We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One word- Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza

Save Saved
You added Riad Kniza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Kniza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1 FREE Night
Ranked #8 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One word- Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My husband and I and three other couples were guests of Riad Kniza from April 26- 29. Everything was perfect. All of our rooms were beautiful. The staff are amazing. The food sublime.
It deserves every bit of praise it has received .

Karen Cole

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    939
    50
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
142
590
14
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Riad Kniza from May 1-4 and loved it - this Riad was one of the highlights of our 10-day trip to Morocco. We walked through the souk to get to the Riad - it's very overwhelming for a first-timer - turned down a tiny winding Derb (dead-end) and arrived at the front door. From the first moment we were inside, we were impressed by the staff and the beauty of the property. The Riad (11 sleeping rooms) feels big - it was full when we were there, but it's easy to feel like you have the whole place to yourself because of the way the rooms are laid out. Because it was full, our first night was spent in an interior courtyard room (#6), which was lovely. The bathroom is well-appointed, the bedroom is large and comfortable.

For the remainder of the stay, we moved to suite #8, which was spectacular. In the ceiling over the bed is a beautifully carved plaster dome, which makes you feel like you are sleeping in a palace. This suite was a bit quieter than room #6 - it was up a separate staircase over the pool (which is "indoors" insomuch as it's surrounded by walls, but "outdoors" in that there is no roof above it - note, it's not heated) and felt very secluded. We had breakfast every morning on the roof terrace and wine there most evenings. The staff bend over backwards to make guests feel welcome - we were repeatedly told "this is your home."

We took a private cooking class with Amina, one of the cooks at Riad Kniza. This was a great experience - definitely worth doing! Together, we walked out into the souk, chose our meat from a local butcher, selected our vegetables and spices and then cooked in a beautiful private Western-style kitchen on the ground floor of the Riad before having lunch on the roof. Amina was lovely, and we had a great time.

The Riad is about a 15-20 minute walk from Jemma el-Fna; I felt perfectly safe walking to and from the square both during the day and at night. There are (at least) two ways to get there - once you're in the main walkway, stay left when the road splits and just keep walking. If you stay to the right, it's a less-scenic, more heavily (car) trafficked street. It was great to be walking distance from the square; I had originally looked at other luxury hotels in Marrakech (Four Seasons, etc.) - am so glad we chose Riad Kniza instead. It was absolutely perfect.

Room Tip: We loved suite #8 best out of the 5 hotel rooms we stayed in during our trip to Morocco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

I feel terribly guilty writing about the location of riad kniza as it is not something the owners have a say in but I as an animal lover I wish someone had included it in their review before I stayed. It is situated just off a street another guest nicknamed 'bomb alley'. It is not the tourist face of Marrakech but perhaps more authentic. Apart from the butchers with their huge headless animal carcuses hanging outside there were also numerous chicken stalls with caged chickens brought out at the shoppers request and beheaded right there in front of them!!!! There were also surly local traders who waved us on before we even touched our cameras and people selling whole chopped off cows legs with skin stood up without the body! It was shocking and I thank god my daughter wasn't with me.
If you do have an incredibly strong stomache and can live with the location, Riad Kniza is the most amazing place. Behind the door hidden in the wall lay a palace that has previously hosted the likes of Brad Pitt, Richard Branson and Ronald Regan! Every single one of the staff were helpful, nothing at all was too much trouble.
Kind of strange having no menus or price lists but the riad is run like a private residence and whatever you want to eat, they'll cook it!
Breakfast was lavish and delicious. Unbelievably, there was no charge for either bottled water or named brand soft drinks like coke. There was also no charge for mint tea and biscuits at any time of day.
The haman was not cheap and I felt the massages were on the costly side compared with other places I've stayed. Unfortunately the pool was simply too cold to use and only the young or very brave ventured in.
Everything in the riad was spotless. The kitchen was perhaps the cleanest I've ever seen. We heard some great cookery lessons taking place.
We were upgraded to the royal suite which was amazing. As beautifully finished as all the other suites but with the square footage of my house in the uk! If you can afford it, book it! You will not regret it!
I spent most days undisturbed on the roof sunbathing, anything I wanted was a mere push button phone away. The terraces are laid out so that you can spend an entire day not seeing a single soul and feeling as though the whole Riad belonged to you. Wonderful......

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We came here after our trek in the Atlas Mountains purely to rest for four nights. Riad Kniza, a beautiful, traditional riad with the bonus of a small indoor swimming pool, was an excellent choice. What made our stay so very memorable, however, was its superb staff. While always managing to remain unobtrusive, they seemed to have a sixth sense about everything that we would need, so often inexplicably offering us service before we were even able to request it. Their kindness and attention to detail merit the fullest commendation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

How lucky were we to choose this superb riad!! It was totally brilliant in every respect! We felt so special and utterly spoilt, as the service by all staff was impeccable at all times. We had a wonderful meal in the restaurant, the roof terrace was fantastic with plenty of seating in both sun and shade and the pool was delicious. We also enjoyed the services of a guide provided by the hotel to show us round Marrakech, which I would highly recommend, as the medina is a total warren of alleys and narrow streets. Riad Knina'a location is perfect, being a stone's throw from the the amazing hussle and bussle of the nearby street life and souks, yet we were blissfully unaware of any noise from outside. Our room was beautiful, although very dark. We loved our Hammam and massage treatment, too. All in all, we can't wait to return. We absolutely fell in love with Marrakech and know there is so much more to see and do on our next visit, which will definitely be at the Riad Kniza!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Simply wonderful. From the checkin procedure: "sit down in this cool alcove and have some mint tea" to the checkout procedure, which felt more like saying good-bye to old friends.

Let's not kid ourselves; it's not cheap. But the air fare was so much less than to other far-flung destinations that the overall package price was very reasonable.

It was such an experience to stay in one of the sumptuous suites and spend time in this beautiful, calm, cool building. The food was wonderful - if you want something particular they will do it; but why choose when the option they bring to you is so delightful? The service is friendly and attentive. And the staff don't hang around waiting for a tip - you've paid a lot already - but look genuinely touched if you choose to give one.

If anything the only thing I would suggest is that they tone down the attentiveness of serving over dinner because it ended with one dinner being quicker than expected. Still, that perhaps serves me right for not savouring the food for longer!

Definitely recommend the Hammam bath experience plus the massage. Also recommend jumping straight into the pool after pounding the streets of Marrakesh - it gives an instant cool-down.

The roof-top was great for sun-bathing; and seemed a million miles away from the bustling market streets that are right outside the door.

Can't wait to come back... Marrakesh is a wonderful place and this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Go for the Royal Suite. Apparently Brad Pitt stayed there, which seemed to get my wife all enthusias...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed in this Riad for 2 fantastic nights. We had planned ahead of time to move to outskirts of the medina thinking that we would like some peace and quiet of the bustling area. I have to say that our stay on the peaceful oasis of the Riad was far more enjoyable then the Palace a bit further out (the noise of the Palace area was like staying at a zoo compared to the quietness of the Riad, despite its central location). on top of the beauty and tranquillty of the Riad, everyone of the staff at the Riad were amazing. They were there to assist with absolutely anything you needed, and they were all SO friendly! The food and views were both equally as grand. We ate dinner and breakfast on the roof terrace and we couldn't have enjoyed it more. If we had known ahead of time how perfect this place was, we never would have moved to another place. There was simply no reason too! We would go back to this place in a heartbeat!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Royal Suite Bahia which was spectacular! The views on line do not do it justice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#8 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.