We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were treated like royalty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Kniza to your Saves list
Riad Kniza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Inclusions
Ranked #12 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Boston, MA.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“We were treated like royalty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Everything about this hotel was superb. The rooms were beautiful.
We could dine any time and any where that we wished. The food was
terrific. I can not say enough good things about this hotel. Another excellent feature about this riad was that we were picked up and were dropped off at the airport and didn't have to concern ourselves with that aspect of the travel experience. We were also provided with a guide, which was most helpful. We look forward to returning to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    987
    54
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
149
629
15
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

The Riad Kniza is truly magical. A fantastic place to stay and the level of service is amazing. We were looked after really well from th minute we alked through the door. I arranged this visit for my first year anniversary and from the minute I emailed the Riad to the last day was an enjoyable experience. The Riad staff are really friendly and so were the guests. Communication from Samira and Amina by email was helpful from the start. Rashid had picked us up from the airport, air conditioned 4x4 which was a plus having transfers too and from the airport. The Riad was an Oasis away from the hustle and bustle, a great place to relax near the pool. We were looked after by Mustafa, Mohammed, Adulillah and all the staff!! The perfect place to stay in Marrakech. Very central to walk to the Old City, Souks, Medina or the New City. Ahmed our guide took us to some great shops and to the Mosque which was amazing. The food in the Riad was lovely, I especially enjoyed the chicken tagine but every morning we were woken to a fabulous breakfast. Rose petals in the fountains with birds singing, fairytale. The staff arranged our trip to the High Atlas mountains, the Berber Village was amazing. Drinking mint tea and seeing the sights. I wouldn’t stay anywhere else, this place beats any hotel. If you want to be treated like Royalty but and meet some fabulous people stay at Riad Kniza. We met some lovely staff at the Riad, who we can call our friends. We were sad to leave but will be back with our family and friends. Thank you very much for a great experience and an anniversary we will never forget!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011 via mobile

Stayed here for a long weekend on a trip organised by my wonderful girlfriend and it was amazing. The Hotel was just perfect, the staff were amazing and the atmosphere was just as I has pictured Morocco would be, a mix of mystery and fantasy. Would go back in a heartbeat, loved it.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

In Marrakesh, you have a lot of lodging options. The Riad Kniza is pricey for Morocco, but you get very good value, Moroccan hospitality, and a chic, relaxed atmosphere. The Riad is well-placed for walks in old city and walks in the new town. What we appreciated was the well-kept public areas, great plunge pool, ability to have meals on the terrace, sitting rooms, or in the room. The staff was very attentive and Kamal the owner was always ready to assist.

I travelled with my 7-year old daughter and wife. The staff was attentive to my daughter, but the Riad is better geared to couples or families with older children. My daughter did love the cooking course, which was great for her. She went to the market, did the prep work, and ate a great fish tagine dish. Also, the Riad is really an oasis within a spirited neighborhood. We especially liked just ordering a stew or pot of soup for a meal in our room. Plus, the ability to have cool bottles of water and great tea and sweets delivered to the room--a real comfort. Having seen the kitchen during the cooking course, it was spotless, with an experience staff, making delicious food.

Finally, the interior of Riad Kniza is just beautiful and well-kept. You can see the Riad on this CNN link on Marrakesh
http://www.cnn.com/video/data/2.0/video/international/2011/06/01/ime.redone.marrakech.cnn.html

Enjoy and don't be put off by recent troubles, the city is amazing.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011 via mobile

We have just returned from a lovely anniversary weekend staying at the riad kniza. The staff could not have been more helpful or lovely ensuring that we had a special weekend. We arranged some excursions and a cooking lesson with The raid before we arrived and everything was organised to perfection. The cooking lesson was fantastic and all the food we had during our stay was AMAZING!!! The riad itself is beautiful, we stayed in the qamar suite which was lovely. We would not hesitate to recommend this riad, u will not be disappointed!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

This is a special find in Marrakech. We stayed here based on the excellent Trip Advisor reviews of other guests and were not disappointed. It is a beautiful, peaceful and tasteful Riad within the Medina. We would come back in a heart beat if we were to return to Marrakech. If you are interested in being in the thick of Marrakech life yet seek a refuge to go home to in the evenings, Riad Kniza is the ticket for you. The staff is friendly and the owner is hands on watching over the services provided to the guests. There were no surprises. We are pleased that others took the time to share the comments that we now share with you. Thanks, Riad Kniza, for a memorable trip.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theale, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

We chose this beautiful Riad for our 18th Wedding Anniversary and we could not have chosen anywhere in the world better than this. The staff are the most kindest, likeable, honest and genuine people we have ever met...every single one of them could not do enough. I re-read some of the reviews today after getting back from our trip away last night and cannot believe how anyone found it justified to give anything less than 4 stars, I am forced to seriously question any bad review regarding this Riad and its staff. Morocco is what it is and Riad Kniza is a true shining jewel and the highest credit to the culture of Marrakech. The tours and guide people we left Kamal to choose for us were all brilliant. We have stayed in many places around the world and dread the idea of a commercial hotel ever again regardless of its star rating. The only thing I wish is that Trip Advisor offered 6 star rating to very special places like Riad Kniza.

Room Tip: We booked our room based on the website photos but every room in reality looked like a small palace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#8 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.