We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous riad, perfect location, amazing staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Farnatchi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Farnatchi to your Saves list
Riad Farnatchi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Derb el Farnatchi, Rue Souk el Fassis | Qua'at Ben Ahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Gorgeous riad, perfect location, amazing staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

If you are looking for a riad, look no further- this one is perfect.

The location is ideal: tucked down a quiet little street a few steps from Ben Yousef Madrasa and the souks.

The bustle of Marrakech dropped away the instant we stepped into this gorgeous riad. Tranquil, cool courtyards with the burble of water (including a very inviting pool) have lots of secluded spots in the shade; those looking for sun can take one of the sun loungers on the roof.

Our suite was spacious and tastefully decorated, with a large sitting room (wood fireplace- cosy on cool winter evenings), separate bedroom, enormous bath and a private roof terrace. The bed was extremely comfortable, and the hot water bottles we discovered after the turndown service were a welcome touch.

There is a restaurant in the riad, with good food served in the intimate dining-room, the suites, rooftop, or presumably where you like. Breakfast was excellent.

The hammam was a fantastic experience, and the massage in the dedicated massage room was very good.

But the really great thing about this riad is the staff. Friendly, engaging, interested - it was clear they genuinely want guests to have the best possible experience in Marrakech. The result is better than any 5-star hotel: personal, flawless and charming. From the gate guard walking us to the waiting taxi, to the fact that everyone knew our name, to the manager tracking down some essential items after hours, it was a great pleasure to stay here.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    15
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
37
155
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, Île-de-France, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

You can rent this entire Riad for you and your friends and let the fabulous staff take care of every little detail for your special occasion. From the catering to the theme to be for the event, whatever you wish. Just picture this, each room themed to what ever you fancy and the DJ spinning your choice of music poolside.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Outstanding.

We have travelled widely, and this was right up there with best places we have stayed. We spent 3 nights in suite 9, and then a final night in suite 3 (after a desert trip). Both suites were gorgeous and well equipped. Amazing deep bath tubs!
Welcomed with mint tea (even when late back), fantastic hammam and gommage and my wife had relaxing massage too.
Food was as good as we had in Marrakech (and we ate at gastro MK amongst others).
Service impeccable - even provisionally booked us a table at le Foundouk when we were late back, which is above and beyond.

Very highly recommended indeed.

Room Tip: All are lovely. We preferred suite 9 too suite 3 (even though latter is bigger).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brentwood
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was recommended this place by a friend.
He did not let me down.
It's pretty much faultless
The whole set up oozes class
I've stayed in some of the top hotels and for such a small place this is up there, for service (the staff were very attentive without being overbearing), quality of rooms, the decor and location. I could not find anything wrong.
If your thinking Riad, Marrakech, Medina then you have to stay here!!!

Stayed November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What an amazing place - we started our honeymoon at the Riad with the intention of moving on to Essaouira. After one night at the coast we organised to come back to the Riad!! The staff were incredibly attentive and simply said "welcome home" when we came back unexpected!

Its location is simply amazing at the north end of the souks and you would not expect such a tranquil Riad to be where it is.

The whole experience made our honeymoon - from the canapés each night to the frozen yoghurt and mint brought to us unexpectedly when we spent some hours in the sun on the roof terrace. The staff were always there however always in the background and arrived whenever you needed anything - a real talent!

We had dinner at the Riad on the first night and it did not disappoint - one of the best meals we had along with Fondouk just around the corner which we would also highly recommend!

Simply can not say enough about the Riad - except we are planning our return trip "home" to suite 8!

Room Tip: Simply any!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

Wow, what an experience it was to stay here. Truely an oasis of calm after the madness of the streets outside. It didn't disappoint. The staff were incredibly attentive, appeared from nowhere whenever you needed them, friendly, happy to organise taxis, book dinners, offer advice on carpet buying in the souk, even which street stall was the best to eat at in the square.The rooms were lovely, spacious with glorious rain showers, molton brown toiletries, comfortable beds & private courtyards. Our children had their own sun terrace too. We ate at the riad twice which was delicious & enjoyed the canapés every evening. All in all a perfect place to stay in Marrakech, good location too. We'll be back very soon & intend to stay in room 9. Thank you to all who made our stay so memorable.

Room Tip: Room 9 is incredibly stunning but all are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

A fantastic hotel - you wouldn't have a clue what's behind the walls of all this one from the street - true luxury! We were in suite 4 which was lovely - a fire place, an enormous bath and our own private roof terrace. Beautifully designed. Yummy breakfast on the terrace and canapes in the room each evening. We also did a hammam here and a massage - both of which were excellent. The staff were lovely - the service they gave us was discreet but spot on and so helpful.
The location is fantastic - just a couple of minutes walk from the end of the souk and just round the corner from a great rooftop restaurant - Le Fondouk.
Would definitely recommend this and will stay there again if we ever go back to Marrakech.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Farnatchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Farnatchi

Address: 2 Derb el Farnatchi, Rue Souk el Fassis | Qua'at Ben Ahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#50 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Farnatchi 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Farnatchi has been written up as "The City's Most Luxurious Riad" - Food and Travel Magazine 2013, "The Ultimate Hideaway" - Harpers Bazaar January 2012 and "Best Luxury Riad" - Conde Nast Traveller 2011. Riad Farnatchi been created out of five small Riads in the heart of the oldest part of Marrakech, some of our walls go back over 400 years. Riad Farnatchi with just nine suites has the feel of a beautiful, highly individual, private house, but the facilities and service of a world class 5 star "boutique" hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Riad Farnatchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Farnatchi Marrakech
Riad Farnatchi Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Farnatchi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.