We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza

Save Saved
You added Riad Kniza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Kniza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1 FREE Night
Ranked #8 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My husband and I spent two weeks traveling across Morocco and our experience at Riad Kniza was the best. They picked us up from the airport and transported us to the beautiful property, which is in a small street, in a central location. As soon as the front door opened, we were greeted with an oasis from the bustling city of Marrakech. At check-in we were served tea in one of the sitting rooms. Our room was very comfortable and spacious. The entire property is beautiful and filled with many unique sitting areas. The service is excellent. We enjoyed breakfast on the terrace each morning. I cannot recommend this property enough. You will love it if you value excellent service, traditional decor, modern amenities and a peaceful environment.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    940
    50
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
142
591
14
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We chose this riad for its location central to the Medina (old city). It is owned by a Moroccan family and the service is excellent. Rooms are spacious and superbly appointed, bathrooms have all of the modern conveniences while the decor is refined but understated Moroccan. There is an indoor pool, small restaurant which is one of the finest in Marrakesh, spa, and bountiful breakfast spreads included in the room price which are served on the upper terrace. Also included is a private guide for one half day and a private driver to meet you at the airport. They attend to every detail here and every restaurant recommendation made by the front desk has been reliable and excellent. For one who often hires top notch guides when traveling in developing countries, there is no need here as they will arrange it all at reasonable prices day by day. While there are more opulent Riads, this one feels truly authentic and not touristy. I highly recommend this Riad. They also have wi fi. No gym though. We worked out on the roof before breakfast.

Room Tip: 103 Jr suite is very nice. Also enjoyed 110 master bed with fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

My mother, daughter and myself have just enjoyed three wonderful nights at the Riad Kniza in Marrakech. It is tucked away in a side street, a short stroll from one of the medina gates.
As we have discovered in Morocco, you must never judge anything by the understated nature of the front entrance. At Riad Kniza, you step through the front door and reception area, into the most beautiful, fragrant setting that pays true homage to Morocco's rich cultural heritage. The owners and staff could not have been more helpful or friendly, providing us with the most wonderful stay of our entire trip.
Both bedrooms were beautifully appointed, decorated and very comfortable. The dinners and breakfasts were delicious, showing traditional Moroccan generosity and hospitality. And, the rooftop terrace with views over the Atlas Mountains, was a delightful place to enjoy both breakfast and an evening drink.
We would all highly recommend Riad Kniza to anyone contemplating a visit to Marrakech, you will be delighted.
Sharon McClelland, Australia, December, 2012

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

The hotel was incredible. The rooms were plush and comfortable. The staff were accomodating and welcoming. The rooftop deck was perfect for breakfast and cocktails. Watching the moon rise on the roof top deck was amazing. The personal attention by the owner and his family made us feel like we were in their home. The food was incredible and the hammman/massages were a must do.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This couldn;t have been better for us as our first trip to Morocco

The city and Medina especially can feel quite daunting but this home away from home kept us cocooned from all of that and fed us delicious food and encased us in the most beautiful rooms with period furniture and tatseful design.

We didn;t want to leave

The staff are charming and couldn't have been more helpful. Their information about the city was invaluable but we hardlty ventured out as we felt so happy having time together in this wonderful place

Room Tip: make sure you book a car from the airport as it can be hard to find
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My husband and I spent an unforgettable week at the Riad in October. After a great recommendation from friends who'd stayed there, I was prepared for traditional and beautiful Moroccan-style accommodations, excellent food and gracious hosts, but nothing could prepare us for the experience to come. I had communicated by e-mail with Hicham, Samira, Amina and Kamal, the wonderful staff, and when we met them all in person, they felt like old friends. Everyone is incredible kind and helpful, and make their guests feel very special. Our room, the Johara Junior Suite, was magnificent, with a sitting area, fireplace and gorgeous bathroom. The roof terrace where we ate the sumptious breakfast and most dinners is a haven of relaxation. AND the food is spectacular!

The 7 day package was wonderful, with transfers, a trip to the High Atlas, a tour of Marrakesh, 2 massages and many other extras. The staff arranged 2 other trips for us as well, to Essouiera and the Sahara. All excursions were excellent. I was so happy to return to the Riad each time we left.

I cannot say enough in praise of Riad Kniza. We will most definitely go back for another visit, and this time I will probably never leave the premises! It is truly a bit of heaven on earth.

Room Tip: All the rooms are magnificent. There are beautiful photos of each room on their website
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Having just spent 4 nights at Riad Kniza, I must concur with most of the reviews. It is a really charming place with excellent service and great character. We ate in the hotel every night and enjoyed both the food and the surroundings. The terrace was fantastic to enjoy breakfast or rest in the afternoon with great views of the Atlas mountains. The package which include transfers and excursions is very convenient and extremely worthwhile.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#8 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.