We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little paradise in a busy city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza

Save Saved
You added Riad Kniza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Kniza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1 FREE Night
Ranked #13 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
sussex
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A little paradise in a busy city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

My husband and I spent four days in Marrakesh staying in the Riad Kniza. The riad is definetly to be recommend as a wonderful place to stay. It is conveniently within the old city walls, so only reasonably short distances to all the famous sites. The riad is very comfortable, the staff are wonderful and make you feel really at home, nothing is too much trouble. In the winter when the temperature drops at night they light lovely wood fires in the lounges and dining areas. There is a lovely roof terrace with views over the city where breakfast can be taken and you can relax on comfortable sofas after a busy day sight seeing. The food in the restaurant is good Moroccan fare and certainly worth having. I cannot think of a single thing about this establishment that was not first class and it is well worth staying here.
I would like to thank all of the staff for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    927
    50
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
140
581
14
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This hotel is truly breath taking. I really have nothing bad to say about it... Everything from the friendly service to the food and the very nice rooms are great. To look out over the Atlas mountains during breakfast on the rooftop are, well I don´t find words...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We had an amazing stay here. The decor and rooms are stunning. Took so many photos. The service is just second to none, nothing was too much trouble, the staff were so helpful. The tour was very informative and a great addition to the holiday. The breakfasts and meals were top quality, tasty, and enormous. Do have breakfast on the roof terrace if you can, that was fantastic. The massage treatment was brilliant too. The staff brought logs and made a fire in the evening when we wanted to relax in our suite. They have won many awards, and they will continue to win awards. If you stay in Marrakech, this is THE place to stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Riad Kniza is a short walk inside the Medina and provides a total contrast to, and escape from the chaotic hustle and bustle that characterises Marrakech. When you step through the front door of Riad Kniza you are transported into a different world. The service is some of the best I have ever experienced. The relaxed, welcoming and friendly staff (at every level) maintained a consistently high standard of service throughout our 4 night stay. We stayed in the Ambar suite which was split level. The two rooms were full of character and individualism as well as being spacious and comfortable.
The rest of the Riad was full of interesting and atmospheric courtyards, Morrocan salons and a roof terrace where we enjoyed breakfasts.
Dinner was a series of authentic Morrocan dishes which were really excellent. We only managed the full Morrocan feast on one night, however you could select your favourite dishes in any combination - nothing was too much trouble.
I would have no hesitation in recommending the Riad Kniza to anyone. It is a really special place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Spacious rooms, outstanding and helpful staff, impeccable decoration, fantastic food. Simply put, this place is excellent. When you arrive, you might be put off by the short walk through the market street to where the Riad is located, but once you are through the front door, you'll be in heaven. The only weak point was internet connection which was weak in most of the Riad. But then again, who wants to surf the net when you are in Marrakech?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

The Riad is the epitome of service and elegance. At check in we were shown to a lovely salon where mint tea and Morrocan cookies were served while our paperwork was processed. Soft music and a warm fire added to the ambiance. Dinner was a series of courses that were unusual and delicious. Every aspect of our stay exceeded our expectations.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Our 3 days stay here was exceptional in it's beauty, service, hospitality and assistance with our every request. Our suite was large and inviting with a constant replenishment of soft towels, water and meticulous housekeeping. The presentation and quality of the plentiful and delicious food for our breakfasts and dinners was enjoyed in any of the public rooms of our choice. There were several salons, some with fireplaces, in addition to a rooftop terrace and the dining room. All were decorated beautifully with Moroccan antiques and lovely artwork. All of the staff were charming, helpful, friendly and hard workers. Particular kudos to Fikri and Samira. There is also a spa and an indoor pool at the riad.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#5 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.