We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Opulence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Kniza to your Saves list
Riad Kniza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
€30 meal credit
Ranked #16 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Unexpected Opulence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

My husband and I began our Moroccan trip at Riad Kniza. We spent 4 days being totally pampered at this beautiful riad. Every room and public area is beautifully decorated with stunning fabrics and antiques along with exqusite contemporary and traditional moroccan paintings. Our room was the Junior Suite Loubana. On our arrival it was covered with rose petals. The scent was heaven! The staff treated us as if we were the only guests. The warmth and friendliness was beyond compare. The daily breakfast was served to us on their beautiful roof top terrace. The elegance in presentation and the warm service added to the sumptuous meal. We choose to eat several dinners here and they were all fantastic. After extensive research of riads for our trip we hit the jack pot! Opulence,warmth of staff,and a great location made this a magical experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Just what you need after a trek through the narrow streets of the Souks. On your doorstep is the bedlam of one of the most vibrant and colourful markets in the world but you close the door and you are in the welcomed luxury of Riad Kniza. What makes the place special however is the staff. Looked after by Samira and her colleagues, particularly Mustapha, nothing is ever a problem - you feel very much at home. It is they who make Riad Kniza what it is. Don't even bother looking for alternatives, unless of course Kniza is fully booked!

Room Tip: They are all beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sovgroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

The Riad Kniza is in a great location to explore the sights of Marrakech, taxis are incredibly cheap in the city so any sights which are too far to walk to can be easily reached by taxi. I have read some reviews which complain that taxis cannot drive right up to the front door - obviously not...this is Marrakech, an ancient city where the narrow streets arn't designed for 21st century vehicles! I'm not sure what these travellers had expected! The Riad is about a 2 minute walk from where the taxi drops you off.
The service at the Riad was exemplary and the food delicious. The Riad has a policy that you ring reception and ask for whatever you wish and they will bring it to you either in your room or on the roof terrace and nothing is too much. The staff are absolutley fantasic.
However, personally I did not like the Riad Kniza. I appreciate that I am going against so many other travellers and this is just MY opinion...
Although the service was faultless as I have previously mentioned, I found it an odd concept to call reception for a drink or snacks. I prefer a menu from which I can choose a cocktail or sandwich. I found that I would just have bottles of water as I was unsure what else could be provided. Obviously their system works but for me, no.
The Riad is very claustrophobic. I suppose any Riad in a bustling African city would be and as I have never stayed in one before I cannot compare. The wood panelling and the doors were, although beautiful to look at, very dark and gloomy. Our room felt dark, the one window looked into the central courtyard and did not let in much light. This combined with the dark furnishings, dark wooden shutters and doors made our room feel claustrophobic and dismal. It felt like we were staying in a museum (again, this is not my personal taste and obviously others would disagree!)
The bathroom was very basic, a bath with a shower attachment without a screen or curtain resulted in a flooded floor every time! There was a plug socket next to the bath which raised some safely concerns along with the lethally slippery polished floor! But, it was clean with complimentary toiletries and the staff decorated it with rose petals every morning.
The roof terrace was lovely - a wonderful escape from Marrakech on a hot afternoon. Unfortunately the pool is not on the roof so to cool off we had to run down 2 flights of stairs, have a swim and then dash back upstairs to the loungers on the roof.
Be aware that the calls to prayer will wake you up unless you sleep really heavily! Any sounds during the night seem to echo around the courtyards and we were woken up every night. Just make sure you bring ear plugs!
So, apologies to the vast majority of travellers who will be cursing this review but I personally would not rush back to the Riad Kniza. However, the staff and food were fantastic.

It is wonderful that the Riad Kniza is Moroccan owned and has remained traditional and authentic, but next time I would stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask if they have any which are light with windows looking out?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank chappalappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Riad Kniza is one of the few riads owned by a native Moroccan, and you feel like a guest in a beautiful home rather than a place of business. Each room is charmingly furnished, the rooftop terrace is stunning, and the lovely courtyard with pool that is the centerpiece of the riad is the perfect spot for a hot afternoon. Every thought has been given to the comfort of guests, from comfortable chairs poolside to the attentive reception and service. Given that the glorious madness of Marrakech is 500 yards away, Riad Kniza is a miracle of peace and quiet. Tasty breakfast and dinner can be had on the roof (highly recommended) or in a lounge. The lodging is not cheap and neither was dinner - by Moroccan standards, anyway - but worth it. I do wish that they had some simple foods on offer for room service; and, independent of the riad, I'd advise close-toed sandals for your walks through the medina. Lots of traffic at close quarters. All told, this retreat to a place of calm and beauty was wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank merritt2you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

From the moment the door opened up on this beautiful Riad my wife and I enjoyed ourselves. We were welcomed with coffee and cookies and from then on it felt that we were guests in someone's home. The staff continually went out of their way to please and we were even treated to a walking tour of some of the sights in the Medinah. This is really the differentiating point. The staff at the Kniza really make a difference. The food was very good and a lot of the little extras that you sometimes get charged for were free. The room was as good in person as it looks in pictures. The aircon worked. The internet/WiFi worked. It was easy to call overseas (and not at ridiculous prices). The hammam was excellent. The pool was small but very well cared for. There is a sauna (In addition to the hammam). The roof top garden/lounge area is very nice and peaceful. The location is somewhat of a double edged sword. It is a healthy walk to the square and the souks. However, it is only 2-3 minutes from an area to pick up a taxi. All in all the next time we go to Marrakech we will definately stay at the Kniza again.

Room Tip: Ask what floor the room you are booking is on. There are a fair few stairs. Didn't bother us b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

My partner and I have just returned from a wonderful holiday in Morocco which ended with three nights at the sensational Riad Kniza.

Our stay was perfect in every way thanks to the wonderful service provided by Kamal, Amina and all the staff at Riad Kniza. This Riad is so breathtaking - the design and decor is exquisite; the food and wine superb; the chic terrace relaxing; and the indoor pool and facilities including sauna and hammam luxurious.

We stayed in the most gorgeous room we have ever experienced in all our travels - the Royal Suite Bahia. Our stay also included a tour of Marrakesh - thank you Riad Kniza for making this part of your offerings to guests - our guide Mufasa was incredible - the tour he provided was so informative, friendly, relaxed and professional.

We can't wait to return with friends so they too can enjoy the wonderful hospitality and surrounds of this extraordinary, immaculate, luxurious and perfect Riad.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Escape34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley du Loir
Level Contributor
91 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

On arrival, we were upgraded and stayed in Room 8 overlooking the swimming pool. The room was sumptuous and luxurious, although it did take us a while to figure out how to work the lighting system. The food was wonderful. Breakfasts consisted of omelette, pancakes, breads, jams, porridge, cereal and freshly squeezed orange juice. Dinner was soup, 8 different salads, briouats, chicken and lemon tagine and milk pastilla. The staff were very attentive and the Moroccan owner actually took time to talk to us which was lovely. This riad is next to a mosque so be prepared for a very early wake up call.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonerinFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#7 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,485 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 779 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad le Clos des Arts
#2 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,088 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Idra
Riad Idra
#12 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 359 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#28 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing