We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven of peace & quiet and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza

Save Saved
You added Riad Kniza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Kniza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1 FREE Night
Ranked #11 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A haven of peace & quiet and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

What a wonderful place for a romantic break.
The Riad is superbly appointed and beautifully maintained.
The service is discrete but attentive.
The location is perfect for wandering (lost or otherwise) the Medina of Marrakech.

We had a couple of minor issues but they were sorted out very quickly and with the minimum of fuss/aggravation.

We booked a 4 night package (B&B, room, Medina tour, Atlas Mountains tour & massage) and added Hamman/scrubs and a cooking lesson. All were wonderful and great value for money.

A big thanks to all the staff and owners - we will return!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    926
    50
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
140
579
14
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Although its a culture shock when you're dropped off just inside the Medina, as soon as you're through the door of this beautiful Riad it's an oasis of calm. The suites are lovely and spotlessly clean. The staff are all without exception very welcoming. The food, including an evening meal was exceptional. All in all highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My wife and I spent three nights in heaven at the Riad Kniza. The staff were remarkable -- friendly, helpful, and always with a smile. We were served breakfast on the roof terrace, which was peaceful. The food at breakfast and dinner was plentiful and totally delicious. Our room was well appointed, spacious, super-clean. We were greeted with rose petals everywhere.

The central area where we rested or had dinner was just an amazing sight to behold. This is the place to stay inside the medina.

Room Tip: We were in the Sultan Suite. I am sure all the rooms are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Just spent a long weekend there with my husband. Super riad, beautifully appointed, impeccabile service. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Food super served with a smile and an extremely cosy dining room. Located in the real Marrakech. A little, peaceful oasis in the middle of the medina. Will return again as soon as we can!

Room Tip: We stayed in a junior suite. Beautifully decorated, very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have just returned from 4 nights at the Riad Kniza, a treat for my husband's birthday. A colleague had recommended it and I have to say, it lived up to the wonderful review he gave. We arrived in the daytime, having had a driver pick us up from the airport (arranged by the Riad) -be aware that cars cannot get to the front door and that you are dropped off in the middle of a bustling, noisy market ... however you are quickly picked up by one of the staff and you are taken down a small dark alleyway and into the Riad. Once inside, if feels as though you are in another world - quiet, calm, serene and beautiful. This is a magical place, the staff are wonderful and nothing is too much trouble. We stayed in the Yakout suite which was stunning - comfortable lounges and an open fire (which we needed on our first night). The bed was supremely comfortable, and having wireless internet in the room was an added bonus. We ate in the Riad on the first night and the food was delicious, and every morning we had breakfast on the sunny roof terrace. We had two tours included in the package, a guided trip round the city and a day in the Atlas mountains - both guides were knowledgable and friendly (and one of them even lent us some cash when we ran short!!) We also had a hammam and massage which were excellent. The location is perfect for the souks and the square - both easy walking distance, and you soon get your bearings. This was our first trip to Marrakech - and the Riad Kniza made it incredibly special. The awards are well deserved, thanks to all at the Riad for making this a memorable trip.

Room Tip: Yakout suite was fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I have stayed at this fine Marrakech riad and do believe it to be one of the finest luxury hotels I have ever experienced. It is a virtual dome of quiet, plush luxury in the midst of the noisy, crowded
wonderful chaos that is the Marrakech medina.
I enjoyed sitting on plush cushions next to a fountain of water with flower petals floating, while being served a delicious lamb ravine. Such peace only a few feet from the noise on the other side of the wall. Kamal is an excellent host. Honors well deserved.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The hottest spot in town! :) But calm, very relaxing, stylish and the most generous and friendly team to service their guests. We deeply enjoyed being there. The perfect spot to explore the Medina and all the important sightseeings in Marrakech. Very educated and professional people from Marrok

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.