We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic riad with exceptional staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Kniza to your Saves list
Riad Kniza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Inclusions
Ranked #8 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Castle Donington, UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Fantastic riad with exceptional staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Just coming to the end of our 3 night stay at Riad Kniza and really do not want to leave. The building is amazing, the detailing in the cornices and wooden ceilings has to be seen to be believed. Our room, the junior suite Johara, had the most amazing dome above the bed with hand carved plaster work.
The staff could not be more helpful. When we arrived we were taken to one of the salons off the main courtyard where we we're served mint tea and pastries and given an overview of Marrakech and the Medina with advice on how to get around.
On the first evening we ate at the Riad and had a wonderful Morrocan meal with local wines and beer at a very reasonable price. The owner of the Riad, a legend amongst tour guides in Marrakech, was keen to check that we were happy.
Following this reservations for dinner were made for us and the staff could not have been more helpful.
If you want to stay in the Medina on your trip to Marrakech then you need look no further than the Riad Kniza, I am sure that you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    961
    51
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
147
605
15
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

An exotic and architecturally stunning oasis in the ancient medina. Convenient location only steps away from the Bab Doukkala gate. From the moment my husband and I entered this exquisite Riad we surrendered under its spell. The professional staff welcomes you warmly and no request seems to phase them. The elegant large suite with fireplace and divine traditional Moroccan cuisine exceeded all our expectation during our seven day stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We stayed at this riad in January and the hotel completely met and exceeded all our expectations. The decor was grand yet authentic, the food was the best we had during our trip, and the service was outstanding - friendly, professional and warm. I would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

One of my favourite holidays ever due to the charm and warmth of the Riad and the fabulous staff. A superb location in the Medina - you honestly wont be dissapointed and you'll find it difficult to get lost too - one straight road to the square!
The room came with a free massage (which was exceptional) and a half day tour of the city which you can taylor to suit.
The pool was glorious and the roof terrace just stunning. Breakfast was amazing - you couldnt want for anything else!
Simply the best memories of my holiday here. Simply the best Riad in the Medina

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012 via mobile

The riad staff could no do enough to make us welcome. The first evening we had a fantastic dinner with great service. Our room was very clean and beautiful. For the first time in 10 years we were able to sleep late and have breakfast in the room. On the final day the sun came out and we enjoyed a couple of hours on the roof terrace. The riad is a hidden gem, I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

When I first read the reviews of Riad Knizaon tripadvisor, I was sceptical. Nothing could have prepared me for what lay behind the plain wooden door off a grey little derb in the old souk. I entered a sanctuary. On arrival I was taken to a quiet alcove off a lovely inner courtyard for tea to wait while I was registered. The Riad itself is a jewel box of colour. The staff were warm and welcoming. The rooms are gracious and large, with enough of the feel of the old house to suit me, and all the desired modern amenities. The food was ambrosia and the views from the roof terrace the most romantic in the world. In all it was superb and every accolade deserved! Congratulations on being chosen best hotel in North Africa!

Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

We staryed in Jan 2012 and couldnt have picked a more fantastic Riad. The luxury of the rooms and the helpful and friendly staff made it an unforgettable holiday.
Breakfast on the roof terrace is a must as is the evening meal in the dining room which is reminiscent of something out of Arabian nights.
We stayed in the Kenzo suite and it was an amazing room, the little touches such as rose petals on the bed and the fire being lit on an evening makes it memorable.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, they arranged restaurant bookings, tour guides and gave use recommendations of what to do in marrakesh.
If you want to stay in Marrakesh I cant rate this highly enough. We looked at a couple of others plus one of the luxury hotels in the medina but they are not a patch on the riad Kniza.
If you are looking for a truely luxurious break that gives you the real marrakesh experience then you need to stay at the Riad Kniza.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#5 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#8 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.