We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury +++++” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza

Save Saved
You added Riad Kniza to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Kniza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1 FREE Night
Ranked #13 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Luxury +++++”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

The Riad is the epitome of service and elegance. At check in we were shown to a lovely salon where mint tea and Morrocan cookies were served while our paperwork was processed. Soft music and a warm fire added to the ambiance. Dinner was a series of courses that were unusual and delicious. Every aspect of our stay exceeded our expectations.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    927
    50
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
140
581
14
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Our 3 days stay here was exceptional in it's beauty, service, hospitality and assistance with our every request. Our suite was large and inviting with a constant replenishment of soft towels, water and meticulous housekeeping. The presentation and quality of the plentiful and delicious food for our breakfasts and dinners was enjoyed in any of the public rooms of our choice. There were several salons, some with fireplaces, in addition to a rooftop terrace and the dining room. All were decorated beautifully with Moroccan antiques and lovely artwork. All of the staff were charming, helpful, friendly and hard workers. Particular kudos to Fikri and Samira. There is also a spa and an indoor pool at the riad.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed here for a week in February half term. The staff could not have been more accommodating, helpful and pleasant. The rooms were spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated with rose petals when we first checked in, the breakfasts were sumptuous - either on the roof terrace or in the downstairs rooms. I would have no hesitation in recommending this to a visitor to Marrakech.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

In the middle of a busy market, down an ally, open the door and you enter a secluded paradise. It really was a surprise. The riad itself is wonderful and gave us the authentic experience we were looking for. The rooms was very comfortable and the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. As it happens they have one of the best restaurants in the city. There is no menu, you just say what you'd Ike for dinner and it is made for you - very cool!
Breakfast on the terrace was another treat. It is not a buffet but you get served a lot of food (and no objections if you ask for seconds if needed!).
What made this an excellent experience was not only the staff, but who they deal with. Our tour guide - amazing, taxi's that work with the hotel - very friendly, and again a wonderful staff.
Overall we had a great time and would definitely return.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Just back from 3 nights at Riad Kniza. I read up extensively prior to booking where we would stay and came across numerous reviews on tripadvisor. I decided on staying here as the reviews were amazing, hoping that all would be good, as we were wanting a nice break. Forget about good, it was great! We both believed it was easily one of the best places we have stayed when it comes to how they look after you. From small attentions to details such as asking us everytime what we wanted (and then making sure that happened) to insisting we treat the Riad as our home. Nothing was too much trouble. The service was genuine. No doubt in our mind that this is the THE PLACE in the Medina. There really is (as the other reviews state) an unreal transformation behind the doors from the street level to inside the Riad. It surpassed our expectations. The facilities in each room were great and the architecture breathtaking! Their knowledge of the city was awesome and they made so many arrangements for us. We have never stayed in a place such as this where we felt so humbled by the constant and high level of care given to guests. Look no further (as I did when I booked for us)! The location is great for both the Medina and new part of the city, very close to one of the gates to the Medina. Once again to Kamal and his amazing team - congratulations on what you have achieved!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed at Riad Kniza in December 2012 and had a fantastic time. The rooms, service and people were all very nice. Highly recommend this place to anyone planning a visit to Marrakech. Even if you don't stay there, you should try the restaurant one night. We tried a few other good restaurants in Marrakech during our stay, but food at Kniza was the best. We hope to return again sometime in the future!

Room Tip: Try the sultan suites if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, HI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Wow. I just stayed at the Riad Kniza for a week and it was an amazing experience. Aside from the beautiful, clean rooms and common areas, the most spectacular aspect of my experience was the service. I'd give everything at this Riad the highest Trip Advisor rating of 5, but if I could, I would give the service a 10. I am not exaggerating when I say they all made me feel like family. There is a sense of genuine concern and care for the well being of the guests that emanates from every member of the staff and which I have not experienced in this way anywhere else I have visited in the world. The entire staff is exemplary. Many thanks to Samira, Hicham (both!), Mounir (both!), Mohammed S., Amine and Amina.

If you want an authentic, Marrakech experience and you want to be taken care of, this is the place to go. Great location-- right in the Medina yet a world apart. Stunning architecture and design. And a warmth that I found lacking when visiting other high-end properties in Marrakech.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#5 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;