We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza

Save Saved
You added Riad Kniza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Kniza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1 FREE Night
Ranked #9 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

We chose this place based on trip advisor and reading about it in a travel magazine. We weren't disappointed at all. The place is amazing, beautiful, the staff is kind and arranged for a tour guide and even a driver to drive us to Fez. We arrived our first night after traveling over 30 hours straight without any sleep and they even had a full meal of amazing salads and sandwiches ready for us. They whole staff is amazing. It was very quiet in our room. It's family-owned and Moroccan-owned, unlike many of the riads owned by foreign investors, so you're really giving to the local economy. We would stay there again in a heartbeat. (We've now stayed at two of the best riads in Marrakech.) Thank you Riad Kniza!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    940
    50
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
142
591
14
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Riad Kniza in late March and were impressed with the attention to detail and service. For example, late one night my husband was experiencing severe back pain and we did not have any medication. Riad Kniza sent a staff member to a pharmacy for us and my husband had ibuprofen within 20 minutes. We were so appreciative of the prompt service and then equally surprised that we were not charged anything for the service nor the medication. The extra mile and attention to detail is all included with no additional cost at Riad Kniza.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

What a gorgeous little slice of paradise in the Medina! Tucked away on a little side street, nice and quiet is this fabulous gem. I was a bit suspect at first when the driver had us hop out of the vehicle with our luggage on a very busy road and started to walk us through these somewhat dirty looking streets (cars can't fit on the streets in the medina). What a welcome surprise it was when the doors to Riad Kniza opened! This is one of a handful of RIad's still privately owned and operated by a local Moroccan family and it shows in every detail. Most days you can find Mohamed at the Riad - he is full of inside information on the all the places you must see and visit while in Morocco and if he is isn't around his son Kamel is there. I highly recommend staying here if you are looking for an upscale true Riad experience. The food is fantastic and if it is a nice morning be sure to have your breakfast on the rooftop terrace! Many thanks to Mohamed and all of his wonderful staff for making our stay truly a magical Marrakech experience!

Room Tip: If possible try to get the Senior Suite Yakout! Big, spacious, beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks Uk
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Riad Kniza is in the north west segment of the Marrakech medina close to Bab Doukkala. the accommodation is luxuriously furnished in traditional Moroccan style and the dinner served in the restaurant was excellent. Though small this Riad lacks nothing in quality or service.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at Riad Kniza, Room 7 a split-level suite. We are enormously grateful to Tripadvisor and the helpful reviews which was the deciding factor in choosing this stunning Riad. The owner takes great pride to ensure we enjoyed and appreciated an attentive and reliable service at all times, and our choice of where we ate, on the beautiful roof terrace, in the dining room or in our suite was never a problem for the charming, smiling staff. Thank you to the Owner and staff alike for making our 1st visit to Marrakech an unforgettable one and which we no doubt will return to again.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, WA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

After a very long drive from Erfoud, we were so excited and relieved the moment we stepped into this beautiful haven tucked just inside an alley near Bab Doukkala. The service was top notch: pleasant, professional, and prompt. The riad and our room were very beautifully done and were very clean. We were greeted with rose petals on our beds and in the bathroom our first night and had fresh fruit and turn-down service nightly thereafter.

The meals were also very high quality--definitely some of the best we had while in Morocco. We dined in the dining area the first night since it was raining when we arrived, but we were able to enjoy breakfast on the beautiful rooftop terrace each morning. Great view and a really fantastic and peaceful way to start the day. The orange juice and yogurt were especially delicious!

We had tried to book the hammam experience at La Mamounia, but they were full, so we arranged to have the hammam experience in the riad after a long day of shopping. Then we stayed in and had a relaxing dinner in our room that night. An excellent and relaxing break! The hammam was 330MAD for ~30 minutes and the massage was another 330MAD for another ~30 minutes. It seemed okay, but not out of this world. But we weren't worried about cleanliness of the facilities as we might have been in many other places in Morocco.

Very few glitches, but following are some pro/con details of our stay. My bed linens were not the quality I expected upon arrival, but when I mentioned it to the front desk, they were changed the next day to a more suitable quality. We could not hear the street noise as we did in the riad in Fes, but the acoustics of the courtyard are such that even talking from the floors below can be heard very easily. There were a lot of electrical outlets in our room which was so welcome for charging cameras, phones, iPad, etc. Even electrical outlets in the bathroom and a nice hair dryer! The shower could have been better designed as water seemed to spread everywhere if the shower was overhead. Would have loved some hair conditioner and tissues (Kleenex) as well. As far as location goes, we found ATMs and taxis quite close. We could easily walk to the souk area and Jemaa el-Fnaa (the main market square).

Overall, a really excellent stay and a definite highlight of our time in Morocco! Would definitely recommend Riad Kniza!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Absolutely beautiful Riad! Set in a quiet location, it is about a 10 minute walk to the main square. The staff are friendly, and efficient. Breakfast on the rooftop was amazing. Hammam was good, but I have had better but good nonetheless. The rooms have been beautiful done..

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#8 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.