We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of tranquility and beauty in the heart of Marrakesh' medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza

Save Saved
You added Riad Kniza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Kniza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1 FREE Night
Ranked #9 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Berkeley Californis
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An oasis of tranquility and beauty in the heart of Marrakesh' medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I recently October 2013) spent 4 nights at Riad Kniza, and cannot say enough good things about it!!!
The staff are amongst the kindest and most helpful people imaginable. They speak multiple languages very well, are always smiling and asking how they can be helpful or are offering suggestions that might make your stay even better.
While it is a small hotel, it has all the amenities one could want...a perfectly heated swimming pool, a spa and hamman, a fabulous restaurant, outstanding live Moroccan music in the evenings, a lovely rooftop patio and sundeck....and peace and quiet while outside your door is a bustling marketplace and nearby shopping and major sites to visit.
Your room and all of the common areas are filled with beautiful moroccan antiques and objets d'art.
I am a well-traveled person, over age 65, and I highly recommend this fine hotel to everyone of any age who wants to stay in a very unique and lovely hotel with outstanding service.
Lastly...the towels are divine...and so is the cuisine at dinner!!
Laura Chick

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    919
    49
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
139
575
13
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Datchworth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Don't know where to start! Holiday for my 50th with 11 other girls. We were looked after like royalty. From being picked up at the airport to being dropped off and taken to check in and security. The Riad is a little oasis hidden behind a big wooden door down a little alley. The staff could not be more helpful, organising trips, booking restaurants and helping with anything required. The rooms were all beautiful. The colours and detail is amazing. As for the food. The best we had in our visit was at the hotel. One of our group did a Moroccan cookery lesson one morning and she loved it. Cooking us all lunch. Highly recommend this Riad to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Superb welcome, a marvellous suite of rooms, set over two floors - so the feel of a proper living area as well as a bedroom, and wonderful food. We ate here two nights out of the four we were in Marrakesh - while more expensive than other restaurants, the menu included more courses, with the portions more than generous. (There is a discount for residents, but non-residents can also eat here and several couples came in for the meal.) The owner and his son were on site regularly and the service from all staff was impeccable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Riad Kniza was our third stop in a 10 day holiday, spending three nights there. This hotel is hidden away in the second 'alley' on the right when entering the Medina from Bab Doukkal and after following the dog-leg to the left there is an inconsequential door in the wall to your left. The door is kept locked but is opened immediately by the receptionist in response to knocking on the door. On entering, the hotel opens up Tardis-like into an immaculate and exquisite building that just has to be seen and the hustle, bustle and noise of the street market is left outside. The rooms were very comfortable and the staff could not do enough to make our stay even more pleasant. We had only one evening meal there which was excellent. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

There is not enough time and space to say enough about this Riad. From the moment the door is opened for you, you find yourself in a welcoming, peaceful, beautiful Moroccan home. Every single staff person was kind, considerate, helpful, and knowledgeable. Food is spectacular and made to order. I loved waking up to the birds singing from the terrace above...don't miss the lovely rooftop terrace! Enjoy your morning meal there, or a drink at sunset. Truly, I can't say enough about this one!

Stop looking - this is the place to rest your head after a day of navigating the streets of Marrakech!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

It is with great pleasure that I am joining the other excellent 800+ reviews for the Riad Kniza. My wife and I have traveled all over the world and stayed in hundreds of hotels and this might be the best hotel experience we've ever had. The Medina of Marrakech is a maze of chaotic small streets but once you get inside of the oasis of the Riad Kniza, everything is calm and peaceful. This is a beautiful wood and plaster carved 200 year old family home lovingly restored and updated into 11 fabulous suites. It’s quiet and peaceful, the Hammam is fantastic and the restaurant is rated one of the best in the Medina, serving the best Harira, Bastilla,Tagine, Couscous and mezze plates. Even if you don’t stay at the Riad Kniza, go to the restaurant.

The owner, Mohamed Bouskri was one of the most renown antique dealers of Marrakech. His wife still owns an antique art gallery. The Riad is filled with joy and really great taste. Mohamed was also one of the most noted tour guides of famous personalities but now he enjoys just checking up on the guests and leaving the Hotel business to his very capable son, Kamal, one of the most diligent hotel managers I have ever had the pleasure to know. In fact, the entire staff is amazing and we highly recommend the Riad Kniza to anyone looking to visit Marrakech.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

What a wonderful experience. I have never felt so welcome and so comfortable in a foreign country. The food was amazing, the people were amazing, helpful and some of the kindest people I have had the opportunity to meet. The Riad was beautiful. Can't wait to go back. I would highly recommend the Riad Kniza.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.