We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Kniza to your Saves list
Riad Kniza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Inclusions
Ranked #10 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Our visit to Marrakech was extraordinary and in a great way it was thanks to the hospitality and comfort of Riad Kniza. We made arrangements for pick-up at the airport (a must particularly if you arrive late) and the porters walked us to the riad inside the Medina. Having traveled extensively we thought we were prepared as to what to expect, we were wrong. We arrived late at night and the setting transported us to a world you only see in the movies. The hotel is located inside the Medina, near the entrance, in an alleyway that you would never have imagined. A wooden door opens into a small but quaint reception which leads into a marvelous interior courtyard with a fountain. "Magic". The rooms are exceptionally comfortable with a/c, (ours had a fireplace), TV, internet, and all the amenities of a modern first rate hotel. Although there is no formal dining room, the breakfasts served in the rooftop are fit for sultans. Particular credit goes to the staff, courteous, friendly and do not seem to know the meaning of the "impossible". A must is also the guides..."Najib and Said. "don't leave home without them".

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    987
    54
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
149
629
15
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We booked riad kniza after reading reviews on trip advisor and were not disappointed at all. From the time of reservation to our actual visit everything was efficient . On arrival we were greeted warmly and kamal took us on a tour of the riad. We were confirmed Samar which is a superior deluxe room for the first night and then the junior suite loubana for the rest of the stay. We ended up staying in Samar which we thought was better room. Throughout our stay, the staff wer eso friendly, helpful, and went out of their way to help us and always with a smile on their face. The detail with which the riad has been furnished and decorated is amazing. Our gourmet dinner was superb and loved the atmosphere created on the terrace. The trip to Atlas Mountains was well organised. Well done to Kamal and his team for making our stay memorable.

Room Tip: Superior deluxe room was a very good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights at Riad Kniza in May and loved every minute of it. The room was exquisite but more importantly the staff were welcoming, friendly and extremely efficient. It was everything we hoped for and more and by far the most impressive of all the accomodation we stayed in during our 9 night visit to Morocco. Will definitely return as not only was it such a beautiful place to go to, its position within the Medina was ideal and the food was scrumptious. Highly recommend anyone to stay there.

Room Tip: WE had a ground floor room and thought it might be a bit noisy but it was quiet and faultless - it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macungie, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from our first trip to Morocco. We spent eight nights at the Riad Kniza in Merrakech from 30 April to 8 May 2013. We decided to spend our entire vacation at the Riad Kniza because we wanted a more in-depth experience as opposed to traveling around Morocco. We read many reviews of the Riad Kniza and decided we would prefer to experience an authentic Riad rather than a modern western-style hotel. The Riad Kniza far exceeded our expectations. We stayed in the Yakout Suite which was a phenomenal suite with a large dome over the bed, lavish marble bathroom and sitting room. Our stay included a day trip to the High Atlas Mountains, a day trip to Essaouri at the coast, a half day guided tour of the Medina, a hammam and spa treatment (both were fabulous), and a gourmet dinner. We also had two cooking classes with Chef Amina. These classes were perhaps the high point of our vacation. Amina is a fantastic Chef and a patient teacher. Classes began with a discussion about what we would like to prepare and then walk into the local market to buy lamb, vegetables and spices all of which we carried in two large woven baskets. Returning to an immaculately clean modern kitchen, we prepared lamb with dried fruits and lemon chicken with olives in the traditional Moroccan tagine. Plus carrot, eggplant, turnip, tomato, zucchini, and roasted pepper salads. Additionally, we baked bread and prepared an elaborate lamb couscous. After the meals were prepared we elegantly dined on the roof top terrace with beautiful music in the background. With wonderful weather we chose to have all our meals on the roof-top terrace which is interestingly arranged and to allow for privacy yet some mingling with other guests.

It is impossible to overstate the dedication of the entire staff. Everyone, including cleaning staff, waiters, cooks, desk, and spa personnel were efficient, accommodating and totally dedicated to the guest. Every room, stairway and floor is washed, cleaned and dusted daily. Every curtain and drape is re-arranged daily. No detail is too small to be overlooked.

Our experience at the Riad Kniza was superb and we felt very melancholy about leaving. My wife and I, after being home only a few days, are planning with great anticipation a return visit to Morocco and another stay at the Riad Kniza.
You can view photos from our trip on flickr at:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/43545301@N03/sets/72157633467635579/

Don and Ruth Campolongo

Room Tip: All the rooms are exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I am staying in Riad Kniza next week. I've never been to Morocco before, so I've had so many questions (literally - I've exchanged 22 emails with the wonderful staff at Riad Kniza) and they've already gone above and beyond to help me plan my stay.

We'll be spending 4 nights at the Riad Kniza, and got a wonderful package including a half day trip to the Atlas Mountains, pick up from Casablanca airport, half-hour massage in the spa, dinner one night in the riad, half-day tour of the souk, etc. The staff at Riad Kniza has even booked our Merzouga/ Sahara desert trek for us!! I have had a million questions about the desert trek, and they patiently answered all of my questions, providing tons of detail. They've arranged a driver/tour guide and booked the hotels for the two nights we'll be on the trek.

All of this in such a GREAT package deal! They've already gone above and beyond in terms of service, and I cannot wait to get to Marrakech!

Thank you to the very kind staff at Riad Kniza who have helped me plan every little detail of our upcoming trip!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have recently come back after spending 8 nights at the Riad Kniza. From the subtle aroma of jasmine that permeates the communal areas on the ground floor to the exquisite furniture and soft furnishing, to the beautifully engraved ceilings, we can't fault this beautiful place. The staff was absolutely brilliant, looking after all our needs (including preparing the bed for the night and sprinkling rose petals on our table at dinner). The gentlemen at the reception even went the extra length and arranged daily excursions on our behalf.
I won't even start praising their food: we dined at the Riad almost every night!
We felt completely relaxed, comfortable, and looked after - Thank you all at the Riad Kniza for making our holiday a dream one!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I brought my husband here for his 50th last September and have been meaning to write a review ever since. We stayed on a 4 night break booked direct with the Riad. The service was faultless with attentive staff but not obtrusive and yes it was like being privileged guests in someones home but that made it all the more unique. We had a suite which was beautiful with stunning decor and wonderful touches. The mint tea and pastries after a long day of exploring are delicious and very addictive! It is true the location is down a small alleyway directly from a local market area but this just leads to the charm of it. Marrakech is not England and part of a holiday for us is to see and experience how other people in the world live. We had a day trip to the Atlas mountains and went out with a local guide. The mountains are fresh and we enjoyed seeing another side to the area. We stopped for a late lunch at Richard Bransons hotel whch was also wonderful and very good value. The guided walk around the city was informative and felt very personal. For me the Hammam and massage were the perfect end to the stay followed by a superb meal on the roof terrace to celebrate my husbands birthday with a surprise ice cream cake from the staff - magical. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to anyone and whilst it is not cheap you certainly get what you pay for and for me it was worth every penny to see my husbands face from the moment we stepped through the door from the dusty street to the last night of lavish splendour on that terrace.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#2 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.