We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Kniza to your Saves list
Riad Kniza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Inclusions
Ranked #10 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Luxury!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here after our wedding. What an excellent honeymoon location! We were treated like royalty with complimentary drinks whenever we asked. The staff were friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. They were professional and organized guides, taxis and an in house cooking class. The food was authentic and Breyer than any food we tasted during our trip. The hotel was quiet and we felt like we were the only guests there. We couldn't recommend this Rhiad highly enough

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    980
    53
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
148
622
15
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Locust Valley, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Every detail of our magical stay at this exquisite hotel was superb. The beauty and luxury is beyond anything we could have ever envisioned. The cordial, accommodating, staff was overwhelming. Everyone went out of their way to make our stay as special as they could. There was nothing they would not do; (at any hour of the day) to help make us the most comfortable people in the world. Every staff member, at any level was courteous, polite, energetic, gracious and very professional. The food at the rooftop restaurant was the best food we experienced in Morocco. We went to Yacout but were so spoiled because of our first meal at the Riad Kniza. Dinner under the stars with the full moon, great music, lamb tagine and all the accoutemounts. Breakfasts were gorgeous too, with delicious fresh fruits, preserves,pastries, eggs,cheeses, homemade yoghurt and of course eggs; which were prepared anyway you wanted. There was not a corner of this Riad that did not contain a treasure.The decorating of the rooms, and all the areas you could sit were lavish. It looked like something out of Architectural Digest. Our suite was immaculate with rose petals wherever we looked. The spa and pool was fantastic as well. Our experience was extraordinary. When we returned home we realized what a privilege it was to have had the opportunity to stay in this wonderful and authentic Riad. All of our tours and the excellent driver you supplied expanded our fantasy. The Berber market, and Atlas Mountains were interesting as well as breathtaking. All the shops you suggested were treasure chests. Mohammed, thank you and all of your staff for opening the doors to your magnificent jewel. The tour of the city you blessed us with will never be forgotten. This has been an incredible, extraordinary and memorable experience that we will never ever forget ! Thank you. Roberta Cabot & Marc Siegel

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

My wife and I just returned from a 4-night stay at Riad Kniza. What a beautiful riad! From check-in to check-out, the visit was wonderful. In particular, we were struck by the authentic hospitality of so many of the staff. We'd like to call out Achraf in particular for his gracious assistance in recommending restaurants and even staying late at the front desk on our last evening to bid us farewell after a late dinner at a local restaurant.

Our favorites: the mint tea served promptly on arrival, the plaster work and wood carvings throughout the riad, the fresh-squeezed orange juice (each night!) brought to our room, the lazy breakfasts on the sun-drenched terrace, the gently plashing fountain in the courtyard, the quiet calm of our suite after the hectic chaos of the city streets....

If you travel to Marrakesh, definitely consider Riad Kniza: it has so much more personality than so many soulless, faceless hotels elsewhere in the world.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
293 reviews 293 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

It's a little difficult to describe our stay at Riad Kniza. I arrived suffering from a bronchitis and a serious gastric episode. Our guide organised ahead with Riad Kniza for a doctor to attend just a few minutes after we arrived. He checked me over, injected me and made prescriptions. You might think this a less than ideal start, but we often learn more about a place when things are less than ideal than when everything goes easily. We were treated in a very professional and personable manner by the staff and we could not be happier with the way they conducted themselves, at first, and later.
We had a suite on the ground floor which was beautifully decorated and had everything you are likely to need. Breakfast could be taken in the room, in small side dining rooms or on the roof terrace. The riad itself is like a maze - just what you hope! There are small courtyards, a lovely pool. We never made it to the hammam.
If you would like to finish (or start) your Moroccan trip in luxury being looked after by excellent staff then Riad Kniza should be at the top of your list.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011 via mobile

What shall I say about this amazing experience. Amazing culture! nice caring hosts make you feel you are at home. Exceptionally professional staff. Lovely living piece of traditional art Riad. All elements you need to make exceptional holiday.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Walking into the quiet,spotless riad surrounded by lovely antiques, from the hussle and bussle of the souk, was tranferring one world for another! The well run and beautifully appointed riad was such a contrast to the sounds, smells and activity outside. Nothing was too much trouble for the charming staff. As we love Morrocan food, we enjoyed the tagines and couscous, as well as excellent breakfasts served on pristine white table clothes, sitting out on the roof-top with views across the Marrakech skyline.

Room Tip: Choose Room No 9 as it is quiet and has a lovely ensuite bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011 via mobile



I am told Kniza means "little treasure".  Indeed, the treasures abound in this delightful Riad.  Yes, the rooms are spacious, comfortable and immaculate.  Yes, the public rooms are cozy sanctuaries filled with beautiful antiques and art work.  Yes, to the splash pool with traditional tile work,  the quiet courtyard with the giant fig tree,  the little bird that greeted us each morning.  All lovely, yes.  All treasures, yes.   But for us,  the little treasure that is Riad Kniza lies in the warmth of the folks that run this gem.  Go. Stay. They are sure to delight you.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#8 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#34 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.