We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel I've ever stayed in. We didn't want to leave.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Kniza to your Saves list
Riad Kniza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Inclusions
Ranked #8 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best hotel I've ever stayed in. We didn't want to leave.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Simply wonderful. From the checkin procedure: "sit down in this cool alcove and have some mint tea" to the checkout procedure, which felt more like saying good-bye to old friends.

Let's not kid ourselves; it's not cheap. But the air fare was so much less than to other far-flung destinations that the overall package price was very reasonable.

It was such an experience to stay in one of the sumptuous suites and spend time in this beautiful, calm, cool building. The food was wonderful - if you want something particular they will do it; but why choose when the option they bring to you is so delightful? The service is friendly and attentive. And the staff don't hang around waiting for a tip - you've paid a lot already - but look genuinely touched if you choose to give one.

If anything the only thing I would suggest is that they tone down the attentiveness of serving over dinner because it ended with one dinner being quicker than expected. Still, that perhaps serves me right for not savouring the food for longer!

Definitely recommend the Hammam bath experience plus the massage. Also recommend jumping straight into the pool after pounding the streets of Marrakesh - it gives an instant cool-down.

The roof-top was great for sun-bathing; and seemed a million miles away from the bustling market streets that are right outside the door.

Can't wait to come back... Marrakesh is a wonderful place and this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Go for the Royal Suite. Apparently Brad Pitt stayed there, which seemed to get my wife all enthusias...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    953
    50
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
146
599
15
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed in this Riad for 2 fantastic nights. We had planned ahead of time to move to outskirts of the medina thinking that we would like some peace and quiet of the bustling area. I have to say that our stay on the peaceful oasis of the Riad was far more enjoyable then the Palace a bit further out (the noise of the Palace area was like staying at a zoo compared to the quietness of the Riad, despite its central location). on top of the beauty and tranquillty of the Riad, everyone of the staff at the Riad were amazing. They were there to assist with absolutely anything you needed, and they were all SO friendly! The food and views were both equally as grand. We ate dinner and breakfast on the roof terrace and we couldn't have enjoyed it more. If we had known ahead of time how perfect this place was, we never would have moved to another place. There was simply no reason too! We would go back to this place in a heartbeat!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Royal Suite Bahia which was spectacular! The views on line do not do it justice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becket, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed at this exceptional hotel for a total of 4 nights. It is truly an oasis in the middle of a bustling and huge medina. The staff is friendly and eager to help. The Riad has great amenities such as a swimming pool, rooftop garden with places for both sun and shade, and even a place to take a cooking class.

One early evening, we heard incredible music coming from the courtyard which was a live performance by a well known Moroccan artist. What a great touch.

We loved every momen of our stay at this jewel of a hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Just spent two nights in Marraech at this amazing riad. We were in a junior suite . It was on par with the best places we've stayed at in morocco which is saying a lot. It wasn't just over the top luxurious with jaw dropping appointments, beautiful courtyards, rooftop oasis and fit for royalty rooms but had a staff that anticipated your every need. We ate dinner and breakfast on the roof-top terrace overlooking the city. The food was great. Please, please do yourself a favor and stay here.

Room Tip: Junior suite was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

From arrival to departure the staff were faultless. Without doubt the best service we have ever experienced, with every member of staff being discreetly efficient and friendly. The Riad Kniza was a beautiful oasis amongst the hustle and bustle of the surrounding streets which were culturally fascinating. We stayed in the Marjana room and it was beautiful and tastefully strewn with rose petals on our arrival. The staff organised a trip to the Atlas Mountains and a guided tour of the city and the guides where excellent. They also arranged different restaurants for us to eat at (although the food at the Riad Kniza was superb) and made sure we were taken to them as trying to find them yourself would have been almost impossible. Three nights wasn't long enough so we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My Wife and I felt safe and pampered from arrival. If you love fine antique art and over the top service this is the place for you. There is a saying, God lives in the details.
Well, details abound at the Riad Kniza.
Little touches are found everywhere. Rose petals on the tables, beds, and even the cover of the toilet seat. The smell of Jamine from hidden oil burning, Moroccan paintings done by French artists, 1930 pillow cases on every chair or couch. After a long day of the madness shopping for treasures in the old city, just behide a humble door, you are greeted by modest and grateful staff. They make you feel your now safe at home. With all the amenities including transport to from the airport, day tours, breakfast, all nonachohol drinks,massage,etc, this fabulous place is a bargin. I highly recommend this world class,unique, gem.
Dane
Vancouver, Canada

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This was our first visit to Marrakech so selecting the Riad Kniza was a shot in the dark. Well a good shot it was. A place that is alive and inviting with a wonderful staff full of energy and the joy to serve. It started with us selecting the Riad Kniza about two months in advance, I asked a lot of questions via email and they responded to each one. We requested an airport pickup and we were provided one which was there waiting for us even though our flight arrived an hour late, room service, tours, train tickets, etc, etc.. We pre-ordered our first nights dinner and ate in one of the Riad's lovely dining areas all of which are lovely. Our first night we stayed in a room that gave us a true Marrakech feel with beautiful rugs, pictures, and furnishings throughout, oh yeah, and Rose petals spread here and there adding a special touch. The next two days we spent in a suite that was oh so nice. We relaxed having both dinner and breakfast in our suite with full service; tablecloth, napkins, tea, fruit, and anything we might of asked for. We spent one afternoon enjoying the Hammam and a nice massage provided in a lovely pool area, really a great relaxing afternoon. The entire staff are wonderful from top to bottom so I won't mention any special names since there's no need to; they all have the same philosophy; make your stay great. Thank Riad Kniza for a memorable stay in Marrakech. By the way my wife said to add that this is the nicest place she has ever stayed

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#8 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.