We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza

Save Saved
You added Riad Kniza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Kniza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1 FREE Night
Ranked #11 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

From the minute you step out of your taxi to the minute you leave Riad Kniza life becomes perfect, from the staff, to the suites, to the food and the facilities..........all are there to make life idyllic..........and then you step into the hammam, the ultimate relaxation after a day of hustle and bustle around the medina, what could be better, ten out of ten for the whole experience.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    926
    50
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
140
579
14
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We just returned from 12 fabulous days in Morocco, kicked off with 4 days at this wonderful oasis inside the walls of the Medina of Marrakech. The staff is young (20's to 30's), energetic, knowledgeable and eager to please. The interior from the main level to the roof top deck is beautiful from the mosaics to the carved plaster and wood to the many room furnishings and artwork. I hate to say perfect, but it seemed that way. Mohammed, the owner, gives a half-day tour at no charge, and as you walk through the heart of the old city with him, everyone seems to know him. His understanding of the history of Marrakech is extensive, and he delivers it with a gentle voice and the emotion of someone who loves his city and his part within it. He even took us out a couple of hours a second day at no charge! The food is as fabulous as every other aspect. We had breakfast in our room each morning, and it was presented on a table cloth with flowers and all the accoutrements. Some may find the rates "fully priced", but If you are thinking of staying anywhere else, just stay here one night... you will not regret it!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I'm struggling to come up with enough superlatives to use for Riad Kniza, or for one tiny imperfection to point out to tell them they could do something better...but i have nothing. From the moment we walked in, our every need was taken care of in such a beautiful fashion that I felt that the employees were anticipating our needs before we even knew we had them. Truly the standard of service at Riad Kniza is world-class.

But the rating is not just about service. How about the rooms? Also, perfection. We started in the smallest room in the Riad, and it was gorgeous and sumptiously outfitted. After one night, however, we were given a beautiful surprise--some had left the large suite in the riad, and management offered to allow us to upgrade for free. I couldn't even begin to describe this suite except to say that if you have an opportunity to stay there, at any price, jump on it.

The restaurant is also by far the best food we had in all of Morocco, which was no small feat as all of Morocco has such delicious food! It is incredible the amount and quality of the presentation at the restaurant.

Lastly, if you stay at Riad Kniza, do what we did EVERY night--relax with a glass of wine or beer on the spectacular rooftop terrace, overlooking the city, and listen to the call to prayer as the sun goes down. Might be the best experience I've ever had anywhere.

If I could live at Riad Kniza, I would. Hmmmm...perhaps I'll check on it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We have just returned from a trip in Marrakech. We stayed at Riad Kniza. I had so many questions prior to our visit and received prompt complete answers. Everything that was promised was delivered and more. There were two couples in our group arriving different times and different airports. Both couples luggage was delayed. The staff followed up and delivered the luggage promptly even though the issues had been airlines.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Riad Kniza is beautiful in every way. The rooms are stunning, well furnished with everything you could possibly need for a restful stay. The staff were amazing, nothing was too much trouble for them, they all made us feel very much at home and special in this tranquil oasis of peace. The Riad is well located within the Medina and close to the Souks. Staying at the Riad Kniza really made my husbands 50th birthday trip just that little bit more memorable. Not only is it an amazing place to stay but also the food is incredible, worth visiting to eat even if you aren't staying there. We definitely be back to visit again in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The riad is beautiful and very well
A great pleasure to be welcomed into this riad. Rooms decorated with very good taste exude authenticity
everything is wonderful the service is kenza own thank you and also i tour morocco agancy for the booking

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I recently celebrated our wedding anniversary at the stunningly beautiful Riad Kniza situated within the historic medina. I had initially booked the Four Seasons but after reading the reviews of Riad Kniza on Trip Advisor, I changed my booking and am so very pleased that I did. The Riad Kniza made our trip!

I cannot say enough good things about the Riad - not only is it quite simply exquisite with every architechural detail (intricate stucco, cedarwood ceilings and marquetry) artfully restored but the level of customer service exceeds expectations. Nothing is too much trouble and the staff exhibit the most gracious hospitality.

Our room, the Johara suite, was both beautiful and spacious and situated at the top of the Riad. Breakfast was served al fresco each morning on the sunny rooftop garden terrace with a view of the snow covered Atlas mountains and the sound of bird song. My husband especially liked the breakfast which was both plentiful and tasty comprising freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit, yougurt, cereal, eggs and a variety of Moroccan breads and cake with a selection of jams. Both coffee and tea were also served. Dinner is available in the restaurant in the evening and is a set 7 course traditional Moroccan banquet - the food was gorgeous! The Riad even presented us with a beautiful chocolate cake in celebration of our anniversary that was worthy of a specialist patisserie.

The half day tour with an English speaking guide was very useful to get our bearings within the median but it is very easy to get from the Riad to the main square Jemaa El Fna and we didn't get lost once even coming home at night. In fact, the location of the Riad is excellent for visiting the main sights and I was really pleased that we chose to stay within the medina walls rather than at the Palmerie or further away. Despite the hustle and bustle outside, the Riad was always an oasis of calm and seclusion; very welcome afer a day sightseeing in the souks.

We experienced the hamman and a massage which are available in the Riad, both of which were excellent and I would very much recommed.

Finally, we would both like to say a huge thank you to everyone at the Riad Kniza for their kind hospitality and that the first class reviews are richly deserved. This really is the most fantastic place to stay!

Room Tip: Johara Suite was spacious and simply stunning with the most exquisite architectural details
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.