We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true Oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza

Save Saved
You added Riad Kniza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Kniza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
suffolk
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A true Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

No Taxi waiting at the airport (flight late) we tried to call the hotel. No answer. Airport information staff were so helpful and dialed another number for the hotel - Taxi arrived after waiting an hour.
Very friendly arrival and welcome tea.
Shown to our room - offered a second bed for my daughter if we would prefer separate beds instead of double. Bed is large so not a problem space wise but sadly not great for ppl with bad backs and indeed not good for my daughter who doesn't suffer normally.
The room was decorated morroccan style and scattered with rose petals, including the loo and bath mat! Quite dark.
Aircon - easy to use and effective - temperature outside was well into the 100's.
We couldn't get the bedroom safe to work but were offered help.

Book direct with the hotel - better deals that way. Some residents had free wine, others free evening meals. We had a goodwill gesture of a bottle of wine.
Roof terrace was beautiful to look at, the low tables are impossible to put your knees under which means that clients sit side saddle on the sofas. Not great for dodgy backs or conducive to enjoying long lunches/dinners .
Meals are all traditional Moroccan. Breakfast was huge, Dinner, the fish Tagine was a favourite.
Swimming pool - I swear the hotel put ice in the pool to keep the temperature down. Do definitely swim, after a few minutes the pool feels warmer and when you get out you feel full of energy and much cooler. Only a few chairs by the pool, never any free when we were there so resorted to sitting on our towels with our feet in the water. I love the shape of the little tiles, so pretty. Everywhere spotless.
Spa - we had a Hammam, , the marble beds in the steam room are very low and the treatment lady was struggling to bend over, the treatment was not exceptional and almost slap dash.


The house has a wonderful serene atmosphere. This was only spoilt on our last morning at 07.15 with the dreadful sound of all the wrought iron furniture being moved around on the terrace above our room - we gave up trying to sleep at 07.55. I guess that is the time of day the cleaning staff can bear the heat. Walking around the hotel with bare feet - not a crumb of grit on the floor. Spotless.
We hired a guide - Most essential if you want to get a grip of the area fast - use your iphone to drop a pin on the map where the hotel is - GPS is free and will work in the souks etc. Only got minorly lost once.

Our strange experience was ... bought a few items with the guide in an Apothecary, arrived back at the hotel with the shopping. The items disappeared! So strange, the hotel think that the people leaving must have picked it up. The hotel staff were AMAZING, the guide was contacted, the shop identified, the items repurchased at a cost to the hotel and handed to use within a few hours. Now, THAT is the sign of a hotel that cares.

Room Tip: We had No 5 - it overlooked the little fountain with petals floating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    950
    50
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
146
596
15
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

What an amazing riad hidden away in Marrakesh! The staff are so helpful and polite, the decorations and furniture very stylish and the food (especially the breakfasts) are totally delicious. A half step away from the bustling street market of Bab Doukkala, the riad smells of roses and is a wonderful calm sanctuary. The terrace rooftop is lovely, as is the swimming pool. I whole heartedly recommend Riad Kniza to anyone wishing to have a perfect place to stay in Marrakesh.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We had read great reviews and they lived up to our expectations. Our room was one of the more basic ones but it was still very very nice and we were very happy. The tour by the owners son was a nice touch and all the staff were very friendly.

We had arranged a private tour of the medinas and souks prior to our arrival which I found very useful - it definitely reduced the amount of times we got lost!

We had dinner on the roof terrace on our first night and it was delicious.

Staying at Kniza was a great start to our honeymoon. Sarah and James

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Heartbursting. An experience to build a relationship or marrige on. I'm the fussiest person in the world (person of hight standards in a nicer way to describe me), the charming, cheap but dull main square restaurants didn't impress me too much. On the second day of our vacation my boyfriend took me to Kniza - which was LUCIKLY - very difficult to find hiding in a badly lit and muddy allyway. Upon arrival we were told that the restaurant is fully booked but we can have a look at the patio (Moroccan for face control - this place is not for the average twatted package holiday maker) after a quick chit chat the owner showed up and walked us into the restaurant which - needless to say - was nearly empty. Think 7th heaven marble palace, museum quali furniture, staues - a bit like that Cary Grant Grace Kelly movie. Our waiter was as nice, intelligent and charming as one can wish - proud, confident, charming, professional just the way I like it - rose petals all over our table.... and the food good God... 6 courses of fine fine moroccan specialities (just one or 2 options to choose from no frozen food everything fresh from the market) appetiser: some feather light pastry with liver and almond (sounds odd but is actually very very tasty) tagine (lamb as soft as a cake) and cant't remember the rest (we went to this riad in January taha). Thanks for the experience, defo will come back here.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Riad Kniza is not just a wonderful place to stay; its staff are THE most wonderful people, too! Kamal (the owner's son) and his team are masters of charm, warmth and hospitality. Nothing was ever too much trouble and we were made to feel highly valued guests throughout our four nights spent in Marrakech. From a gourmet dinner on the first night to delicious breakfasts on the beautiful rooftop terrace - surrounded by beautiful flowers, decor and antiques - we could not have wished for a more relaxing, comfortable environment as a perfect base for exploring the medina and the Atlas Mountains. If you are still trying to make up your mind as to where to book, don't look any further . . . just do it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ann arbor, MI
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

You walk through a busy market area of the medina, avoiding the crowds, admiring the fresh bakery, watching the cats awaiting something to fall at the butchers and turn into a narrow alley where the local boys are playing soccer and you find a solid brown door with a substantial brass knocker. It opens and you are in a private world of tile, carved plaster, luxurious fabrics and crystal chandeliers, with a private hammam and swimming pool. We stayed in Senior Suite Yacout- STAY IN SENIOR SUITE YACOUT! there is a living room with a fireplace and two day beds, a king size bed with beautiful fabrics and a dome over the bed which is decorated with carved plaster. When you arrive there are rose petals EVERYWHERE (even on the toilet seat cover). The hotel is infused with jasmine scent. The breakfasts feature eggs, cereal, several kinds of bakery, fresh squeezed OJ, homemade yogurt and fruit. You can have them on the rooftop terrace with a view of the Atlas Mountains. Dinners are Marocain. Some of the best lamb we had in 16 days.

After a long hard day of bargaining you can have fresh squeezed OJ sent to your room. Imagine, it's 5 pm and you're hot and tired and just want a little rest before dinner and fresh squeezed OJ magically appears at your room door.

Free WIFI through the riad. Doesn't quite get to the terrace. Customer service is spot on. Best place we stayed in Morocco.

Room Tip: Senior Suite Yacout is fabulous. It used to be the Royal Suite. We walked into the Roayl Suite and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This was our last stop in Morocco and we loved the whole experience. The staff is extremely helpful which was an added bonus. Our room was lovely and the breakfasts are superb. Make sure you take some time to have a drink on the rooftop terrace. That was really fun and a great way to relax after touring/walking around the bustling city all day. We ate dinner in the restaurant on our last night in Morocco and it was terrific. I think all the other guests at this Riad felt the same way. The atmosphere is terrific.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#8 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.