We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis of Tranquility” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Kniza to your Saves list
Riad Kniza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #16 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Fotherby
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“An Oasis of Tranquility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We took the special 4 day break in this beautiful haven in the medina in Marrakech and it surpassed all expectations. We were met at the airport and transported to Riad Kniza which took the stress out of our journey. Our room was like something out of the Arabian nights the decoration of the ceiling and the bed surrounds was a wonderful authentic design. From the moment we arrived nothing was too much trouble for the staff and they all went out of their way to make sure that we had everything we needed. Our first morning saw us taking breakfast on the roof and it was so relaxing just to sit in the sunshine and enjoy the wonderful variety of food put in front of us. We were provided with an English speaking guide who showed us around the medina and helped us to get our bearings which was very helpful. That evening we had a Moroccan dinner which was delicious and eaten in very lovely surroundings. We were treated to a massage the next day which was so relaxing and the smell of jasmine was so heady, I was floating, it was gorgeous. The next morning we were provided with a car and once more an English speaking guide for a visit to the Atlas Mountains, it was a lovely day and so interesting - saw typical Berber house and the countryside was stunning. Marrakech is a fascinating city and our short visit was over too quickly but we have some wonderful memories to treasure. Once again thank you to all the staff you certainly made it a magical visit for us both

Room Tip: All the rooms are different but none can avoid the early morning 3.15 am call to prayer from the lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,030
    59
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
157
665
13
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Riad Kniza for the first several nights of our honeymoon in Morocco. The riad was an oasis of calm. Try the restaurant for dinner -- food is delicious and the service is attentive. We would highly recommend this riad to any traveller in the Marrakech area.

Room Tip: Room #1 was romantic and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kisaran
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Finally my last evening in this riad feel so quick. We stay 5 nights. And the owner really upgrade our room for the last three days. Both room are so authentic. Ambar suite and Bahia suite also amazingly like in the 18th century rooms. Thanks for all the hospitality. The staff was amazing. Even though we Order tea early morning, the staff also serve us kindly. We will definitely gonna miss this riad kniza. It's an amazing holiday and wonderful introduction to morocco. Hopefully they can keep up all the good work. Only set back is the hammam. But we don't reAlly mind,

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

What an amazing experience at this Riad. Once you find it, everything about it was beautiful. The family that own it are amazing, the staff that work there are amazing, our room was amazing, the service was amazing and the food was delicious. I cannot recommend this Riad enough. We wanted to experience a Riad as opposed to a hotel to get a feel for the traditional Moroccan experience. We absolutely loved it here and would say that if you are going to Marrakech then you need to try this place. Truly lovely experience all-round - they totally know how to look after their guests. Congratulations and thank you to all at the Riad Kniza as you have an amazing place.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 9 the Yakout Suite - absolutely beautiful but then I think all the other rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

My wife and i had a chance to visit this Riad, it's very nice
staff, decor and ambiance, they have roof terrace with an amazing view
also they have a pool in a private patio
all seems to be very good
i will return to stay there

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I already wrote a review in french but we loved so much this wonderful Riad that we really wanted to share it with our english speaking friends. You are here in the true Maroco welcomed by the wonderful Bouskri family and their legendary father Mohammed who was such a famous guide well respected by all .
Anything you need to know ask them their culture is so wonderful it is an enchantment. The suites are beautiful full of antiques the SPA provides an outstanding treatment with Haissa and the restaurant serves the best food in Marrakech. You can take classes with the cheffe..but just the flavor the perfume of these wonderful dishes they would serve you in not to be missed...They are many Riads in Marrakech..but this one is the best so special..It is a must go

Room Tip: suites are gorgeous..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

RIAD KNIZA: My boyfriend and I stayed in Riad Kniza in June. It was perfect. The service is the best I've ever had. The wonderful, accommodating, nice, polite, friendly staff gave us so many tips (restaurants to visit in Marrakech; best times to go Jemma El Fna; what excursions we should do outside of Marrakech, where/how to shop in the souks). Every room is the riad is beautiful. There is no noise from the courtyard ever (the doors are thick and so are the windows). Oh and they gave us a free 30 minute massage which was very nice. There is also a very nice sauna.

MEALS at RIAD KNIZA: Everything about Riad Kniza is perfect. They are beyond accommodating!!! I'm a vegetarian and quite picky about food and they accommodated everything with a smile The food there is delicious and generous portions! (and my stomach didn't bother me once for the entire trip!)Breakfast was so impressive every morning (they even made us delicious double espressos every morning and anytime during the afternoon we wanted one).

The kitchen is spotless and they offer cooking classes there (unfortunately we didn't try this, but I wish we had. We heard from another guest that the class was very informative and a great experience).

Riad Kniza gives you so many extra bottles of water, tons of mint tea, any beverages you'd like (free of charge of course). They also give you yummy cookies and small pastries in the afternoon and after you get back from dinner if you'd like.

They'll even make dinner reservations for you every night. They also told us how to get a taxi and not get ripped off.... In sum, Riad Kniza has YOUR best interests at heart. They want the very, very best for their guests and will go ABOVE and beyond to make sure your vacation is perfect.


BOOKING EXCURSIONS THROUGH KNIZA:
SAHARA - Also, we booked all of our outside trips through Riad Kniza and couldn't have been happier. We booked a three day Sahara trek (ask for Abdou as your driver! he is so pleasant, a great/safe driver, and gives you lots of cultural/historical background if you'd like - if you want quiet, he gets that too). It was great (but absolutely exhausting - just keep that in mind as you plan your itinerary). Abdou really went out of his way to make the trip super memorable! He even worked with our Sahara tour guide to make sure I had a wonderful vegetarian tagine out in the desert! The food was surprisingly delicious and totally clean/sanitary out in the desert.

ATLAS MOUNTAINS - We also did a half-day trip to the High Atlas Mountains (we were SO lucky and had Abdou for this trip as well!), booking through Riad Kniza. It was FANTASTIC. Definitely a highlight of Morocco for me. The hike is incredible (and not too difficult a hike at all!) and you hike to these gorgeous waterfalls. MUST DO! Then you have a delicious lunch right on the river/stream there. Plus, there's no pressure to rush back exactly at 1 or 2pm. We got back in Marrakech around 5pm. Abdou was VERY happy to let us hike as long as we wanted and even stop and shop for pottery on the drive back. (He even helped bargain down prices on pottery for me!!!). He never once pressured us to hurry at all (even though we only arranged for a half day trip). We did give him a nice tip after it was over (but he never would have even asked for a tip obviously or ever said anything about how long we were taking).

I recommend booking everything through Riad Kniza, especially if this is your first trip to Morocco. They are so organized. They have the best and safest drivers in all of Morrocco (and the drivers and tour guides are so pleasant and well-informed, they'll give you lots of historical and cultural background).

IN CONCLUSION:

Don't think about staying anywhere else. Especially if you get a package deal - it's basically the same price as other riads, which are not nearly as accommodating and helpful. We stayed at another riad for our last night (won't say which one, but it is rated in the top 15 riads on tripadvisor) and the service couldn't compare. The owner at the OTHER riad was very pushy and generally annoying (also no one on staff was there at 8am when we got up for breakfast at that other riad. She also gave us a terrible dinner recommendation)...

Anyhow, Riad Kniza has the most pleasant, clean, accommodating, helpful, polite staff in all of Morocco. Book now and definitely book any trips outside of Marrakech through Kniza if you're new to Morocco.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#8 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,312 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#4 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 659 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#1 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,050 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#29 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 756 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad El Mansour
Riad El Mansour
#112 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#30 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.