We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUR NEWEST HOME AWAY FROM HOME” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Expedia.com
and 6 more sites!
Riad Kniza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Port Orchard, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“OUR NEWEST HOME AWAY FROM HOME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We have just spent 6 days at Riad Kniza, the perfect end to an 18 day stay in Marrakech. From the minute I contacted the riad by email from our home near Seattle, they helped to arrange the stay and offered special deals and excursions to the coast and to the desert that would have been difficult to arrange on our own.

We arrived at the riad after spending a full day on the road coming back from the dunes and were greeted by Kamal, the son of the owner, who gratefully recognized how exhausted we were and arranged a fantastic small meal for us before showing us to the Ambar Suite: a two story set of rooms up the stairs right off of the reception. The riad has the MOST comfortable bed we have slept on in a long time and amazing, soft, high count cotton sheets as well. We slept like babies, only to awaken to a fabulous breakfast served in our room which we, like everyone else who has left a review here has said, could not once finish.

The last night of our stay we were upgraded to the Royal Suite which was an incredible treat. Three huge rooms and so many closets and cubbyholes that we almost got lost in the space. It was a fun way to end our stay at the magical riad.

We found the Hammam and the massages to be superb. The restaurant is entirely deserving of its' great reputation. The staff was excellent and catered to our every whim. Our driver Abdou was our mentor and teacher and became a lifelong friend. It was a first time trip to Morocco for me and I fell in love with the country and the people AND the Riad Kniza. We will return. Inshallah.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    886
    47
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
135
552
13
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Our five days here in October were like a dream....winding around an alley just off the main street in the Medina, we opened the door and came upon this beautiful riad. The service was as good as one could expect anywhere...from arranging guides, offering advice and being there at the door with bottles of water as we came and went out for the day. Loved the rooms, each totally original. The breakfasts were amazing and a delicious dinner was served on the rooftop terrace upon request. There is a spa and a small indoor pool. I arranged a wonderful package with the hotel that included a tour of the city, a massage, steam, and a dinner on the night of our arrival. An extra...we had wireless internet in our room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the amazing Riad Kniza to celebrate our 40th Wedding Anniversary. We chose Riad Kniza because of the very high rating given by previous tripadvisor guests. From the moment we were met at the airport by the Riad Kniza driver, we we were made to feel like special guests. At all times, all members of Riad Kniza staff treated us with great courtesy, friendliness and professionalism. Nothing at all was too much trouble for them, even arranging to unlock our cases when the keys were back in UK! The rooms are amazing as confirmed by other tripadvisor reviews. Riad Kniza is absolutely spotless, compliments must go to the ladies of the housekeeping team. We could not wait for each morning to arrive for us to go onto the Roof Terrace to enjoy a relaxing delicious breakfast, we never managed to eat everything it was simply never ending and served by discreet attentive staff. We opted for a Riad Kniza special package which included airport taxis, a personal guide for a half a day walking tour of the Medina, this was a necessity for our first visit to Marrakech and is thoroughly recommended. A personal driver and guide to the waterfalls of the foothills of the Atlas mountains, another success. Also included a Riad Kniza delicious Morroccan dinner with wine. If that is not enough we received a massage to really relax after a hectic day shopping in the Souks. A great finishing touch is when returning every afternoon to this oasis of calm, you are served with complimentary Riad Kniza Mint tea and memorable home made Morrocan pastries. This is a must visit destination experience !

Room Tip: Suites are amazing, very large, 5 star luxury.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We recently spent 4 nights at this lovely traditional riad located within the old city. we stayed in one of their suites. room was spacious, very clean and well serviced. the staff could not be more helpful and friendly. We had travel issues develop related to Hurricane Sandy which they did their best to assist us with. Lovely rooftop terrace area adds to the romantic charm.

Room Tip: Suites are on upper floors, so they are a bit quieter. Hammam was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottingham, UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is a fantastic place to stay. It is approached through a busy street and alleyway and suddenly you are in an original graceful riad, furnished with antiques and luxurious furniture, curtains and carpets. We were upgraded to a large suite which was very comfortable and relaxing. There are many interesting places to sit in and things to look at in the riad.
The service is excellent and the staff are reserved but very attentive. There is no menu but the manager discusses and suggests the menu with you. This was the best meal we had had in Morocco or anywhere else. We ate our meal in a room full of settees and there was just one other couple with us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I'm just got here yesterday and I'm in love with Riad Kniza! It's romantic, it's elegant and the service is first class! I will write a full review once we leave, but I could not wait! I'm thrilled! They helped us with a personal guide for half day. He was very knowledgable and very friendly. He took us to the best the souks had to offer.
The owner and all the staff are very helpful and if you need ANYTHING, including someone to light the fireplace(woodburning,not gas)! They cater to your every whim!

Room Tip: There are only 11 rooms. And you can't get a bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We researched the internet before booking this amazing Riad and we are so glad we chose this one! It is an absolute oasis in the middle of the hectic Medina. It is a short walk to the Medina entrance and about 15 minutes by foot to the central square - a fabulous location for exploring Marrakech, both old and new.

We were staying in Room 4 which had a king size bed, living area, separate WC and bathroom and was extremely spacious and comfortable. The whole property is traditionally decorated with local antiquities and is beautiful in its understated simplicity. The roof terrace became our retreat in the late afternoons, where we relaxed with cool drinkis in the shade.

The food at Riad Kniza was superb. We had two evening meals at the hotel and two in restaurants in the Medina. Our final meal in the Hotel was Beef Tagine and I can honestly say it surpassed all the other meals we had in Marrakech - it was absolutely delicious. Breakfast was huge and we didn't manage to finish it once during our stay.

The whole hotel is spotlessly clean and there seem to be an awful lot of staff keeping it that way, right down to picking up the fallen leaves on the roof terrace!

The staff are very friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. They certainly helped to make this the one of the best short breaks we've had in a long time - thank you everyone at Riad Kniza.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech
Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#4 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#5 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Riad Kniza to your Saves list