We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in the middle of chaos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Kniza to your Saves list
Riad Kniza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #16 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Washington, Ct
Level Contributor
128 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Oasis in the middle of chaos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This place deserve more than five star rating. It is a unique small hotel with dedicated staff, absolutely superior rooms, superb, old fashioned interior decoration, exquisite restaurant in semi-private rooms, professional service, etc., etc. It was impossible to find something wrong with this hotel.

Room Tip: all rooms are absolutely great, you cannot go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,030
    59
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
157
665
13
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

A friend and I stayed at Riad Kniza in March 2013 after it was recommended by some friends. The riad could not do enough for us and made us feel like royalty. The staff were so friendly and helpful, booking us taxis when we needed them, recommending places to go to eat and even bringing us food and drink whenever we wanted it! The food was beautiful, very tasty chicken skewers with rice and salad. The whole riad was beautiful and so well looked after, lovely family feel to it. Even the cleaning ladies were lovely. We would 100% recommend this riad to anyone visiting Marrakech, it is perfectly located within the medina and is a short walk to all the main areas within the walls. The riad provided us with an amazing tour guide on our first day which helped us figure out where to go in the local area and gave us lots of tips on what to do/see on our short 3 day stay. He even put us in touch with a friend of his who took us round the markets and helped us to negotiate prices and found us e best places to go. We had a real Moroccan experience thanks to the tour guides and got to see things I'm sure we would not have seen had we not had these guides, for example we had a go at making a traditional Moroccan rug, making oils, seeing the beautiful dresses. We can not thank the riad enough for our wonderful stay and will be recommending it to everyone!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

From the minute you step out of your taxi to the minute you leave Riad Kniza life becomes perfect, from the staff, to the suites, to the food and the facilities..........all are there to make life idyllic..........and then you step into the hammam, the ultimate relaxation after a day of hustle and bustle around the medina, what could be better, ten out of ten for the whole experience.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We just returned from 12 fabulous days in Morocco, kicked off with 4 days at this wonderful oasis inside the walls of the Medina of Marrakech. The staff is young (20's to 30's), energetic, knowledgeable and eager to please. The interior from the main level to the roof top deck is beautiful from the mosaics to the carved plaster and wood to the many room furnishings and artwork. I hate to say perfect, but it seemed that way. Mohammed, the owner, gives a half-day tour at no charge, and as you walk through the heart of the old city with him, everyone seems to know him. His understanding of the history of Marrakech is extensive, and he delivers it with a gentle voice and the emotion of someone who loves his city and his part within it. He even took us out a couple of hours a second day at no charge! The food is as fabulous as every other aspect. We had breakfast in our room each morning, and it was presented on a table cloth with flowers and all the accoutrements. Some may find the rates "fully priced", but If you are thinking of staying anywhere else, just stay here one night... you will not regret it!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I'm struggling to come up with enough superlatives to use for Riad Kniza, or for one tiny imperfection to point out to tell them they could do something better...but i have nothing. From the moment we walked in, our every need was taken care of in such a beautiful fashion that I felt that the employees were anticipating our needs before we even knew we had them. Truly the standard of service at Riad Kniza is world-class.

But the rating is not just about service. How about the rooms? Also, perfection. We started in the smallest room in the Riad, and it was gorgeous and sumptiously outfitted. After one night, however, we were given a beautiful surprise--some had left the large suite in the riad, and management offered to allow us to upgrade for free. I couldn't even begin to describe this suite except to say that if you have an opportunity to stay there, at any price, jump on it.

The restaurant is also by far the best food we had in all of Morocco, which was no small feat as all of Morocco has such delicious food! It is incredible the amount and quality of the presentation at the restaurant.

Lastly, if you stay at Riad Kniza, do what we did EVERY night--relax with a glass of wine or beer on the spectacular rooftop terrace, overlooking the city, and listen to the call to prayer as the sun goes down. Might be the best experience I've ever had anywhere.

If I could live at Riad Kniza, I would. Hmmmm...perhaps I'll check on it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We have just returned from a trip in Marrakech. We stayed at Riad Kniza. I had so many questions prior to our visit and received prompt complete answers. Everything that was promised was delivered and more. There were two couples in our group arriving different times and different airports. Both couples luggage was delayed. The staff followed up and delivered the luggage promptly even though the issues had been airlines.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Riad Kniza is beautiful in every way. The rooms are stunning, well furnished with everything you could possibly need for a restful stay. The staff were amazing, nothing was too much trouble for them, they all made us feel very much at home and special in this tranquil oasis of peace. The Riad is well located within the Medina and close to the Souks. Staying at the Riad Kniza really made my husbands 50th birthday trip just that little bit more memorable. Not only is it an amazing place to stay but also the food is incredible, worth visiting to eat even if you aren't staying there. We definitely be back to visit again in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#8 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,311 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 659 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#1 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,048 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#30 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 756 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad El Mansour
Riad El Mansour
#113 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#29 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.