We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Kniza to your Saves list
Riad Kniza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Inclusions
Ranked #10 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“An Oasis in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Began our honeymoon at the Riad. Although hidden a bit on a side street in the medina - like so much else of Marrakech, it is remarkable what is hiding behind a seemingly random door - the Riad was an even better choice than the reviews here suggested. The staff are extremely well-trained and strike the balance between being there whenever you need them but without the slightest sense you are being hovered over.

Getting a tour of the medina should be done very early in your trip...the guide they selected for us was extremely knowledgeable and was more than happy to cater our tour to what we wanted, with very good suggestions.

The rooms, by, American standards, are far far beyond what you would expect given their price. The Riad is not cheap, especially by Moroccan standards, but you get more than what you pay for. It was like stepping into another world every time we walked back in the building.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    985
    54
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
149
627
15
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

What a peaceful and private gem of a hotel! Tucked away down a side street in the Medina, Riad Kniza offers a traditional house and hospitality with all luxuries. The staff were friendly and attentive. Sunset drinks and then dinner in the charming roof garden were delightful. The pool and hammam were a great treat after the busy world of exploring the Medina.

Room Tip: Book ahead for dinner on the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Riad Kniza for four nights during our honeymoon. I don't even know how to begin to describe how beautiful this Riad is, and how wonderful the experience was a whole. The staff are all wonderful and eager to please. Tips are never expected, and in many cases are even turned away by wait staff, front desk staff and cleaning staff alike. The Riad is kept in impeccable shape - everything is clean and sparkling. The pool area is beautiful, a truly relaxing space to enjoy some mint tea and a good book, though in September when we visited, the pool water was very cold. My husband braved a dip or two after hours of walking through the hot medina, but I couldn't bring myself to take the plunge.

Our bedroom was lovely, though a little noisy. I believe that we were in room #7 - unlike typical Riads, the Riad Kniza has windows that open to the street - this makes for lovely sunlight in the mornings but also means that the bustling Marrakech nightlife noise comes through the windows in the evenings. Our room had a separate sitting area with powder room on the lower level and a spacious bedroom and lovely ensuite on the upper level. It was nice to have such a grand room, we didn't mind the noise too much.

Breakfast was always a big ordeal and we enjoyed every single morning having breakfast up on the terrace with the exception of one morning when I was sick and the staff kindly brought us the entire breakfast spread to our room. There is far more food than two people can possibly hope to consume - we always had natural yogurt, museli/cereal, varieties of breads, jam, butter, cheeses, freshly pressed orange juice, black tea and coffee, milk, sugar, water, and every day there was a different dish of hot food, like fried eggs or an omlette, and a bowl of fruit salad or dates. A great start to the day!

We also received a complimentary dinner at the hotel's restaurant and wow - it was beyond delicious. Lamb tajine with so much Moroccan salad dishes and beautiful desserts that we couldn't finish it all.We also had a complimentary bottle of the local wine and it was lovely.

We had such a lovely experience at the Riad Kniza - it was a very luxurious experience and we're glad we opted to splurge for this portion of our honeymoon. There are plenty of other riads for a lot less money, but this is one of those special experiences that is sure to leave a lasting impression. We enjoyed our refuge in our beautiful hotel room and the hotel public areas after walking through the somewhat overwhelming but beautifully exotic medina and local square.

I highly recommend a trip to the riad Kniza for at least a few nights if you're looking for great service, beautiful architecture, delicious food and the opportunity to be spoiled by opulence and luxury in every sense of the word.

Room Tip: Room #7 was noisy because there are bedroom windows above the Derb Hotel street that always seems to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley Californis
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I recently October 2013) spent 4 nights at Riad Kniza, and cannot say enough good things about it!!!
The staff are amongst the kindest and most helpful people imaginable. They speak multiple languages very well, are always smiling and asking how they can be helpful or are offering suggestions that might make your stay even better.
While it is a small hotel, it has all the amenities one could want...a perfectly heated swimming pool, a spa and hamman, a fabulous restaurant, outstanding live Moroccan music in the evenings, a lovely rooftop patio and sundeck....and peace and quiet while outside your door is a bustling marketplace and nearby shopping and major sites to visit.
Your room and all of the common areas are filled with beautiful moroccan antiques and objets d'art.
I am a well-traveled person, over age 65, and I highly recommend this fine hotel to everyone of any age who wants to stay in a very unique and lovely hotel with outstanding service.
Lastly...the towels are divine...and so is the cuisine at dinner!!
Laura Chick

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Datchworth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Don't know where to start! Holiday for my 50th with 11 other girls. We were looked after like royalty. From being picked up at the airport to being dropped off and taken to check in and security. The Riad is a little oasis hidden behind a big wooden door down a little alley. The staff could not be more helpful, organising trips, booking restaurants and helping with anything required. The rooms were all beautiful. The colours and detail is amazing. As for the food. The best we had in our visit was at the hotel. One of our group did a Moroccan cookery lesson one morning and she loved it. Cooking us all lunch. Highly recommend this Riad to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Superb welcome, a marvellous suite of rooms, set over two floors - so the feel of a proper living area as well as a bedroom, and wonderful food. We ate here two nights out of the four we were in Marrakesh - while more expensive than other restaurants, the menu included more courses, with the portions more than generous. (There is a discount for residents, but non-residents can also eat here and several couples came in for the meal.) The owner and his son were on site regularly and the service from all staff was impeccable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Riad Kniza was our third stop in a 10 day holiday, spending three nights there. This hotel is hidden away in the second 'alley' on the right when entering the Medina from Bab Doukkal and after following the dog-leg to the left there is an inconsequential door in the wall to your left. The door is kept locked but is opened immediately by the receptionist in response to knocking on the door. On entering, the hotel opens up Tardis-like into an immaculate and exquisite building that just has to be seen and the hustle, bustle and noise of the street market is left outside. The rooms were very comfortable and the staff could not do enough to make our stay even more pleasant. We had only one evening meal there which was excellent. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.