We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Small Hotel in the Medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Kniza to your Saves list
Riad Kniza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Inclusions
Ranked #10 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
Cambridge
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Lovely Small Hotel in the Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This hotel has been owned by the same family since it was built. It has been restored meticulously. It is beautiful. The service is outstanding. The food excellent. Definitely go to dinner here. The rooms are lovely, many with fireplaces. We also stayed at La Villa Orangers (Relais and Chateaux) and this definitely compares regarding beauty, service and food. The main drawback is that the pool is small and there are no gardens, just courtyards, but still a beautiful place.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quite nice. If you are there in the winter ask for a room with fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    985
    53
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
149
626
15
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We booked this Riad after looking at the reviews on tripadvisor and it lived up to the fantastic reviews. It is a little piece of calm in the centre of the hustle and bustle of marrakech. The service at the Riad was fantastic and we were upgraded due to the fact it was my husbands birthday. Breakfast was served on the roof terrace, and we also had a lunch and evening meal at the Riad both of which were delicious, no menu to order from but the food was great.
The best thing about the Riad is the service from the staff - very on the ball, the transfer and the walking tour arranged through the hotel were also great.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone, and hope to retun one day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

It combines the best of both worlds, the old and the new. It gave us the hospitality and warmth of the old and the efficiency of the new. We had the most amazing stay . The staff is warm and friendly and made us feel as if we were staying with friends and helped us with any and every request with a smile.very conveniently located in the medina yet peaceful.Lovely food too.

Would love to go back there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed here in November - everything was just perfect. This place really exceeds all the expectations when it comes to the quality, atmosphere, decor, style, personnel...no matter what Highly recommended. Food here is also superbe, so is hamam and massage (special thanks to Seida). All in all, perfect place - you will not regret going there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed here mid October and we were very very happy indeed. Everything was just perfect. Just inside the medina is this very special accommodation. We spent 11 days travelling Morocco, and Riad Kniza was the best! Beautiful riad, beautiful decor, and beautiful staff and owner, who makes himself known to you and is very welcoming. He asked that we treat his home like our own and not to hesitate to ask for anything, how often does this happen? Riad Kniza has had some pretty amazing famous people visit, amongst them ex-presidents, actors/actresses including Brad Pitt, Goldie Hawn etc. The rooms are spacious and beautifully presented. Gorgeous indoor pool area, fantastic rooftop where you are able to have your meals, relax or sunbathe. I love that on arrival you are shown into a 'lounge' area, offered good mint tea and relax while they check you in. After being out for the day it is like coming home each evening and just can't wait to be spoilt again with a relaxing dinner & wine on the quiet rooftop with great weather. Would 100% recommend anyone to go, you definitely won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We have just come back from a long weekend in Marrakech having stayed in the lovely Riad Kniza. The Riad itself was one of the highlights of our stay; beautiful decorated, very attentive yet discrete staff and perfectly located to walk to the hussle, bussle of the souks, or to jump in a cab to venture further afield. The staff could really not do enough for us - they organised a walking tour guide for us, taxis and multiple restaurant bookings, and the food we ate in the Riad was of excellent quality and very good value. We will be recommending Riad Kniza to family and friends and hope to go back again soon!

Room Tip: The junior suite we stayed in was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, england
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

We had read that when you stay in the Medina you are met at your taxi by a guy from your Riad and then literally he will sprint through through the market trailing your baggage until you arrive in a quiet lane and confronted by a huge carved wooden door that, when opens, welcomes you into your own paradise. It's all true!! This has just happened to us and the experience was magical. At Riad Kniza nothing is too much trouble. The service discreet and efficient and whatever you require is executed with a smile and respectful friendliness.
This was our first visit to Marrakech and the whole trip came well up to our expectations.
Riad Kniza has been lovingly and sympathetically renovated to its original glory. The finishes, furnishings and fittings are all of beautiful quality. Go....stay....whether for something special or just for a splurge, it will rejuvenate you.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#38 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.