We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Kniza to your Saves list
Riad Kniza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Inclusions
Ranked #12 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Perfection.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I'm struggling to come up with enough superlatives to use for Riad Kniza, or for one tiny imperfection to point out to tell them they could do something better...but i have nothing. From the moment we walked in, our every need was taken care of in such a beautiful fashion that I felt that the employees were anticipating our needs before we even knew we had them. Truly the standard of service at Riad Kniza is world-class.

But the rating is not just about service. How about the rooms? Also, perfection. We started in the smallest room in the Riad, and it was gorgeous and sumptiously outfitted. After one night, however, we were given a beautiful surprise--some had left the large suite in the riad, and management offered to allow us to upgrade for free. I couldn't even begin to describe this suite except to say that if you have an opportunity to stay there, at any price, jump on it.

The restaurant is also by far the best food we had in all of Morocco, which was no small feat as all of Morocco has such delicious food! It is incredible the amount and quality of the presentation at the restaurant.

Lastly, if you stay at Riad Kniza, do what we did EVERY night--relax with a glass of wine or beer on the spectacular rooftop terrace, overlooking the city, and listen to the call to prayer as the sun goes down. Might be the best experience I've ever had anywhere.

If I could live at Riad Kniza, I would. Hmmmm...perhaps I'll check on it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    988
    54
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
150
629
15
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Petersburg
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We have just returned from a trip in Marrakech. We stayed at Riad Kniza. I had so many questions prior to our visit and received prompt complete answers. Everything that was promised was delivered and more. There were two couples in our group arriving different times and different airports. Both couples luggage was delayed. The staff followed up and delivered the luggage promptly even though the issues had been airlines.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Riad Kniza is beautiful in every way. The rooms are stunning, well furnished with everything you could possibly need for a restful stay. The staff were amazing, nothing was too much trouble for them, they all made us feel very much at home and special in this tranquil oasis of peace. The Riad is well located within the Medina and close to the Souks. Staying at the Riad Kniza really made my husbands 50th birthday trip just that little bit more memorable. Not only is it an amazing place to stay but also the food is incredible, worth visiting to eat even if you aren't staying there. We definitely be back to visit again in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The riad is beautiful and very well
A great pleasure to be welcomed into this riad. Rooms decorated with very good taste exude authenticity
everything is wonderful the service is kenza own thank you and also i tour morocco agancy for the booking

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I recently celebrated our wedding anniversary at the stunningly beautiful Riad Kniza situated within the historic medina. I had initially booked the Four Seasons but after reading the reviews of Riad Kniza on Trip Advisor, I changed my booking and am so very pleased that I did. The Riad Kniza made our trip!

I cannot say enough good things about the Riad - not only is it quite simply exquisite with every architechural detail (intricate stucco, cedarwood ceilings and marquetry) artfully restored but the level of customer service exceeds expectations. Nothing is too much trouble and the staff exhibit the most gracious hospitality.

Our room, the Johara suite, was both beautiful and spacious and situated at the top of the Riad. Breakfast was served al fresco each morning on the sunny rooftop garden terrace with a view of the snow covered Atlas mountains and the sound of bird song. My husband especially liked the breakfast which was both plentiful and tasty comprising freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit, yougurt, cereal, eggs and a variety of Moroccan breads and cake with a selection of jams. Both coffee and tea were also served. Dinner is available in the restaurant in the evening and is a set 7 course traditional Moroccan banquet - the food was gorgeous! The Riad even presented us with a beautiful chocolate cake in celebration of our anniversary that was worthy of a specialist patisserie.

The half day tour with an English speaking guide was very useful to get our bearings within the median but it is very easy to get from the Riad to the main square Jemaa El Fna and we didn't get lost once even coming home at night. In fact, the location of the Riad is excellent for visiting the main sights and I was really pleased that we chose to stay within the medina walls rather than at the Palmerie or further away. Despite the hustle and bustle outside, the Riad was always an oasis of calm and seclusion; very welcome afer a day sightseeing in the souks.

We experienced the hamman and a massage which are available in the Riad, both of which were excellent and I would very much recommed.

Finally, we would both like to say a huge thank you to everyone at the Riad Kniza for their kind hospitality and that the first class reviews are richly deserved. This really is the most fantastic place to stay!

Room Tip: Johara Suite was spacious and simply stunning with the most exquisite architectural details
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The hotel and rooms are beautiful, the staff and level of welcome and service are extraordinary. The mint tea, the breakfast and the dinners are wonderful. The location is excellent. You could not pick a better place to stay in Marrakesh.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
123 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful oasis of calm conveniently located just inside the Medina. The hotel has wonderful character and the staff were consistently helpful and friendly. The rooftop terrace is a real plus with fantastic views across the city to the Atlas Mountains.
Breakfast was excellent and generous although a little more variety would have been good. All in all we would highly recommend a stay.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#8 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.