We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Kniza to your Saves list
Riad Kniza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #17 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Riad Kniza was our third stop in a 10 day holiday, spending three nights there. This hotel is hidden away in the second 'alley' on the right when entering the Medina from Bab Doukkal and after following the dog-leg to the left there is an inconsequential door in the wall to your left. The door is kept locked but is opened immediately by the receptionist in response to knocking on the door. On entering, the hotel opens up Tardis-like into an immaculate and exquisite building that just has to be seen and the hustle, bustle and noise of the street market is left outside. The rooms were very comfortable and the staff could not do enough to make our stay even more pleasant. We had only one evening meal there which was excellent. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,021
    59
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
155
660
13
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

There is not enough time and space to say enough about this Riad. From the moment the door is opened for you, you find yourself in a welcoming, peaceful, beautiful Moroccan home. Every single staff person was kind, considerate, helpful, and knowledgeable. Food is spectacular and made to order. I loved waking up to the birds singing from the terrace above...don't miss the lovely rooftop terrace! Enjoy your morning meal there, or a drink at sunset. Truly, I can't say enough about this one!

Stop looking - this is the place to rest your head after a day of navigating the streets of Marrakech!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

It is with great pleasure that I am joining the other excellent 800+ reviews for the Riad Kniza. My wife and I have traveled all over the world and stayed in hundreds of hotels and this might be the best hotel experience we've ever had. The Medina of Marrakech is a maze of chaotic small streets but once you get inside of the oasis of the Riad Kniza, everything is calm and peaceful. This is a beautiful wood and plaster carved 200 year old family home lovingly restored and updated into 11 fabulous suites. It’s quiet and peaceful, the Hammam is fantastic and the restaurant is rated one of the best in the Medina, serving the best Harira, Bastilla,Tagine, Couscous and mezze plates. Even if you don’t stay at the Riad Kniza, go to the restaurant.

The owner, Mohamed Bouskri was one of the most renown antique dealers of Marrakech. His wife still owns an antique art gallery. The Riad is filled with joy and really great taste. Mohamed was also one of the most noted tour guides of famous personalities but now he enjoys just checking up on the guests and leaving the Hotel business to his very capable son, Kamal, one of the most diligent hotel managers I have ever had the pleasure to know. In fact, the entire staff is amazing and we highly recommend the Riad Kniza to anyone looking to visit Marrakech.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomeryshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were lucky enough to choose this Riad for the first three nights and last night of our 15 night stay in Morrocco. The riad is situated down an alley off a very busy little market area. From the moment you step into into it from the overwhelming experience of having just arrived in Marrakech you are in a calm oasis !! The owners are really lovely people who genuinely care that you are happy in their Riad. And what a fabulous Riad it is.
It's the kind of place where you can really unwind. There are quiet little corners, a stunning pool with calming music and a fabulous restaurant with authentic Morroccan food. This was our favourite place to eat and stay in our whole trip and we looked forward to returning for the last night of our holiday.
I cannot recommend this highly enough . Book it and you won't be disappointed. You will LOVE the rose petals strewn over your bed and bathroom when you arrive but most of all you will be stunned by this beautiful riad and the kindness of this family.. We would love to return one day.

Room Tip: We stayed in the junior suite..beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This private home in the middle of Marrakech is called a riad in Morocco. It has it all - location, a pool, atmosphere, unimaginably beautiful architecture, food rated #3 out of several hundred Marrakech riads, an an owner who greet his guests at dinner with a hug and invite to picture taking. You will be in the company of President Regan, Kurt Russell, and David Rockefeller who have made Mohamed's acquaintance. I have stayed all over the world and this home is the best! Stay her and you won't go wrong, but reserve early!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

We found the service at Riad Kniza to be beyond impeccable. The rooms were luxe and the food and dining experience superb. Special hats-off to the many servers and Riad owners for their kindness to us while we were there. When you visit try dining on the roof. Great views of the city after dark.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This place is one of the best riads in Marrakech. I was there for only one night, unfortunately, but that one night was so relaxing and much needed after having traveled for a week already.

When we arrived, reps from the hotel met our taxi outside and helped us with our bags. It wasn't very far but to not have to lug a bag with you for even a minute is a luxury when traveling. We were warmly greeted by the desk manager and taken to relax in a lounge as our bags were dropped off in our rooms. They treated us so well and even the mere task of getting our passport/sign information was a treat. We were given mint tea and cookies and basically pampered just because we showed up. It was a sweet experience.

Also I wasn't feeling well as I caught a stomach bug and they noticed this and immediately made me a lemon/ginger/magical unicorn concoction for my stomach. I think it's what ultimately helped me recover.

The rooms are like miniature apartments and the amenities are top notch. Not to mention they have a pool in the middle of the riad that allowed us to relax and unwind and just do nothing.

We also had a massage at the spa which was EXTREMELY relaxing. I would definitely recommend this to anyone venturing into Marrakech. You will not regret it.

I will definitely come back to Riad Kniza.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#8 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#12 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#28 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.