We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded all expectations, totally amazing experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza

Save Saved
You added Riad Kniza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Kniza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1 FREE Night
Ranked #11 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded all expectations, totally amazing experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

From arrival to departure the staff were faultless. Without doubt the best service we have ever experienced, with every member of staff being discreetly efficient and friendly. The Riad Kniza was a beautiful oasis amongst the hustle and bustle of the surrounding streets which were culturally fascinating. We stayed in the Marjana room and it was beautiful and tastefully strewn with rose petals on our arrival. The staff organised a trip to the Atlas Mountains and a guided tour of the city and the guides where excellent. They also arranged different restaurants for us to eat at (although the food at the Riad Kniza was superb) and made sure we were taken to them as trying to find them yourself would have been almost impossible. Three nights wasn't long enough so we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    926
    49
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
140
578
14
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delta, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My Wife and I felt safe and pampered from arrival. If you love fine antique art and over the top service this is the place for you. There is a saying, God lives in the details.
Well, details abound at the Riad Kniza.
Little touches are found everywhere. Rose petals on the tables, beds, and even the cover of the toilet seat. The smell of Jamine from hidden oil burning, Moroccan paintings done by French artists, 1930 pillow cases on every chair or couch. After a long day of the madness shopping for treasures in the old city, just behide a humble door, you are greeted by modest and grateful staff. They make you feel your now safe at home. With all the amenities including transport to from the airport, day tours, breakfast, all nonachohol drinks,massage,etc, this fabulous place is a bargin. I highly recommend this world class,unique, gem.
Dane
Vancouver, Canada

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This was our first visit to Marrakech so selecting the Riad Kniza was a shot in the dark. Well a good shot it was. A place that is alive and inviting with a wonderful staff full of energy and the joy to serve. It started with us selecting the Riad Kniza about two months in advance, I asked a lot of questions via email and they responded to each one. We requested an airport pickup and we were provided one which was there waiting for us even though our flight arrived an hour late, room service, tours, train tickets, etc, etc.. We pre-ordered our first nights dinner and ate in one of the Riad's lovely dining areas all of which are lovely. Our first night we stayed in a room that gave us a true Marrakech feel with beautiful rugs, pictures, and furnishings throughout, oh yeah, and Rose petals spread here and there adding a special touch. The next two days we spent in a suite that was oh so nice. We relaxed having both dinner and breakfast in our suite with full service; tablecloth, napkins, tea, fruit, and anything we might of asked for. We spent one afternoon enjoying the Hammam and a nice massage provided in a lovely pool area, really a great relaxing afternoon. The entire staff are wonderful from top to bottom so I won't mention any special names since there's no need to; they all have the same philosophy; make your stay great. Thank Riad Kniza for a memorable stay in Marrakech. By the way my wife said to add that this is the nicest place she has ever stayed

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is long overdue. Exactly six months late, actually. My apologies to the entire staff of this unbelievable place for not expressing our gratitude sooner. I will not say anything about the hotel itself, as it has been thoroughly reviewed in previous posts. I will just say that we were (and still are) impressed by the attention of the staff to every one of our requests, which had started with our planning almost a year before the trip. Kamal, Amina and Samira treated every one of my emails and every one of my -- sometimes silly -- questions as if they were the most important thing to them. They helped me plan the entire trip, change things back and forth, make reservations, cancellations, give advice.....all with a smile (or so if felt, I couldn't really see their faces through emails)
A separate thank to the entire Bouskri family for turning this house into a hotel and for keeping it at such top world-class level in every respect. Also, thank you, Kamal, for that unexpected upgrade at the end of our trip.

Room Tip: if you can afford it, go for the Bahia Suite. It's out of this world!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We started our mini tour of Morocco here and were so well looked after by all the staff. Our meals were delicious and served either in one of the opulent dining rooms or on the roof terrace. After a hectic day in the souks of Marrakesh we escaped to this beautiful riad. Fantastic location in the medina and great views from the roof terrace. Our rooms were beautifully decorated and we all slept so well! Breakfast was fantastic and the teenagers enjoyed the chocolate cake.
We highly recommend this riad as a place to stay or eat or both. We were treated like royalty!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at Riad Kniza in March, and booked on the pictures and reviews on here. Staying in a Riad in Marrakech has been on my do to list, and Kniza did not disappoint. It is stunning. I won't go on, as you can clearly see from the pictures that is really is beautiful.

We stayed in a Junior Suite and enjoyed every luxurious minute. We ate in on our 1st night and the food was the best we had in Marrakech, very generous portions, I was upset I could not finish it all. I thought the food and drinks were well priced. And the pastries with every single Mint Tea were yummy. We ate breakfast every morning on the terrace, the orange juice was delicious, eggs either boiled, poached or fried, various breads and cakes, jams etc, pastries, coffee, plenty.

The staff were attentive, discreet, helpful, everything you could ask for really. We were there during the last game of the Six Nations Rugby and the staff sent out a driver to find a bar which would be screening the match! Successfully I might add! They cannot do enough for you.

We used the sauna that was switched on specially for us, which was good, the pool was not heated, although we could request it, but were were only there for 3 nights, so not too fussed about swimming. We had a Hamam, fairly priced and a massage which could have been firmer, but that is just personal preference.

I know the Riad was fully booked, but we saw very few guests. It felt we had the place to ourselves. I recommend the half day tour as well, very informative.

We had a wonderful stay in Marrakech, and Riad Kniza made our trip extra special.

Thank you to Somerra and all the staff for a truly wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband and I have just returned following a stay of 4 nights. We thought the riad was outstanding, so beautifully furnished and well cared for. All staff are ultra helpful and polite without being intrusive. The food was excellent and the large breakfast kept us going until evening time. We booked the 4 night package which included: transfers, breakfast each morning, one Moroccan gourmet dinner with bottle of wine, all non-alcoholic drinks during stay, half-day Marrakech tour with English speaking guide, a half-day trip to the High Atlas Mountains (about one hour from Marrakech) in a private air-conditioned car and a half hour massage. All in all a very enjoyable trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.