We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Kniza to your Saves list
Riad Kniza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Inclusions
Ranked #10 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

This was possibly the most beautiful place I stayed in all of Morocco. I can with 3 friends on a tour. I think it would have been better to come with my boyfriend but now I have an excuse to come back.
20 min walk from the square
2 min from the bus station

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    980
    53
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
148
622
15
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

We stayed over 3 nights and found the Riad Kniza to be perfect for a romantic weekend break. The magnificent building, the exceptional service and the location make this an ideal base to explore the Medina.
I can't speak highly enough of the Royal Suite, taking breakfast on the roof terrace or the spa treatments. We particularly enjoyed lazy afternoons sunbathing on the roof terrace enjoying the sun in November and one or two cold beers. If I am forced to find any fault with the Riad Kniza it could only be the lack of a telephone on the roof terrace by which guests could contact the front desk, kitchen or bar. It really was no trouble to descend the two flights of stairs, however I can see these reviews are read by the management and hope it is of help.
I spend time researching before selecting accommodation, I am pleased I chose Riad Kniza it is an excellent choice.

Room Tip: The Royal Suite is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

My partner and my daughter stayed here for 5 nights. Our first stop in morocco direct from Australia. So we were quite jet lagged on arrival. The staff made us mint tea and fed us sweet meats, calmly arranged an excellent guide for mid morning the next day and generally cosseted us. Breakfasts are huge and delicious although included in the room rate there was no skimping and the staff appeared disappointed that we didnt eat an omelet every morning! This is a beautiful riad rich in architectural delights and antiquities but with all the modern comforts. great staff also who arranged everything from dinner reservations cars taxis and laundry all with genuine warmth and care. This raid is well deserving of it's rating from trip advisor. Stay here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Don't go anywhere else. My partner and I flew in to Marrakech and were met at the airport by a driver, courtesy of Riad Kniva. For both of us it was our first visit to Morocco. Make sure you ask them to arrange for you to be collected from the airport as the driver will take you to the Riad’s door. The Riad is located at the entrance to the medina in the Bab Doukalla area of Marrakech which made it handy to find. It’s down a quiet side street just off the main strip when you enter the medina and is a 10 minute walk to the main square, Marjorelle Jardin and 3 minutes to one of the main mosques. Great location.

The Riad itself is beautiful, elegant and exotic. To our delight they upgraded us to an amazing room that had a separate lounge suite on the lower level. There were rose petals placed throughout our room and even in the sink!

The service is amazing. The staff at Riad Kniza are so friendly, warm, attentive and just seemed like they wanted to make sure we were always comfortable and this continued throughout our whole stay! They even booked us a table at Bozin restaurant and organised a driver for us when I’d struggled to get a reply from them weeks before we travelled. Achraf in particular, is an absolute delight and could not have been more hospitable or welcoming. I felt like such a princess there!

The food was an amazing experience. Breakfast was a great selection of eggs, warm freshly baked sweet breads, cereal, yoghurt, cheese, fruits and freshly squeezed orange juice served on the amazing roof top terrace. We had dinner in the restaurant and were both pleased to have a traditional cooked meal in luxurious surroundings, a roaring fire and great service. Both our waiters were very attentive and amusing keeping us entertained each time they came to top a drink up or to surprise us with a new dish.

Included in our package was a half day tour guide of the sights of Marrakech which we really enjoyed. Our guide was informative, entertaining and took us to areas where tourists wouldn’t normally go to. I learnt so much on that tour about the history of Marrakech, its influences and its more current political and economic challenges. The Blacksmiths area was a highlight. Seeing the artisans working was very impressive. He took us to see some ruins of an ancient spa, the impressive Quranic University, the beautiful museum, showed us around the souks and took us to the main square at the end of it when it was after 5:30pm and lively. He even pointed out the best stalls to eat at. We enjoyed it so much we gave him a good tip just before he returned us to the Riad.

Book yourself into the Riad Kniza because you will LOVE it. We’d like to return and we’re not even going to bother staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Room 7 was good as it was directly above reception and quick to get up to the roof top terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

This hotel was more expensive than other we had looked at in Marrakesh, but they gave us so many perks, it was totally worth it.

My friend & I arrived via 2 separate flights and they organized 2 airport pickups at no extra cost. The dinner (included in the price) was the best we had in Morocco. I loved the red wine they served and even bought some to bring home with me.

As part of the room price, they even booked a walking tour for us and a massage.

Great hotel, great staff, nice big hotel room (on 2 floors).

I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

We journeyed to Marrakesh for a birthday weekend and could not have chosen a better place to stay for 3 nights. The riad's location on the edge of the Medina gives good access to the souks and other attractions of the old city as well as being (just about) within walking distance of the restaurants and shops of the new. As we discovered on a stroll around the medina walls and across to the Mamounia, walking in Marrakesh is relatively easy and hassle-free and you get to see lots of things (gardens and houses) that you would otherwise miss sat in the back of a cab.

The staff at the Riad were wonderfully welcoming and helpful. Nothing seemed too much trouble. We particularly enjoyed our 2-hour guided tour round the souk which was laid on as part of our package. Our guide was courteous and a fount of local and historical knowledge. Food and accommodation at the riad are top-notch. The illusion is very much that this is your home and not a hotel, with plenty of relaxing spots to sit and rest - be that the downstairs sitting rooms or the roof terrace with its views across the rooftops to the snow-covered Atlas mountains.

If we ever go back to Marrakesh, Riad Kniza will be high on our list.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sand Lake, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

We stayed three nights and really enjoyed both the riad itself, the wonderful people that work here, the location and everything else about this Riad. Very comfortable and so beautiful too! You can easily walk to Jamaa el Fna the famous square.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#8 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#34 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.