We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Treatment in a Royal Setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Farnatchi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Farnatchi to your Saves list
Riad Farnatchi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Derb el Farnatchi, Rue Souk el Fassis | Qua'at Ben Ahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
philadelphia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Royal Treatment in a Royal Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

I stayed at Riad Farnatchi with my adult daughter for five nights in early December and I must say that this is as close to perfection as a hotel can get. From the moment you arrive until you regretfully bid farewell, this Riad delivers in every way. We arrived in the late evening by train from Fez. We were picked by a driver arranged for us and arrived at the hotel to find a warm welcome and a lovely light dinner waiting for us. The Riad is as beautiful as all the descriptions and more. Our room (#7) had a lovely seating area and fireplace, a large private terrace with table and loungers, and all the modern conveniences (two flat screen TVs) as well. We had a chance to peek at many of the other rooms during our stay and every one was different but all equally lovely. Every detail is thought out in advance to make your stay perfect. For instance, they realized after the first night that we liked to have a fire after returning from dinner. Every night after that, there was a fire burning in our fireplace when we returned at the end of the evening. ( If you want to go out of the medina at night, ask them to get the taxi driver Samir to take you)The owner of the hotel has left a useful guide to local restaurants giving his honest and helpful opinions. The breakfasts are fabulous and can be delivered to your room or eaten on your terrace.

The Riad is very well located within the medina in convenient walking distance to museums, shopping and the square. Lynn Perez, the incredible manager of this wonderful oasis, will be glad to get you a guide (the price was very moderate, around $50) for a full day walking tour. I highly recommend this if you have not been to Marrakech before. She also arranged a terrific guide to take us into the mountains for an off road adventure which included visits to a number of tiny Berber villages. This was a magical day.

As wonderful as the Riad is, it is the staff who really make the difference and who distinguish this Riad from many other high end hotels. The manager, Lynn Perez, an energetic Canadian who has lived in Marrakech for 10 years, has one goal and that is to do everything is her power to make your stay perfect and her staff follows her lead down to the the very last person. What was really lovely is that they were always available but never overbearing and their was a real sincerity in their desire to make sure you had whatever you wanted or needed but they never pushed you in any way. I called Lynn before going to Marrakech to discuss some of what we were looking for in the trip and to get her advice. This is well worth it. She had great suggestions and also helped us plan had to make the best use of our time based on what we like to do. This is one fun lady who really loves her job and it shows. On our last night in Marrakech, my daughter got very ill at 4 in the morning (don't eat the snails from the street stands). The staff Called Lynn at home and she immediately swung into action. Within the hour, we had medication, hot tea, and she was already on the phone working to rearrange our travel home.

Restaurants we especially liked included Al Fassia (order the antipasto type appetizer and the chicken tangine with carmelized pumpkin and Kozybar (sushi and seafood). Go the the Hotel Maloumia for a drink (prepare for sticker shock) just to see the place. Take a walk in the beautiful garden.

Marrakech is an exciting vibrant place with something for everyone. Staying at Riad Farnatchi will take your trip to a different level. It's a slice of paradise.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    15
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
37
154
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

Riad Farnatchi indulges at every turn. From the delicious breakfast of traditional Moroccan breads , pancakes ,pastries and fresh eggs, to the luxurious linens in the perfectly appointed rooms and suites, this oasis from the frenetic bustle of the Medina is such a feast for the senses. Beautifully run by it's GM, Lynn Perez, who is the most solicitous host, without being overbearing, she just seems to anticipate every guests neeeds. Seeing her in action is quite impressive.
We were four woman on vacation for our birthdays, and we just coulnt have chosen a more perfect place to just chill.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

Riad Farnatchi is an absolute hidden gem situated in the heart of the bustling & very busy Medina of Marrakesh.

From the moment you step through the heavy, beautifully carved wooden door, you leave all traces of reality behind and lose yourself in a fantasy world where only absolute calm, quietness & tranquility exist.

The courtyards, where the trickle of water fountains are ever present, are in a word: breathtaking! By trapping the cooler air inside, these courtyards create a welcoming, cool oasis in a world where almost unbearable heat seems to be the norm.

The rooms are very well appointed & spacious with lots of modern amenities. It even come complete with an iPod dock! Although each one is individually decorated, they have managed to weave the Moroccan theme very cleverly throughout. I just absolutely loved the pair of soft cream Babouche slippers & Djelaba gown I got to take home as souvinirs!

Then there is your very own private rooftop terrace, complete with rose bushes, palm & olive trees, where you can sunbath, enjoy meals or just take in the views of Marrakesh.

We enjoyed most meals at the Riad & the food was fabulous while the staff were very attentive, yet discreet. The firm hand of ever present & very experienced and capable management can be seen throughout the Riad.

In a nutshell, our stay was awesome & an experience well worth returning to...

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

I really don't know where to begin. My experience was so wonderful at Riad Farnatchi that I dream of returning. I had a chance to see all of the nine rooms, one lovelier than the next. A few days at Farnatchi is a true escape to another time and place. The staff is low key ,ever attentive and constantly at your beck and call. Lynn Perez,eRiad manager, is probably the most helpful person I have encountered in all of my many years of traveling. There is no problem that Ms. Perez can't solve. She is easy available for suggestions and solutions. She will make things happen for you. Riad Farnatchi is a place that I look forward to returning to very soon.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2009

Not only was it my first trip to Marrakech, but my first time travelling alone. A friend had recommended Fernatchi to me as a great place to unwind and be gently introduced to the sights and sounds of the medina. As soon as I set foot in the door any anxieties that I had melted away and with expert guidance from Lynn Perez, who posesses an encyclopedic knowlege of all things Marrakech, I knew I could not fail to have a good time. Coming back at the end of the day to the riad's luxurious and peaceful facilites, where service is highly professional and pre-emptive and the rooms so beautifully decorated and comforting, I really wouldn't want to have stayed anywhere else. One tiny detail that I love is the locally made Verbena soap. A joy to the senses!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

I have been to Marrakech many, many times. There are so many riads that photograph beautifully. Yet, they disappoint in reality.

Among the handful of truly stellar places in Marrakech is Riad Farnatchi, and over the years it has become among my favorite places to stay.

First of all, it is incredibly beautiful. You are in the heart of the medina, you feel the breath of Morocco and you get a feeling unlike anywhere else. That is something of which I never tire.

Second of all, its level of service is among the highest in Morocco. Its staff is well trained and delivers exceedingly well to a discerning clientele – and always with a smile and a “no problem” attitude. I have seen them handle all sorts of clients from all over the world – some easy, some not-so-easy – always with grace and efficiency.

Third of all, its manager (a Canadian who has lived in Morocco nearly 10 years) is one of the most authoritative individuals on Marrakech. In Morocco, management is everything and it is rare to see a place that truly functions well.

Most importantly, perhaps, it has a certain energy, a certain vibe. It is a heartfelt hospitality. A sense of being in your own home. A place of great beauty and serenity, yet a place where you can feel 100% comfortable to relax and be yourself and curl up on the patio with a good book and some iced mint tea.

As someone who knows Morocco better than most, I think Riad Farnatchi embodies the very best of Morocco.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2009

Riad Farnatchi is probably the best run Riad in Marrakech. We've stayed there numerous times and have been amazed each time by the level of service and attention to detail. Lynn Perez is a great host who will go to great lengths to fullfill any requests (as long as they are decent of course). It's a hidden gem in the Medina and those who are lucky enough to book a room will enjoy a great stay. The rooms are superstylish and have that lovely smell one can only find in Marrakech. It makes us want to go back each year.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Farnatchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Farnatchi

Address: 2 Derb el Farnatchi, Rue Souk el Fassis | Qua'at Ben Ahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#43 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#50 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Farnatchi 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Farnatchi has been written up as "The City's Most Luxurious Riad" - Food and Travel Magazine 2013, "The Ultimate Hideaway" - Harpers Bazaar January 2012 and "Best Luxury Riad" - Conde Nast Traveller 2011. Riad Farnatchi been created out of five small Riads in the heart of the oldest part of Marrakech, some of our walls go back over 400 years. Riad Farnatchi with just nine suites has the feel of a beautiful, highly individual, private house, but the facilities and service of a world class 5 star "boutique" hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Riad Farnatchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Farnatchi Marrakech
Riad Farnatchi Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Farnatchi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.