We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't change a thing about Riad Farnatchi.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Farnatchi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Farnatchi to your Saves list
Riad Farnatchi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Derb el Farnatchi, Rue Souk el Fassis | Qua'at Ben Ahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
NYC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wouldn't change a thing about Riad Farnatchi.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

My partner and I are fairly well travelled and we're both picky to say the least when it comes to hotels. Riad Farnatchi and it's staff all far exceeded our high expectations. We stayed in room 5 and it was so comfortable and gorgeous we had a hard time pulling ourselves away to explore the city. After frenetic days exploring the Medina and haggling with the local merchants, Farnatchi was the perfect escape. The entire staff, without exception, took very good care of us and did everything to make us feel welcomed. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    15
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
36
150
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

My experience of the Farnatchi from the moment I sent an email to enquire about availability was, by far, the best hotel experience of my life. We had initially booked to stay at a hotel a considerable distance from the centre and, on reflection, decided that we really should stay in the central part of Marrakech to get the full experience. Given that we were going to be splitting our fairly short stay over two accommodations, it was essential that the transfer between accommodations was as smooth as possible. Added to this, I had already booked us in to the Bains de Marrackech (which was excellent) on this day, so this made things more complicated. Anyway, no sooner had I mentioned this by email to the Farnatchi I received a quick response advising me that they had spoken to the Bains de Marrakech and arranged for us to leave all our luggage there whilst we have our treatments and that they would then collect us at 2.30 that day to take us to the Farnatchi. This may all sound quite simple for them to arrange but it was the assurance with which they did it, especailly as we had never been to Marrakech before. I then received an email from the Bains de Marrakech who also confirmed that the Farnatchi had spoken to them and that we can leave our luggage wtih them...all very reassuring and it is the small things like this that separate excellent service from good service.

The walk from the transfer car to the Riad is a real experience especially as, up until that point, we had spent most of our time in the mountains rather than the city. A young man carted our bags to the Riad whilst we were escorted by the security guard from the Riad. Needless to say that, with the security guard, we received no hassle from anyone in the street and our luggage was completely safe.

On arrival at the Riad (which, like all Riads, is a very unassuming door on a very unassuming street), we were greeted by the manager and the owner's son and were made to feel very welcome. We were given a tour and were then asked if we wanted a drink and, if so, where we wanted it (there are a serious number of very stylish nooks and crannies in which you can quietely imbibe plus there is the roof terrace). We decided to go straight to our suite and we were asked if we had preferred a certain suite when viewing the property on the internet. He suggested that we stay in suite 5 but that we could make up our mind once we had seen it. We were taken to our suite with large entrance terrace which, quite frankly, was stunning and comprised of three elevations looking into one of the courtyards. The suite was very large and extremely tasteful in a Morrocan meets Classic British style. The bathroom was equally beautiful with large bath and two basins. With our luggage ready and waiting we had everything we needed to unwind immediately,

From there onwards it was a stay where nothing was too much trouble. Clothes were ironed (FOC) for dinner. Drinks were brought up swiftly whenever requested. The room was always stocked with fruit and pastries. Wine always arrived with a mountain of nuts. Restaurants were booked on request, advice was provided whenever required but we were always listened to rather than told what to do. If we wanted a taxi, the security guard would take us to the taxi and would ensure that the taxi used the meter (i initially thought this was overkill as we were happy to wander around souks etc without a guide however it transpired that this was a particularly good service for westerners as 'petit taxis' on the street would often try to charge us up to 15x the correct fare and would refuse to use meters - whilst it's expected that you haggle in Marrakech the small taxis were rarely willing to allow you to pay anything close to the offical fare unless you had a local with you).

On the day of departure our flight wasn't until 5.15. I spoke to Saiida to ask her what time we needed to check out. Unfortunately someone had booked our suite that day, however she politely informed us that we could have full use of another suite until we were collected for our journey to the airport. The full service continued with drinks on the roof terrace etc until it was time to leave. Obviously this was only possible because a room was vacant at that particular time but this sort of service means that this unforgettable holiday experience continued right up until the last possible moment.

When it came to leave, we received our bill for the wine we had drunk and the meal we had taken in the hotel (nothing else was charged to us and we had already paid the room rate) and I have to say that given the quailty of the food we had eaten we were pleasantly surprised at the bill.

Finally, please note that this review has taken into account the views of my partner who travelled internationally for a living for 12 years of her life.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, UK
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

We have just returned from another fabulous stay at Riad Farnatchi. For the past five years, we have stayed at this riad once or twice a year and we keep going back because of the riad, its location, the ethos and most of all the wonderful staff. The standard of service is as good now, if not better than on our first visit. Much of this is down to the quality of the staff, who can never do enough for us, but always in a discrete way. From the pick up at the airport to the suite we specifically requested, the restaurant bookings we asked for, the taxis ordered, everything was spot on. We feel very at home there. We ate in the riad on our first night and the food was excellent and as good, if not better than any of the restaurants in Marrakech. We travel a lot to different countries and have stayed in many hotels. Riad Farnatchi still beats them all hands down. As soon as Ryanair post their flights we will be confirming our next visit at Riad Farnatchi.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

Although visiting Marrakech on business , this was my first stay at the Riad Farntchi and it proved to be a haven of tranquility in the amazing hustle and bustle of the Medina.
Walk through the front doors to leave all the noise behind and experience first class service and care. Nothing was too much for the staff.
This is a place i must visit again , but not on my,own, a special place that should be shared.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

Farnatchi is very beautiful and great location. Almost next door to Fondouk restaurant is highly recommended. It is very expensive and extras such as massage are top dollar. Biggest issue we had was the change in key management. We were in touch with Lynn the manager before our trip organising activities, asking questions and then all went quiet for two weeks.....though emails were going to the main email address no one bothered to answer - when we got there we fould Lynn had left....
I think the lack of replies could have been inefficiency or very possibly not wanting to answer questions such as finding that they were running a promotion on their website (10% discount) for a period starting from when we were staying and asking to ensure we received the discount.......they did not honour the price and to be honest that left a bad taste .......many reviews I have read say how great Lynn is at running the Riad, now she has gone it may well not be quite the same....

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

If you go to Marrakech - stay here, it really cannot be faulted. The Riad is simply beautiful, the rooms stunning and the location great. If only we could have stayed longer..... A special thanks to the wonderful Khalil - we have yet to meet a more charming, welcoming and helpful manager. All the staff were so nice and made our stay extra special. Will certainly recommend this hotel to our friends and hope to return.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

I've never been in Marrakech but that will soon change.
Because I really felt in love. What a city and what a culture. It's a very busy city but also fun. I never thought that my country could grow so fast and cities could be so beautiful.
Even the hotels are a luxury. I will definitely go back again.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Farnatchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Farnatchi

Address: 2 Derb el Farnatchi, Rue Souk el Fassis | Qua'at Ben Ahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#48 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#51 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Farnatchi 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Farnatchi has been written up as "The City's Most Luxurious Riad" - Food and Travel Magazine 2013, "The Ultimate Hideaway" - Harpers Bazaar January 2012 and "Best Luxury Riad" - Conde Nast Traveller 2011. Riad Farnatchi been created out of five small Riads in the heart of the oldest part of Marrakech, some of our walls go back over 400 years. Riad Farnatchi with just nine suites has the feel of a beautiful, highly individual, private house, but the facilities and service of a world class 5 star "boutique" hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Riad Farnatchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Farnatchi Marrakech
Riad Farnatchi Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Farnatchi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.