We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis of Tranquility” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Kniza to your Saves list
Riad Kniza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Inclusions
Ranked #10 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Fotherby
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“An Oasis of Tranquility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We took the special 4 day break in this beautiful haven in the medina in Marrakech and it surpassed all expectations. We were met at the airport and transported to Riad Kniza which took the stress out of our journey. Our room was like something out of the Arabian nights the decoration of the ceiling and the bed surrounds was a wonderful authentic design. From the moment we arrived nothing was too much trouble for the staff and they all went out of their way to make sure that we had everything we needed. Our first morning saw us taking breakfast on the roof and it was so relaxing just to sit in the sunshine and enjoy the wonderful variety of food put in front of us. We were provided with an English speaking guide who showed us around the medina and helped us to get our bearings which was very helpful. That evening we had a Moroccan dinner which was delicious and eaten in very lovely surroundings. We were treated to a massage the next day which was so relaxing and the smell of jasmine was so heady, I was floating, it was gorgeous. The next morning we were provided with a car and once more an English speaking guide for a visit to the Atlas Mountains, it was a lovely day and so interesting - saw typical Berber house and the countryside was stunning. Marrakech is a fascinating city and our short visit was over too quickly but we have some wonderful memories to treasure. Once again thank you to all the staff you certainly made it a magical visit for us both

Room Tip: All the rooms are different but none can avoid the early morning 3.15 am call to prayer from the lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    980
    53
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
148
622
15
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Riad Kniza for the first several nights of our honeymoon in Morocco. The riad was an oasis of calm. Try the restaurant for dinner -- food is delicious and the service is attentive. We would highly recommend this riad to any traveller in the Marrakech area.

Room Tip: Room #1 was romantic and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kisaran
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Finally my last evening in this riad feel so quick. We stay 5 nights. And the owner really upgrade our room for the last three days. Both room are so authentic. Ambar suite and Bahia suite also amazingly like in the 18th century rooms. Thanks for all the hospitality. The staff was amazing. Even though we Order tea early morning, the staff also serve us kindly. We will definitely gonna miss this riad kniza. It's an amazing holiday and wonderful introduction to morocco. Hopefully they can keep up all the good work. Only set back is the hammam. But we don't reAlly mind,

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

What an amazing experience at this Riad. Once you find it, everything about it was beautiful. The family that own it are amazing, the staff that work there are amazing, our room was amazing, the service was amazing and the food was delicious. I cannot recommend this Riad enough. We wanted to experience a Riad as opposed to a hotel to get a feel for the traditional Moroccan experience. We absolutely loved it here and would say that if you are going to Marrakech then you need to try this place. Truly lovely experience all-round - they totally know how to look after their guests. Congratulations and thank you to all at the Riad Kniza as you have an amazing place.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 9 the Yakout Suite - absolutely beautiful but then I think all the other rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanfyllin, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We enjoyed a cookery course at Riad Kniza last Thursday. I booked and arranged the course from the UK before we left. There were six of us for the course and we arrived at 11.00 am to meet our Chef. We were taken to the market to buy the ingredients, vegetables, meat and spices and then back to prepare. We were all given chefs whites and we set about preparing a rather interesting lunch.We made a lamb tagine, flat breads and various vegetable dishes and the use of spice was quite amazing.
We were then served the lunch that we had prepared on the most beautiful of roof terraces and the food was amazing. The staff were very attentive and we were given a tour of the property which is stunning. I would recommend anyone to try the course no matter what your skill level and very reasonable at 55 Euros
I would love to stay there if I return to Marrakech

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

My wife and i had a chance to visit this Riad, it's very nice
staff, decor and ambiance, they have roof terrace with an amazing view
also they have a pool in a private patio
all seems to be very good
i will return to stay there

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I already wrote a review in french but we loved so much this wonderful Riad that we really wanted to share it with our english speaking friends. You are here in the true Maroco welcomed by the wonderful Bouskri family and their legendary father Mohammed who was such a famous guide well respected by all .
Anything you need to know ask them their culture is so wonderful it is an enchantment. The suites are beautiful full of antiques the SPA provides an outstanding treatment with Haissa and the restaurant serves the best food in Marrakech. You can take classes with the cheffe..but just the flavor the perfume of these wonderful dishes they would serve you in not to be missed...They are many Riads in Marrakech..but this one is the best so special..It is a must go

Room Tip: suites are gorgeous..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#8 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#34 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.