We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza

Save Saved
You added Riad Kniza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Kniza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A gem in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We recently spent 4 nights at this lovely traditional riad located within the old city. we stayed in one of their suites. room was spacious, very clean and well serviced. the staff could not be more helpful and friendly. We had travel issues develop related to Hurricane Sandy which they did their best to assist us with. Lovely rooftop terrace area adds to the romantic charm.

Room Tip: Suites are on upper floors, so they are a bit quieter. Hammam was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    949
    50
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
146
595
15
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cottingham, UK
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is a fantastic place to stay. It is approached through a busy street and alleyway and suddenly you are in an original graceful riad, furnished with antiques and luxurious furniture, curtains and carpets. We were upgraded to a large suite which was very comfortable and relaxing. There are many interesting places to sit in and things to look at in the riad.
The service is excellent and the staff are reserved but very attentive. There is no menu but the manager discusses and suggests the menu with you. This was the best meal we had had in Morocco or anywhere else. We ate our meal in a room full of settees and there was just one other couple with us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I'm just got here yesterday and I'm in love with Riad Kniza! It's romantic, it's elegant and the service is first class! I will write a full review once we leave, but I could not wait! I'm thrilled! They helped us with a personal guide for half day. He was very knowledgable and very friendly. He took us to the best the souks had to offer.
The owner and all the staff are very helpful and if you need ANYTHING, including someone to light the fireplace(woodburning,not gas)! They cater to your every whim!

Room Tip: There are only 11 rooms. And you can't get a bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We researched the internet before booking this amazing Riad and we are so glad we chose this one! It is an absolute oasis in the middle of the hectic Medina. It is a short walk to the Medina entrance and about 15 minutes by foot to the central square - a fabulous location for exploring Marrakech, both old and new.

We were staying in Room 4 which had a king size bed, living area, separate WC and bathroom and was extremely spacious and comfortable. The whole property is traditionally decorated with local antiquities and is beautiful in its understated simplicity. The roof terrace became our retreat in the late afternoons, where we relaxed with cool drinkis in the shade.

The food at Riad Kniza was superb. We had two evening meals at the hotel and two in restaurants in the Medina. Our final meal in the Hotel was Beef Tagine and I can honestly say it surpassed all the other meals we had in Marrakech - it was absolutely delicious. Breakfast was huge and we didn't manage to finish it once during our stay.

The whole hotel is spotlessly clean and there seem to be an awful lot of staff keeping it that way, right down to picking up the fallen leaves on the roof terrace!

The staff are very friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. They certainly helped to make this the one of the best short breaks we've had in a long time - thank you everyone at Riad Kniza.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I have just come back and wanted to make a note of this Riad in the old medina of Marrakech.

Simply to sum it up:

Location: You arrive by being collected from the edge of the medina. This can be a little daunting but the porter is very helpful - I think he expected us to be a little 'wide-eyed'. Don't fret ... the Riad is 2min walk. Its on the edge of the medina which means you have the benefit of both the medina and the more modern areas of the city. Allows you to experience both sides.

I was only there for one night and in that time from the Riad I covered off:
- Medina and Jeema el fna
- Yves Saint Laurent Gardens
- Mohammed V shopping street

It was a flying visit but the location really helped.

Service: Personal, Professional and Top Bloomin Notch. I couldn't fault them. After being greeted by the owner with some mint tea (yum!), he talked us through where we had time to get to and what would be worth seeing. He is a guide and has been for some very famous people - Ronald Regan, Brad Pitt and the like. But he is soooo very friendly, kind and just honestly wanted to do everything he and his staff could to make the stay as lovely as possible. They succeeded!

The team even provided space to change and shower before getting the free transfer to the airport in the afternoon.

I must say the Riad itself is stunning. Filled with the most gorgeous antiques but it's not museum. It's difficult to truly say much other than beautiful in so many ways. The room terrace was a wonderful place to eat dinner. They didn't push food on us but we're really glad we had it - was as stunning lamb tagine - but the starter was even more stunning with lots of little bits to pick from.

WiFi was a bonus and quick connection.

I could go on but I think it's fair to say it was a wonderful place to stay, in a great location with a very friendly and helpful team of staff. A MUST if you're planning a trip to Morocco.

Room Tip: Try and go for a higher room as they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

My wife and I and 2 friends have just had 4 wonderful nights at Riad Knisa.
Everything was excellent and the staff could not do enough for you.
The location is great fun to approach in the Medina and well situated for the souks and main square.
A dinner on the roof is a great experience and the overall packages they can arrange with trips to the Atlas mountains great value.
We would go there again.

Room Tip: Go for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanage, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We were greeted with great warmth and signed in with the minimum of fuss. We were offered a welcome drink and shown to our room as soon as it was available as we were early arrivals. The staff and management couldn't do enough for us throughout our stay of 4 nights. The room was marvellous, beautifully furnished and decorated as was the bathroom etc. The ambience was one of peace and tranquility despite being in the old city area. We enjoyed having breakfast and some dinners on the Terrace which was, again, beautifully appointed.

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to be of a very high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#8 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.