights of our honeymoon.

Besides the beauty of the Riad, the service is impeccable. Whenever you want some mint tea, they bring some to the room with some pastries and cakes. The room service is excellent and breakfast on the roof terrace is magical. The dinner that we had at the restaurant was one of the best dinners that we had in Morocco. The lamb tagine is divine and you end up leaving the restaurant feeling like a stuffed teddy bear - very satisfying:-)

Besides the reception staff and waiters who go out of your way to make your stay special, the massage therapist Sousou is such a darling. She gave us tips on how to get around and even took me a hair salon and explained to them the look i wanted to get as i do not speak french.

We will definitely be coming back to Riad Kniza on our next trip to Marrakech as it truly is the oasis of calm that everybody talks about!

Room Tip: If it is your honeymoon, the royal suite is amazing and is definitely worth the splurge. hopefully y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fotherby
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We took the special 4 day break in this beautiful haven in the medina in Marrakech and it surpassed all expectations. We were met at the airport and transported to Riad Kniza which took the stress out of our journey. Our room was like something out of the Arabian nights the decoration of the ceiling and the bed surrounds was a wonderful authentic design. From the moment we arrived nothing was too much trouble for the staff and they all went out of their way to make sure that we had everything we needed. Our first morning saw us taking breakfast on the roof and it was so relaxing just to sit in the sunshine and enjoy the wonderful variety of food put in front of us. We were provided with an English speaking guide who showed us around the medina and helped us to get our bearings which was very helpful. That evening we had a Moroccan dinner which was delicious and eaten in very lovely surroundings. We were treated to a massage the next day which was so relaxing and the smell of jasmine was so heady, I was floating, it was gorgeous. The next morning we were provided with a car and once more an English speaking guide for a visit to the Atlas Mountains, it was a lovely day and so interesting - saw typical Berber house and the countryside was stunning. Marrakech is a fascinating city and our short visit was over too quickly but we have some wonderful memories to treasure. Once again thank you to all the staff you certainly made it a magical visit for us both

Room Tip: All the rooms are different but none can avoid the early morning 3.15 am call to prayer from the lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Riad Kniza for the first several nights of our honeymoon in Morocco. The riad was an oasis of calm. Try the restaurant for dinner -- food is delicious and the service is attentive. We would highly recommend this riad to any traveller in the Marrakech area.

Room Tip: Room #1 was romantic and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kisaran
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Finally my last evening in this riad feel so quick. We stay 5 nights. And the owner really upgrade our room for the last three days. Both room are so authentic. Ambar suite and Bahia suite also amazingly like in the 18th century rooms. Thanks for all the hospitality. The staff was amazing. Even though we Order tea early morning, the staff also serve us kindly. We will definitely gonna miss this riad kniza. It's an amazing holiday and wonderful introduction to morocco. Hopefully they can keep up all the good work. Only set back is the hammam. But we don't reAlly mind,

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

What an amazing experience at this Riad. Once you find it, everything about it was beautiful. The family that own it are amazing, the staff that work there are amazing, our room was amazing, the service was amazing and the food was delicious. I cannot recommend this Riad enough. We wanted to experience a Riad as opposed to a hotel to get a feel for the traditional Moroccan experience. We absolutely loved it here and would say that if you are going to Marrakech then you need to try this place. Truly lovely experience all-round - they totally know how to look after their guests. Congratulations and thank you to all at the Riad Kniza as you have an amazing place.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 9 the Yakout Suite - absolutely beautiful but then I think all the other rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#4 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#8 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#33 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.