We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect. Best service I've ever had.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza

Save Saved
You added Riad Kniza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Kniza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1 FREE Night
Ranked #13 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Perfect. Best service I've ever had.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

RIAD KNIZA: My boyfriend and I stayed in Riad Kniza in June. It was perfect. The service is the best I've ever had. The wonderful, accommodating, nice, polite, friendly staff gave us so many tips (restaurants to visit in Marrakech; best times to go Jemma El Fna; what excursions we should do outside of Marrakech, where/how to shop in the souks). Every room is the riad is beautiful. There is no noise from the courtyard ever (the doors are thick and so are the windows). Oh and they gave us a free 30 minute massage which was very nice. There is also a very nice sauna.

MEALS at RIAD KNIZA: Everything about Riad Kniza is perfect. They are beyond accommodating!!! I'm a vegetarian and quite picky about food and they accommodated everything with a smile The food there is delicious and generous portions! (and my stomach didn't bother me once for the entire trip!)Breakfast was so impressive every morning (they even made us delicious double espressos every morning and anytime during the afternoon we wanted one).

The kitchen is spotless and they offer cooking classes there (unfortunately we didn't try this, but I wish we had. We heard from another guest that the class was very informative and a great experience).

Riad Kniza gives you so many extra bottles of water, tons of mint tea, any beverages you'd like (free of charge of course). They also give you yummy cookies and small pastries in the afternoon and after you get back from dinner if you'd like.

They'll even make dinner reservations for you every night. They also told us how to get a taxi and not get ripped off.... In sum, Riad Kniza has YOUR best interests at heart. They want the very, very best for their guests and will go ABOVE and beyond to make sure your vacation is perfect.


BOOKING EXCURSIONS THROUGH KNIZA:
SAHARA - Also, we booked all of our outside trips through Riad Kniza and couldn't have been happier. We booked a three day Sahara trek (ask for Abdou as your driver! he is so pleasant, a great/safe driver, and gives you lots of cultural/historical background if you'd like - if you want quiet, he gets that too). It was great (but absolutely exhausting - just keep that in mind as you plan your itinerary). Abdou really went out of his way to make the trip super memorable! He even worked with our Sahara tour guide to make sure I had a wonderful vegetarian tagine out in the desert! The food was surprisingly delicious and totally clean/sanitary out in the desert.

ATLAS MOUNTAINS - We also did a half-day trip to the High Atlas Mountains (we were SO lucky and had Abdou for this trip as well!), booking through Riad Kniza. It was FANTASTIC. Definitely a highlight of Morocco for me. The hike is incredible (and not too difficult a hike at all!) and you hike to these gorgeous waterfalls. MUST DO! Then you have a delicious lunch right on the river/stream there. Plus, there's no pressure to rush back exactly at 1 or 2pm. We got back in Marrakech around 5pm. Abdou was VERY happy to let us hike as long as we wanted and even stop and shop for pottery on the drive back. (He even helped bargain down prices on pottery for me!!!). He never once pressured us to hurry at all (even though we only arranged for a half day trip). We did give him a nice tip after it was over (but he never would have even asked for a tip obviously or ever said anything about how long we were taking).

I recommend booking everything through Riad Kniza, especially if this is your first trip to Morocco. They are so organized. They have the best and safest drivers in all of Morrocco (and the drivers and tour guides are so pleasant and well-informed, they'll give you lots of historical and cultural background).

IN CONCLUSION:

Don't think about staying anywhere else. Especially if you get a package deal - it's basically the same price as other riads, which are not nearly as accommodating and helpful. We stayed at another riad for our last night (won't say which one, but it is rated in the top 15 riads on tripadvisor) and the service couldn't compare. The owner at the OTHER riad was very pushy and generally annoying (also no one on staff was there at 8am when we got up for breakfast at that other riad. She also gave us a terrible dinner recommendation)...

Anyhow, Riad Kniza has the most pleasant, clean, accommodating, helpful, polite staff in all of Morocco. Book now and definitely book any trips outside of Marrakech through Kniza if you're new to Morocco.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    927
    50
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
140
581
14
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful 4 night stay at the Riad Kniza. The rooms are a delight - we stayed in the Yakout Suite which was exceptional, very spacious - only downside to the sleep quality was the call to pray at 3:55 a.m.!!!! Staff are very tentative and the whole riad is extremely clean. The guides provided for the half day tour of the medina (Amin) and the Atlas mountains (Abdul) were great and spoke very good English. We pre-requested that the half day medina tour did NOT includes any shops (carpet/perfume) and was very informative. The Atlas mountains tour was a highlight and our daughter's favourite day. We seemed to be lucky and had luxury 4x4 vehicles for any pick-ups that involved a car (not sure if this is the norm). Our legs ached a little the next day from the climbing in the Atlas mountains and was glad that we had left this visit until our last full day, which we followed up with the inclusive massage and gourmet dinner when we returned to the riad - all in all a real highlight for our last day. Airport transfers were spot on too.

The main square where most things seems to be mainly located around is a 15 minute stroll away from the riad. The route is interesting and can be a little crazy at times!! (Negotiating pot-holes, people, mopeds, carts etc.). Marrakech is a real eye opener and the riad was a welcome, safe retreat to return to. The modern French quarter where the more "international" shops are, is a 10 minute stroll in the opposite direction. So the riad is well located too.

Definitely book the Riad Kniza if you are considering it - we were told that there are only about 8 riads still owned by Moroccan's - this being one of them. It won't disappoint.

Pack sensible shoes, we walked for hours each day!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Riad kniza was beautiful in every way. The staff were charming and couldn't do enough to help. The rooms are all individual, beautifully decorated and cleaned immaculately. Mohamed and his son ,who own the Riad ,were welcoming and friendly. During our 4 day stay they organised guides to show us around the medina, souks,atlas mountains and night markets. The food was delicious and plentiful. I would strongly advise anyone wanting to visit this amazing city to enjoy the luxury of Riad Kniza

Room Tip: We were in one of the smaller rooms which was perfect for our trip and budget but the suites were ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This place is beautifully restored and looks gorgeous. Very good reception and the staff were most accommodating. The beds were comfortable and there was good to be able to individually control the air conditioning as required. The rooms were also huge, with fresh fruit provided, and daily water replacement. The downside is the bath over shower and the amenities are not the best (good thing I brought my own). Also, there is a small hike down the laneway from where you get dropped off/picked up, but that is where the porters were extremely useful, and very appreciative of a small tip. The offer came with breakfast which was exquisite. Very very nice. The morning tour provided through the souks was a little disappointing. The worse was were we were brought to a scarf shop and was demonstrated how the wool and silk was dyed and how these ones would not "run" when washed as opposed to the cheaper ones (which was about 10% of the final price we bought, and was 50% off the opening price). But guess what...they did run badly even when we hand washed them!! Not good that this is the recommended guide by the hotel, and they should consider another supplier!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Began our honeymoon at the Riad. Although hidden a bit on a side street in the medina - like so much else of Marrakech, it is remarkable what is hiding behind a seemingly random door - the Riad was an even better choice than the reviews here suggested. The staff are extremely well-trained and strike the balance between being there whenever you need them but without the slightest sense you are being hovered over.

Getting a tour of the medina should be done very early in your trip...the guide they selected for us was extremely knowledgeable and was more than happy to cater our tour to what we wanted, with very good suggestions.

The rooms, by, American standards, are far far beyond what you would expect given their price. The Riad is not cheap, especially by Moroccan standards, but you get more than what you pay for. It was like stepping into another world every time we walked back in the building.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

What a peaceful and private gem of a hotel! Tucked away down a side street in the Medina, Riad Kniza offers a traditional house and hospitality with all luxuries. The staff were friendly and attentive. Sunset drinks and then dinner in the charming roof garden were delightful. The pool and hammam were a great treat after the busy world of exploring the Medina.

Room Tip: Book ahead for dinner on the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Riad Kniza for four nights during our honeymoon. I don't even know how to begin to describe how beautiful this Riad is, and how wonderful the experience was a whole. The staff are all wonderful and eager to please. Tips are never expected, and in many cases are even turned away by wait staff, front desk staff and cleaning staff alike. The Riad is kept in impeccable shape - everything is clean and sparkling. The pool area is beautiful, a truly relaxing space to enjoy some mint tea and a good book, though in September when we visited, the pool water was very cold. My husband braved a dip or two after hours of walking through the hot medina, but I couldn't bring myself to take the plunge.

Our bedroom was lovely, though a little noisy. I believe that we were in room #7 - unlike typical Riads, the Riad Kniza has windows that open to the street - this makes for lovely sunlight in the mornings but also means that the bustling Marrakech nightlife noise comes through the windows in the evenings. Our room had a separate sitting area with powder room on the lower level and a spacious bedroom and lovely ensuite on the upper level. It was nice to have such a grand room, we didn't mind the noise too much.

Breakfast was always a big ordeal and we enjoyed every single morning having breakfast up on the terrace with the exception of one morning when I was sick and the staff kindly brought us the entire breakfast spread to our room. There is far more food than two people can possibly hope to consume - we always had natural yogurt, museli/cereal, varieties of breads, jam, butter, cheeses, freshly pressed orange juice, black tea and coffee, milk, sugar, water, and every day there was a different dish of hot food, like fried eggs or an omlette, and a bowl of fruit salad or dates. A great start to the day!

We also received a complimentary dinner at the hotel's restaurant and wow - it was beyond delicious. Lamb tajine with so much Moroccan salad dishes and beautiful desserts that we couldn't finish it all.We also had a complimentary bottle of the local wine and it was lovely.

We had such a lovely experience at the Riad Kniza - it was a very luxurious experience and we're glad we opted to splurge for this portion of our honeymoon. There are plenty of other riads for a lot less money, but this is one of those special experiences that is sure to leave a lasting impression. We enjoyed our refuge in our beautiful hotel room and the hotel public areas after walking through the somewhat overwhelming but beautifully exotic medina and local square.

I highly recommend a trip to the riad Kniza for at least a few nights if you're looking for great service, beautiful architecture, delicious food and the opportunity to be spoiled by opulence and luxury in every sense of the word.

Room Tip: Room #7 was noisy because there are bedroom windows above the Derb Hotel street that always seems to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#5 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.