We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza

Save Saved
You added Riad Kniza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Kniza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1 FREE Night
Ranked #9 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Houston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This riad only holds 11 rooms and most of the time you won't see another guest. It's quiet and clean. The staff is what made this stay wonderful. They go out of their way to make sure you are welcomed and comfortable. Don't be shy and ask for a staff member to hail you a cab- they are more than willing. Food was great too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    920
    49
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
140
576
13
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

My husband and I spent our wedding anniversary at Riad Kniza. We had the most amazing time! The staff were superb, polite, friendly and always there with advice and invaluable suggestions. Hanane was amazing! We loved every minute of our stay and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants Luxury, comfort, style, excellent staff and above all else a great time. We were given an upgrade because it was our anniversary but the truth is, all of their rooms are top quality! (I was given a personal tour, I felt very special)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

My husband and daughter stayed at Kniza this week and had all expectations met from this beautiful Riad. The staff were incredible and nothing was too much trouble. After returning each afternoon from an excursion we looked forward to the peace and tranquility of the coming "home".

We had dinner on the terrace one evening and had the best food and service of the trip !

I have never written a review before and consider ourselves travelled and "picky" people but Riad Kniza and staff exceeded all our expectations. We will return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Our experience at this Riad was amazing and excellent. From the moment we walked in until we left the service, the food, the comfort, the entire experience was extraordinary. We recommended this place to everyone. The decor is beautiful with the nice touch of Moroccan arts. We loved the location of the Riad. There is some many great words to describe how magnificent this Riad was.
The staff was outstanding from the bus boy to the management.

Aicha & Omar Stamford CT USA

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed here three weeks ago as part of a first anniversary trip. Being our first time in Marrakech (and Africa for that matter), the short walk from the Medina gate following a free transfer from the airport was awakening with the sights, sounds, and especially the pungent odors of the old city. We were surprised and delighted to find the cool, calm sanctuary that Riad Kniza is, and were greeted by warm and welcoming staff including the owner and his son who happened to be there.
For the first two nights we stayed in a senior suite. The living area and bedroom felt like a home away from home, with amazing traditional Moroccan architectural detail and wall decor, yet with the conveniences of any modern hotel (air conditioning, TV's in each room, and wi-fi). On the third night the senior suite wasn't available so they surprised us with a free upgrade to the Royal Bahia suite - the largest and most luxurious - which was an experience in itself.

Everyday the staff provided us an endless supply of free bottled water and freshly squeezed juice (much appreciated in the dry heat) and was very friendly and helpful in giving us directions and visitor advice despite our many inquiries. The riad's location near the Medina gate makes it easy to get back from any part of town by an inexpensive taxi ride. On one of the nights we ate a Moroccan dinner at the restaurant within the riad; it was delicious cuisine in a comfortable and quiet setting, unlike dining in the hustle and bustle of the old city.

Riad Kniza was one of the best accommodations we've ever stayed at anywhere. Though not the cheapest, there's not much more you can ask for from an intimate, beautiful hotel in a great location with incredible service. A memorable experience, our only regret was not being able to stay longer. On the last day after my wife asked about the local green tea that they serve, the staff sent us off with a gift of tea leaves - that we look forward to trying back at home.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Step through the door of Riad Kniza and you immediately leave behind the hustle, noise and "interesting" aromas of the streets of Marrakech. The change to absolute tranquility and peace is immediate. We stayed for 2 nights and couldn't have asked for a more pleasant stay. We had 3 rooms each of which was very comfortable, had plenty of space, was well equipped and very tastefully decorated. The food was delicious - breakfast was plentiful, lunch was light and tasty, dinner was a tour through the several examples of Moroccan cooking (and very plentiful). And finally the staff were amazingling professional, approachable and welcoming. An example to any hotelier.

Situated almost equidistant between the central souks of the Medina and the European quarter just outside the Medina walls, it was a joy to retreat back to our riad from the heat and bustle of sight seeing and shopping / haggling to know that we would be well looked after. I kept wondering whether there was anything I would change about the riad - there wasn't anything that I think of. For us, it hit the spot.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We came to Marrakesh for a short break and spent 4 nights the riad. We did know what to expect but we could not have imagined a more perfect place to be. The riad is tastefully decorated and beautifully restored. It is very imaginatively laid out despite potential constraints that come with the historical architecture. There is a swimming pool tucked off one court yard and lots of salons around the courtyards for a quiet place to sit or read. There are also two roof top gardens with deck chairs and tables set up for meals or drinks. We were informed that meals could be taken at any of these places or in your room. We learned during our stay that this was the proprietor's family home for many generations. Indeed we were made to feel more as house guests than paying guests. The service was attentive without being intrusive. Beside being very helpful with planning our days, recommending places to visit or to eat, providing directions, it was the little gestures like being offered a cold drink after an afternoon's outing in the shearing sun or putting us in another guest room so that we can go for a swim on our last day after we have checked out but came back from lunch looking like we ran the London marathon thar really made the difference.

We also ended up having most of dinners there after our dining there our first evening. We sampled some well known places during our visit and ended up coming back to the riad because the food and services were hard to beat. They also arranged a cooking class from their chef Amina complete with a trip to do the shopping in the neighbouring markets which gave us an even better appreciation of Morrocan cuisine.

We have been fortunate enough to stay at many different hotels in our travels and Riad Kniza is among the nicest and most gracious places that we have visited.

Room Tip: The suites are more expensive but definitely worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.